$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita kansas
Jan 1, 2011

not great but good enough

hotel was average. close walking distance or cheap bus fare to malecon which was nice. food and drink was plentiful. not the most delicious, but edible. no hottub which was a bummer and the timeshare hounds were thick. beach at the hotel was ok, but the hotel was next to some closed down hotels/hotels under constructuion -- so the the surrounding beaches were filthy and full of vagabonds. service was good and everything that we needed, we had. overall, good place for the money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emil T.
Business
LYNNWOOD
Dec 23, 2014

Good trip

It was a good stay but we have had better. The balcony was tiny. The room had no soaking tub. The restaurants were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tgator
Business
IN
Feb 16, 2010

Everything is for sale

If you buy a trip beware of what you are buying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phx, AZ
Nov 14, 2010

Okay hotel

Nice people, very friendly and helpful.. only thing i didnt like was when I got the tickets no where did it say they only had one resturant that is included in all inclusive. if u stay longer than 4 days there than they give u 1 coupon to eat free at the other resturants.. so if u like more choices than you should go to a biger hotel not a small one like this one.. next I will go to bigger place to get more options on resturants and beach had rocks and sand was hard... in new puerto vallarta has no rocks .. sand is nice and soft

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

walk downtown

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spanish Professor
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jan 17, 2014

Resort comes thru after sales pitch misunderstanding

CANTO DEL SOL CAME THRU AFTER A SALES PITCH MISUNDERSTANDING After a misunderstanding last month in December during a week’s stay at Canto del Sol at a sales presentation dealing with a new vacation weeks membership for use all over the world that I ended up purchasing, I returned to the United States wondering whether we had been taken. The program that I had purchased had a lot of what the salesman had said but did not have the specific pricing that I was told it had, and now I was far away and out of sight. One of the items I had initialed at the end of the sales presentation when I had decided to purchase stated that I acknowledged having received a program membership booklet. When I read over the documents later that evening in our hotel room, I noticed that I had not received it. The next day I requested to borrow one of their few copies that they said they had of the booklet so that I could look it over. I did read it and found a few discrepancies from what I had understood in the sales presentation. Before the end of our one-week vacation at Canto del Sol, on the day before our departure, I was provided my own copy by the salesman. From what it stated in the membership booklet I determined—even though the program had its advantages, including several choices of very low cost cruises—that the program was not something that my family and I could make good use of. It did not provide the specific advantages that the salesman had stated and that had convinced me to buy. Soon afterwards, I contacted the Canto del Sol sales department and its management team, explained the situation, and asked for help. Something that I was not expecting after reading of so many negative experiences online that dealt with this type of situation, was to be able to resolve much of anything. I had put down a down payment and now it was not really a case of buyer´s remorse, but a case where I felt that I had been misled by the salesman. When I contacted the sales manager from Canto del Sol and his staff and explained my situation, I was surprised, but skeptical, about the concern and empathy they expressed. They responded to my one phone call and all of my emails. I was told that they would make every effort to resolve the issues to my satisfaction. Still, my skepticism continued. However, within a short period of time, we came to a mutual agreement satisfactory to both Canto del Sol and my family. To me this was pretty impressive being that they are in Mexico and I am here in the United States and we had discussed almost everything via email. My commitment/membership was cancelled and the down payment on my credit card is being offset by a week´s stay at the resort. It seems that more often than not, that with these type of dealings, the buyer is stung or angry because the reluctance on the part of those in charge to do anything to right the situation. I think from my experience here that the management´s approach prioritizes wanting guests to return and have positive experiences and to tell others about them. Because of this, and actually doing something about it, they appear to be a step ahead with their willingness to work with their customers to try to make them happy by resolving problems head on. We will be returning to the Canto del Sol resort with no hard feelings about what transpired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The cost to the hotel from the airport is at least twice as much than the return trip. At the airport, the last windows to the right before you leave the terminal is the location to purchase the taxi vouchers. Ask the hotel personnel at the end of your trip what you should be paying for the cab going to the airport.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laysy
Business
SF Bay Area
Jan 24, 2014

Great value. Nothing fancy.

Shower water ran hot and cold. Mentioned it to staff, but nothing was done. Tub and sink were old and repainted. Food was excellent. Good variety and quality. Drinks seemed watered down. No ice cream. Lots of repeat customers. Mostly older crowd. Need to reserve lounge chairs early. Staff very courteous and helpful. Would come back in Jan. as there were few children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Probably cheaper to book outside entertainment across the street from hotel.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie the traveler
Business
illinois
Feb 16, 2014

Awesome Puerto Vallarta

We went there for a week. From the beginning we were treated very well. People working there are very friendly, polite and helpfull. Starting with Carlos who hook us up with beautiful room, Vero who help us reserve tables for dinner, entertainment people and Lucas of course. Food was very good and always fresh. Rooms clean with fresh towels. They all work very, very hard so tip them good!!!!!! Thank you Canto Del Sol for an awesome vacation. We will see you next year! P.s and if you want to book any trip go on the beach and look for Moises he gave us good deal and discount. We went to Caletas which was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olita
Business
CO
Feb 24, 2014

great anytime

Staff is friendly and personable. The location is a comfortable 30 stroll to old town and the malecon. Good value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cokedale Clan
Business
Montana
Mar 2, 2014

Pretty darn good!

For the price, Canto del Sol can't be beat. The staff is incredibly helpful and very friendly (especially if you throw a small tip their way now and then). The pool is great (always a nice temperature, large, and with a swim-up bar) and the beach area is nice (plenty of activities like sailing, kayaking, parasailing, jet skiing, and if you just want to enjoy the ocean view, you can sit in the back row and ignore the vendors). The service from the drink staff is pretty good so there's no need to get up unless you want to. The food at the resort is just okay, though they do have four dinner options in addition to the standard buffet, and the Italian one is particularly good. Our room was upgraded for free, which we thought was especially nice considering the low price we'd paid for the flight and resort, but being over the tennis courts did not seem like such an upgrade in the end. It was loud from early in the morning until late at night. One of the things we enjoyed the most about Canto del Sol, aside from the wonderful staff, was the massage parlors right across the street. They offered fantastic massages for only $20 per 60 minutes. We had one every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy your excursions at the hotel. Buy them from the hole in the wall shops with all of the posters. You'll save a lot of money.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pedro 1944
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 9, 2014

Pedro from Wisconsin

Fantastic Staff! Food is better than it used to be. Too many children. Management needs improvement! Staff is the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi or bus to the Malecon for some good shopping and dining.

Back to menu Return to top