$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PCAM
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 13, 2010

Nice Resort for the price

We use this trip to rest and enjoy next to the pool and the beach... we enjoy the bar and snacks next to the pool. The hotel is close to the Malecon where our favortie restaurants and bars are located. We reserve a Superior-Ocen View room and we barely can see the ocean from our room.. they offer this upgrade and it is not available. We enjoy the activities at the pool as waterpolo and volleyball

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

La bodeguita del medio... the best latin place ever.....Nice mojitos, salsa music and cuban food

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bernando
Business
U of Idaho
Mar 23, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Vacation

I was on spring break with a group of 12 friends (guys and girls). I have been to Mexico for the last four years in a group for spring break and Canto Del Sol really does a great job of maintaining a family atmosphere while applealing to all age groups. The nightly entertainment, both at the hotel and on the town, were well organized and a lot of fun. Food was good, I've had better and I've had worse, but I definitely had no complaints with any of the restaurants or buffets. Drinks were constantly flowing and the bar staff is really friendly and hostpitable. Favorite drinks of the week were the Bahama Mamas and a chocolate mint drink (cant remember the name though) and the cervesa is cold. I would definitly stay at Canto del Sol again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel had awesome activities each day either on the beach or in the pool. We took advantage of these each day and it was a blast. All of the staff is great and they put on a good time for all ages.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2009

Great all inclusive

This is our 2nd time in the last 2 years here. The Mexican food and drinks are very good. The only down side is you have to eat at the reservation-only Mexican restaurant to get guacamole with your meal. They were a little heavy with trying to get us to do a Time Share presentation, even though we were a fully paid hotel guest. Great beach access. Close to downtown (50 pesos for a cab ride). The bellmen were fantastic. The rooms were clean. Hard to get a pool lounge chair if you wait past 11 am to get there. Did not get harassed at the beach by vendors, but they still were there selling various trinkets and things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Negotiate your cab fare up front. It should only be 50 pesos from Canto del Sol to downtown, but the cabbies will charge 70 or 80 pesos if you don't establish it before you leave the hotel.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgeland, Wisconsin
Mar 5, 2010

Great location

Enjoyed the mix of people at the hotel; very friendly staff; nice beach; beautiful weather; easy walking distance to area attractions; good drinks; food was decent; fun entertainment at the hotel; it's not a place if you want a quiet vacation; for us, my partner and I, we really enjoyed everything; met some really nice people there; we will go back but maybe not do the all inclusive because the food out in the town was better. I have one tip and that is to not eat the steak at the hotel because it was the tuffest steak I had ever tried to eat, so, I didn't eat it but Mexico is not known for it's steaks so I should have known better. All in all we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go parasailing - awesome. Also, rhythms of the night was fun.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, Tx
Nov 30, 2010

Home again

The hotel was great I was able to enjoy several of the amenities offered. The catamaran ride was great since I went by myself the guy that took the boat out went and found some others to go which made it more comfortable for me. Being on the beach side you have great sunsets and are able to view them without getting in the sand if you choose. The air worked and the staff seemed to really pay attention to detail. Hot food was hot and we did not fear eating here. All the equipment worked and the seemed to go out of the way to please us. I suggest that they have options available for those that want internet if the network is done such as the regular connections if the wifi is down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

At check in the will try to guide you to the timeshare personnel if you do not want to do it. Tell them straight out you are on vacation and do not want to waist your time or thiers since you are not going to buy. They tried several times to talk us into a presentation, but eventually got the message and left us alone.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff and Bride
Business
Bloomfield Hills, Mi
Dec 19, 2010

Great place to slow down

This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and Canto Del Sol. The atmosphere is very relaxing and comfortable. Food and drinks were very good. Location to town was within a short safe walk. We didn't do anything more than that. I wish somebody would have told us about the high pressure to purchase a time share. It was annoying, especially coming out of the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not be afraid to say NO to the time share people. We went on vacation to take a break not get pressured to go to a "90 minute" presentation.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
May 3, 2010

Not too shabby

Overall, the service was good, particularly the bar and restaurant staff that worked pretty hard to keep you happy. The only fairly negative experience was the guest services staff that are involved in the timeshare process and the variety of food was fairly minimal and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The nightclubs on the Malecon were trendy, packed and fun.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita
Jul 8, 2008

Good Experience

This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta. We were vacationing on a budget, so we weren't quite sure what to expect. Overall, the few days we were there were good. The accommodations were comfortable, clean and quite adequate. Although we enjoyed the food that we did eat at the hotel, we didn't feel that there were enough options available for an all-inclusive. My husband and I neither one are picky eaters. If you are planning on staying here with someone who IS, plan on spending your souvenir money on eating out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a nice little shopping area right across the street from the hotel. The prices were every bit as good as we found in the neighboring flea markets, boardwalk area, and marina shopping areas. We were pleased with having that available so close!

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leon
Sep 16, 2008

Bad food in the hotel

I wouldn't recommend the hotel, the food is not good, I would rather stay the next time in a more expensive hotel with better food, the room was ok, swimming pool also ok, the drinks at the bar are fine but is so unpleasant about the food...I qould give this hotel a 6 out of 10, no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to eat to la Marina several times, the food there is good and is only 5 mins. by taxi, the taxi will charge you only $5 dollars.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel the traveller
Business
Austin TX
Dec 28, 2009

Very pleased once they changed the room

At first we received a room by the pool and stairs and it was very noisy, the next day they gave us a room accross the hall and it was quiet and comfortable...as an added bonus, the room came with a kitchenett that of course we didnt use but it was still very nice...dont be shy to ask for a different room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the public transportation system..its only 6 pesos 50 cents and it will take you to the boardwalk and shopping center (malecon and centro). The taxi was 60 pesos which is 5 dlls.

Back to menu Return to top