$248 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
93 reviews
Enjoyable trip

Was concerned with disability room in that it had no bars near the banos. and they were very low.... See full review

  • mamafran
  • Nov 23, 2014
5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and... See full review

  • Elle Michele
  • Mar 29, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vacationer family
Business
Wyoming
Jan 18, 2012

Staff will push timeshare - hard

The hotel was clean and has a lot of activities. Staff was pushy about not leaving the hotel and participating in the timeshare presentation. Front desk staff was difficult to deal with at check in. Had to go back to the front deak 4 times and wait in line each time just to be told they were not ready for us yet. All ther staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cantonosol
Business
east coast USA
Mar 1, 2012

Feb. 2012

I have stayed at the Canto 8 times and loved it. My most recent stay was in Feb. 2012. The last 7 times I had a large comfortable sunny room looking over the tennis courts. This time I was given a room that had a bedroom window looking directly onto the hallway and everyone walking by could look right in. For this reason, I had to keep the curtins closed the entire week and the bedroom was extremely dark to say the least plus it had few lights. There was a balcony facing the street but it was in an area of no sun and offered no privacy. There was no WIFI at all the entire week and the old TV (no flat screen as advertised in their ads) barely got 3 channels clearly. The bath tub was cracked and worn and the entire room has not been updated in years. I give the cleaning staff excellent rating for their cleaning but the place is just dated, worn and needs updating badly. When I brought all of my concerns to the front desk (Marlon) and was given the run around and told to check back. I did this 4 days in a row and finally brought him up to the room. He said it was dark and would check on changing it. He then said that there were no other room options available and I would have to stay in that room. This is the first time in more than thirty years of traveling and staying all over the world that the service desk refused my request and ignored doing anything to make the situation better. I love the location and the cleaning staff. They are extremely caring and dedicated. One other thing to note is that most chairs around the pool, are always taken and the ones that are open are usually next to smokers so be prepared to smell smoke constantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marand777
Business
Wasington state
Dec 27, 2012

Family Trip

very nice and we had a fun. i think i will go next time same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muy Bien
Business
Cranbrook, BC
Jan 24, 2014

Would go back

We stayed for 10 days. Good location and the staff were superb! The beds are very hard and the buffet gets boring. There is not much of a beach. There is pool side service which made us feel very spoiled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STARVING GIRL!
Business
CHICAGO IL
Aug 23, 2010

WEIGHTLOSS!!!

THE HOTEL WAS IN A GREAT LOCATION NOT TOO FAR FROM THE MALECON. THE PEOPLE WERE VERY NICE. THE SERVICE TOOK FOREVER BUT IT MIGHT OF BEEN THEY WERE SHORT STAFFED. THE FOOD WAS HORRIBLE WITH NO TASTE. THE MENU DID NOT CHANGE IF IT DID IT MIGHT OF BEEN ONE THING ONLY. THE ROOMS WERE GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

THE BUS IS ONLY 65 CENTS (6.50 PESOS)..TAXI IS 5 DOLLARS (50 PESOS)...ITS REALLY SHORT TO ALL THE ACTION ABOUT 10 MINS AWAY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adrian "oc" and arika "cbad"
Business
carlsbad, ca
Mar 7, 2011

best bang for your buck

You definitely pay for what you get. The buffet is good, had no complaints. I do recommend the steak dinner (prime rib) and YOU MUST order the spanish coffee. Only down fall is food and bar close at midnight. So if your a younger crowed this would be a downfall. The room was very nice and clean. My favorite part of the room, was the rose petals and towel bird sculpture on the bed. Another plus was getting champagne and fruit platter delivered to our room. No mini bar, no hot tub and poolside bar was closed most of the time. AVOID TIMESHARE PEOPLE. Overall great trip and great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to downtown or short bus ride. I do recommend the atv jungle tour. Look for Kukulcan off road adventures. Owner name [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hopkins, MN
Feb 21, 2010

Clean, close to town, friendly staff

We stayed for 13 nights at Canto del Sol and it was a typical Mexican all inclusive resort, not the best, but certainly not the worst. The pool was nice, but very warm and crowded. All the guests from Villa Vallarta, their time share across the street, were using the pool too, so it was really over crowded. The food was fine, nothing special. The staff was very friendly and wonderful. The room was very clean and we had a nice ocean view from our third floor room. The location was good too, close to the Malecon, shopping, etc. I would recommend this hotel for families, not so much for couples who are just going to relax and enjoy. Way too many kids for our liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Illinois
Nov 3, 2010

Couple getaway

The hotel was packed with locals because we were on the off season. A ton of kids and families which was not our kind of atmosphere. We didn't use the pool because it was so packed. Timing was bad for this time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab downtown and there is a very busy nightlife with bars/live music and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iteachcooking[@]
Business
Corte Madera, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Spring Break

Canto Del Sol is a beautiful resort. The food/drinks is typical for all inclusives that we have experienced. The nightly show was also pretty typical. The resorts location is a definate plus as were the staff. The beach wasn't much to speak about, but we found that to be true for many of the beaches we saw there. The biggest down side to Canto Del Sol is the constant noise from the pool activities. Also, the nightly staff didn't do a very good job of monitoring guests around the pool late into the night. Four of the nights there we didn't get much sleep because of people partying until 3:00am. The last night there I complained and they allowed us a late check out time. The resort?room was always clean and everyone at the resort was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus wherever you need to go. It's cheap and like a ride at Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita kansas
Jan 1, 2011

not great but good enough

hotel was average. close walking distance or cheap bus fare to malecon which was nice. food and drink was plentiful. not the most delicious, but edible. no hottub which was a bummer and the timeshare hounds were thick. beach at the hotel was ok, but the hotel was next to some closed down hotels/hotels under constructuion -- so the the surrounding beaches were filthy and full of vagabonds. service was good and everything that we needed, we had. overall, good place for the money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top