$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
128 reviews
5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and... See full review

  • Elle Michele
  • Mar 29, 2014
Lovely surprise and great value for a relaxing getaway

I went into this trip needing quiet and respite from the bitter cold of Chicago and I found what I... See full review

  • Sandy1111
  • Mar 6, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.633 -105.231
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Diaz Ordaz, (PVR)Puerto Vallarta International Airport
Area description
Right in the heart of the hotel zone and close to all the major attractions. 10 minutes from the International Airport. The famous malecon is just minutes away from the resort, where all the main attractions such as night clubs, bars, cafes, cinema theatres, beaches and shopping outlets are located. On the other hand there is Plaza Caracol, Old town, Cuale River and Marina Vallarta.

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 128
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webber's
Orangevale Ca.
Jun 15, 2014

Love this Hotel!

My Favorite In Puerto Vallarta. The purified water and all the food choices makes for a trusting wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your complementary reservations for dinner as soon as you arrive as they do fill up.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eliz123
Minnesota
Jun 6, 2014

Awesome!

My Mother and I went for a quick weekend vacay and had a WONDERFUL time! Clean room, wonderful staff, great location! The buffet wasn't anything to write home about.. but it served it's purpose. Swim-up bar and the snack bar were our favorite places. The entertainment staff was entertaining..but maybe not for the right reasons--it was very cheesy, but enjoyable! Had a lovely trip, would consider booking again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cokedale Clan
Montana
Mar 2, 2014

Pretty darn good!

For the price, Canto del Sol can't be beat. The staff is incredibly helpful and very friendly (especially if you throw a small tip their way now and then). The pool is great (always a nice temperature, large, and with a swim-up bar) and the beach area is nice (plenty of activities like sailing, kayaking, parasailing, jet skiing, and if you just want to enjoy the ocean view, you can sit in the back row and ignore the vendors). The service from the drink staff is pretty good so there's no need to get up unless you want to. The food at the resort is just okay, though they do have four dinner options in addition to the standard buffet, and the Italian one is particularly good. Our room was upgraded for free, which we thought was especially nice considering the low price we'd paid for the flight and resort, but being over the tennis courts did not seem like such an upgrade in the end. It was loud from early in the morning until late at night. One of the things we enjoyed the most about Canto del Sol, aside from the wonderful staff, was the massage parlors right across the street. They offered fantastic massages for only $20 per 60 minutes. We had one every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy your excursions at the hotel. Buy them from the hole in the wall shops with all of the posters. You'll save a lot of money.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie the traveler
illinois
Feb 16, 2014

Awesome Puerto Vallarta

We went there for a week. From the beginning we were treated very well. People working there are very friendly, polite and helpfull. Starting with Carlos who hook us up with beautiful room, Vero who help us reserve tables for dinner, entertainment people and Lucas of course. Food was very good and always fresh. Rooms clean with fresh towels. They all work very, very hard so tip them good!!!!!! Thank you Canto Del Sol for an awesome vacation. We will see you next year! P.s and if you want to book any trip go on the beach and look for Moises he gave us good deal and discount. We went to Caletas which was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muy Bien
Cranbrook, BC
Jan 24, 2014

Would go back

We stayed for 10 days. Good location and the staff were superb! The beds are very hard and the buffet gets boring. There is not much of a beach. There is pool side service which made us feel very spoiled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spanish Professor
St. Paul, MN
Jan 17, 2014

Resort comes thru after sales pitch misunderstanding

CANTO DEL SOL CAME THRU AFTER A SALES PITCH MISUNDERSTANDING After a misunderstanding last month in December during a week’s stay at Canto del Sol at a sales presentation dealing with a new vacation weeks membership for use all over the world that I ended up purchasing, I returned to the United States wondering whether we had been taken. The program that I had purchased had a lot of what the salesman had said but did not have the specific pricing that I was told it had, and now I was far away and out of sight. One of the items I had initialed at the end of the sales presentation when I had decided to purchase stated that I acknowledged having received a program membership booklet. When I read over the documents later that evening in our hotel room, I noticed that I had not received it. The next day I requested to borrow one of their few copies that they said they had of the booklet so that I could look it over. I did read it and found a few discrepancies from what I had understood in the sales presentation. Before the end of our one-week vacation at Canto del Sol, on the day before our departure, I was provided my own copy by the salesman. From what it stated in the membership booklet I determined—even though the program had its advantages, including several choices of very low cost cruises—that the program was not something that my family and I could make good use of. It did not provide the specific advantages that the salesman had stated and that had convinced me to buy. Soon afterwards, I contacted the Canto del Sol sales department and its management team, explained the situation, and asked for help. Something that I was not expecting after reading of so many negative experiences online that dealt with this type of situation, was to be able to resolve much of anything. I had put down a down payment and now it was not really a case of buyer´s remorse, but a case where I felt that I had been misled by the salesman. When I contacted the sales manager from Canto del Sol and his staff and explained my situation, I was surprised, but skeptical, about the concern and empathy they expressed. They responded to my one phone call and all of my emails. I was told that they would make every effort to resolve the issues to my satisfaction. Still, my skepticism continued. However, within a short period of time, we came to a mutual agreement satisfactory to both Canto del Sol and my family. To me this was pretty impressive being that they are in Mexico and I am here in the United States and we had discussed almost everything via email. My commitment/membership was cancelled and the down payment on my credit card is being offset by a week´s stay at the resort. It seems that more often than not, that with these type of dealings, the buyer is stung or angry because the reluctance on the part of those in charge to do anything to right the situation. I think from my experience here that the management´s approach prioritizes wanting guests to return and have positive experiences and to tell others about them. Because of this, and actually doing something about it, they appear to be a step ahead with their willingness to work with their customers to try to make them happy by resolving problems head on. We will be returning to the Canto del Sol resort with no hard feelings about what transpired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The cost to the hotel from the airport is at least twice as much than the return trip. At the airport, the last windows to the right before you leave the terminal is the location to purchase the taxi vouchers. Ask the hotel personnel at the end of your trip what you should be paying for the cab going to the airport.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lin7604
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Jan 10, 2014

better then expected

we had a excellent time at this hotel, it was better then expected! Beautiful grounds, everything is well kept, service is FANTASTIC! Yes it is a older hotel but well maintained. Beach is small especially when the tide is higher but the sand is soft unlike to the beach to the left. Food in the buffet was so-so, drinks great, snack bar food was excellent. will go back in a heart beat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to blake's to eat! fantastic service and food!

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conchita HP
Sacramento, CA
Sep 4, 2013

Puerto Vallarta Summer Vacation

The first room we got had some odors issues and had to switch to another room. We were very unhappy with the Bartenders, they need much training both in hospitality and drink preparation. The food could use more diversity and type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marand777
Wasington state
Mar 29, 2013

Family Trip

i will refer some of my friends to go and relax . i like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marand777
Wasington state
Dec 27, 2012

Family Trip

very nice and we had a fun. i think i will go next time same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top