$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mstar751
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 15, 2012

My Thoughts

Overall a good stay, had loads of fun, I was with 12 of us which made it fun. Bar needs to stay open past Midnight, as it shuts down then and gets pretty boring. Dont think I would have had as much fun if it was just 2 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Senoir Frogs Tuesday Night Foam Party

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vacationer family
Business
Wyoming
Jan 18, 2012

Staff will push timeshare - hard

The hotel was clean and has a lot of activities. Staff was pushy about not leaving the hotel and participating in the timeshare presentation. Front desk staff was difficult to deal with at check in. Had to go back to the front deak 4 times and wait in line each time just to be told they were not ready for us yet. All ther staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cantonosol
Business
east coast USA
Mar 1, 2012

Feb. 2012

I have stayed at the Canto 8 times and loved it. My most recent stay was in Feb. 2012. The last 7 times I had a large comfortable sunny room looking over the tennis courts. This time I was given a room that had a bedroom window looking directly onto the hallway and everyone walking by could look right in. For this reason, I had to keep the curtins closed the entire week and the bedroom was extremely dark to say the least plus it had few lights. There was a balcony facing the street but it was in an area of no sun and offered no privacy. There was no WIFI at all the entire week and the old TV (no flat screen as advertised in their ads) barely got 3 channels clearly. The bath tub was cracked and worn and the entire room has not been updated in years. I give the cleaning staff excellent rating for their cleaning but the place is just dated, worn and needs updating badly. When I brought all of my concerns to the front desk (Marlon) and was given the run around and told to check back. I did this 4 days in a row and finally brought him up to the room. He said it was dark and would check on changing it. He then said that there were no other room options available and I would have to stay in that room. This is the first time in more than thirty years of traveling and staying all over the world that the service desk refused my request and ignored doing anything to make the situation better. I love the location and the cleaning staff. They are extremely caring and dedicated. One other thing to note is that most chairs around the pool, are always taken and the ones that are open are usually next to smokers so be prepared to smell smoke constantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marand777
Business
Wasington state
Dec 27, 2012

Family Trip

very nice and we had a fun. i think i will go next time same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STARVING GIRL!
Business
CHICAGO IL
Aug 23, 2010

WEIGHTLOSS!!!

THE HOTEL WAS IN A GREAT LOCATION NOT TOO FAR FROM THE MALECON. THE PEOPLE WERE VERY NICE. THE SERVICE TOOK FOREVER BUT IT MIGHT OF BEEN THEY WERE SHORT STAFFED. THE FOOD WAS HORRIBLE WITH NO TASTE. THE MENU DID NOT CHANGE IF IT DID IT MIGHT OF BEEN ONE THING ONLY. THE ROOMS WERE GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

THE BUS IS ONLY 65 CENTS (6.50 PESOS)..TAXI IS 5 DOLLARS (50 PESOS)...ITS REALLY SHORT TO ALL THE ACTION ABOUT 10 MINS AWAY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adrian "oc" and arika "cbad"
Business
carlsbad, ca
Mar 7, 2011

best bang for your buck

You definitely pay for what you get. The buffet is good, had no complaints. I do recommend the steak dinner (prime rib) and YOU MUST order the spanish coffee. Only down fall is food and bar close at midnight. So if your a younger crowed this would be a downfall. The room was very nice and clean. My favorite part of the room, was the rose petals and towel bird sculpture on the bed. Another plus was getting champagne and fruit platter delivered to our room. No mini bar, no hot tub and poolside bar was closed most of the time. AVOID TIMESHARE PEOPLE. Overall great trip and great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to downtown or short bus ride. I do recommend the atv jungle tour. Look for Kukulcan off road adventures. Owner name [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hopkins, MN
Feb 21, 2010

Clean, close to town, friendly staff

We stayed for 13 nights at Canto del Sol and it was a typical Mexican all inclusive resort, not the best, but certainly not the worst. The pool was nice, but very warm and crowded. All the guests from Villa Vallarta, their time share across the street, were using the pool too, so it was really over crowded. The food was fine, nothing special. The staff was very friendly and wonderful. The room was very clean and we had a nice ocean view from our third floor room. The location was good too, close to the Malecon, shopping, etc. I would recommend this hotel for families, not so much for couples who are just going to relax and enjoy. Way too many kids for our liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Illinois
Nov 3, 2010

Couple getaway

The hotel was packed with locals because we were on the off season. A ton of kids and families which was not our kind of atmosphere. We didn't use the pool because it was so packed. Timing was bad for this time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab downtown and there is a very busy nightlife with bars/live music and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iteachcooking[@]
Business
Corte Madera, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Spring Break

Canto Del Sol is a beautiful resort. The food/drinks is typical for all inclusives that we have experienced. The nightly show was also pretty typical. The resorts location is a definate plus as were the staff. The beach wasn't much to speak about, but we found that to be true for many of the beaches we saw there. The biggest down side to Canto Del Sol is the constant noise from the pool activities. Also, the nightly staff didn't do a very good job of monitoring guests around the pool late into the night. Four of the nights there we didn't get much sleep because of people partying until 3:00am. The last night there I complained and they allowed us a late check out time. The resort?room was always clean and everyone at the resort was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus wherever you need to go. It's cheap and like a ride at Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita kansas
Jan 1, 2011

not great but good enough

hotel was average. close walking distance or cheap bus fare to malecon which was nice. food and drink was plentiful. not the most delicious, but edible. no hottub which was a bummer and the timeshare hounds were thick. beach at the hotel was ok, but the hotel was next to some closed down hotels/hotels under constructuion -- so the the surrounding beaches were filthy and full of vagabonds. service was good and everything that we needed, we had. overall, good place for the money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top