$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyle, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Not the greatest.

The room was not great; maid service almost non existent; the safe didn't work; could not lock the patio door most times. Didn't feel that we could leave any valuables in our room. Every time we went to leave, we were hounded about a timeshare. Would be nice to have assistance in booking excursions without the pressure of attending a time share. We went on a 5 night vacation; however, our plane had maintenance problems; the airline put us up in a hotel in Dallas and was willing to allow us one extra day if the resort was willing; however, they were not. They were very rude when I contacted them from our hotel. Customer service was not very good; however, we managed to enjoy our trip anyway. The pool was good and the food was not bad but our room was not the greatest and the bathroom didn't appear to be very clean. They also did not have very good entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chantall L.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Not worth what we paid

Room was clean and bed was fairly comfortable. Good location to have an easy walk to downtown Vallarta. Buffet food was not good, salty and very americanized. The bar drinks were sweet and in order to get a regular strength drink had to ask for a double. Staff was very polite and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takos Tizok, very authentic yummy tacos, across the street from the plaza two block walk.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
melzee
Business
Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Dec 30, 2011

You get what you pay for

Our first impression was very good. the lobby is very nice. We had booked an oceanview room and were told that the hotel had not received that information so we were put in a room with a view of a gym and an alley! The next day however we were moved to a much nicer room with an oceanview. We checked out the buffet on our first night and were not impressed at all. Everything tastes the same there some gray coloured meat with white sauce on it some fettucini noodles with mushrooms and bolgna in it(not kidding) and it was pretty much the same every night.We had three ala carte meals while we were there and they were much better but far from excellent.There is a lobby bar which is very laid back, mostly people sitting in there on their laptops(its one of the only places that has wifi)There is also an outside bar. the bartenders were boring, not really friendly but the waitstaff was really good especially Raphael and Jorge.The alcohol is pretty low quality no bottled beer only draft on tap,and no premium liqour. The bar shuts down at 12:00 and there is no mini bar in the rooms,also no fridge or coffee maker. The hotel doesn't have an ice machine so you have to take your ice bucket to bar. Everyone who works at the concierge desk is trying to sell timeshares and they don't like to take no for an answer. There's only one pool with one side for kids only but there are a lot of kids splashing around the adult pool. You have to get down there really early in the morning if you want a lounge chair. The beach area is small and the vendors/ vultures are all over you and they really don't like to take no for an answer. so if you want to relax, forget it. I think this is probably a good place for people with little kids. One of the good aspects of this place is the location. You can walk to the Malecon in about 15 minutes and its a $5.00 cab ride to most of the clubs downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rose B
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Stay for Wedding

Most of the staff were very good, the front desk, at times, were not very friendly or were not inclined to help with issues. The food was awful 3 of 5 days. Thank God we ate out 2 nights at area restaurants and the food was excellent. The sales rep for time share were deceiving in their presentations. Overall experience was not good. Wedding at Las Caletas Island was awesome....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mouat
Business
Stanwood, WA
Jun 16, 2014

Mediocre at best

Overall we had a good time on our trip. we felt like we got what we paid for since we were looking for a budget trip. We did both get sick from the buffet after a couple days. We also saw little ants everywhere in our room and had itchy bites all over us. The pool area and lobby was beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. We also thought the nightly shows were decent. the day time activities weren't exciting. They should have some more adult only activities (my hubby wasn't thrilled about playing poker with kids). A la cart restaurants were very good. I don't think we would stay again though because the downside of getting sick and the bugs. We also asked several times for our complimentary jug of water never to get one. We ended up buying our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy jewelry at the opal mine store. opals fell out of my ring with in a month of our trip.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyle, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Not the greatest.

The room was not great; maid service almost non existent; the safe didn't work; could not lock the patio door most times. Didn't feel that we could leave any valuables in our room. Every time we went to leave, we were hounded about a timeshare. Would be nice to have assistance in booking excursions without the pressure of attending a time share. We went on a 5 night vacation; however, our plane had maintenance problems; the airline put us up in a hotel in Dallas and was willing to allow us one extra day if the resort was willing; however, they were not. They were very rude when I contacted them from our hotel. Customer service was not very good; however, we managed to enjoy our trip anyway. The pool was good and the food was not bad but our room was not the greatest and the bathroom didn't appear to be very clean. They also did not have very good entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muy Bien
Business
Cranbrook, BC
Jan 24, 2014

Would go back

We stayed for 10 days. Good location and the staff were superb! The beds are very hard and the buffet gets boring. There is not much of a beach. There is pool side service which made us feel very spoiled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tgator
Business
IN
Feb 16, 2010

Everything is for sale

If you buy a trip beware of what you are buying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phx, AZ
Nov 14, 2010

Okay hotel

Nice people, very friendly and helpful.. only thing i didnt like was when I got the tickets no where did it say they only had one resturant that is included in all inclusive. if u stay longer than 4 days there than they give u 1 coupon to eat free at the other resturants.. so if u like more choices than you should go to a biger hotel not a small one like this one.. next I will go to bigger place to get more options on resturants and beach had rocks and sand was hard... in new puerto vallarta has no rocks .. sand is nice and soft

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

walk downtown

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Machidamurao
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 28, 2011

Good hotel. Good food.

The hotel and food are good. My kids and wife were glad to stay the hotel. It was also close to downtown which took 5 minutes by taxi, and costed USD5. The only one problem was that there were a lot of time-share salesperson. They approached us many times and tried to invite the 90 min presentation. My family hated it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't talk to time-share salespeople so much. I didn't go the presentation; it seems you'll waste your time if you are not interested in.

Back to menu Return to top