$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Great Stay

This hotel was really good at making us feel at home. Being the first time of being out of the... See full review

  • Matthew S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Enjoyable trip

Was concerned with disability room in that it had no bars near the banos. and they were very low.... See full review

  • mamafran
  • Nov 23, 2014
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Property features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cal77
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 8, 2014

Worst experience ever

Everything went wrong on my stay at this hotel; 1. They put me in the wrong room after paying for ocean view I was looking at the tennis courts and garbage cans. It took 3 hours get the correct room. 2. Got food poising after eating at the hotel the first day. 3. They push me to buy a time share even thought I toll them that I was there to vacation and not to purchase a time share. 4. The food was bad, no taste and bad service. 5. Beds are hard as a rock and old. 6. The beer was old and tasted bad, but didn't care they said that someone will drink it. 7. Barely any room at the beach. 8. They only provide you with 2 bottle waters and after that you have to refill the plastic bottle from a station, but non of the stations had water. They told me to keep looking for one that had water to refill my bottles. 9. They try to sell you day trips at double the cost. You can walk across the street and get better deals!!! Just a bad experience!! I'll be going to a different place next time! Don't waste your money in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop around for day trip. Don't buy at the hotels they will charge you a lot more.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wally Mae
Business
DeForest, WI
Apr 6, 2014

One very long and push sales call

from the minute we got through customs we were attacked by salespeople with free tequila, not once but 3 times, we finally just walked away during their sales pitch. nothing you can do about that, but the hotel was even worse. Before we could check in we were almost bullied into sitting through their sales presentation. We said no several time and she still would not let us check in AND she expected us to pay $20 to reserve our spot in their presentation. when we finally got away from them we were allowed to check in and instead of the king bed we had reserved we were given 2 double beds and I think that was in retaliation because the original room number was crossed off so they changed the room. Later in the stay we went to ask where the gym was and the other restaurants and they told us we needed to speak to guest services AKA their salespeople who again tried to get us to their presentation and wouldn't tell us where the gym was! THEN they called our room the day of the presentation to confirm we were attending it was RIDICULOUS! we could've gotten a free excursion from it but literally chose to pay the $200 for it because we were so mad! The beach was small, the food was always luke warm but the bartenders and wait staff were friendly. beach chairs were very uncomfortable and the music/activities left a lot to be desired! The city tour was great, but again all sales. they took us to stores and gave us margaritas to buy things. the tequila distillery was great. Overall Puerto Vallarta was pretty but complete tourist trap, wouldn't return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you will be charged a foreign exchange fee every time you use your credit card, better to pay in pesos or dollars, every place accepted both

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arash
Business
Reseda, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 25, 2011

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

All you can hear is banging on the walls and people screaming at each other! The room was GROSS, the bathroom was even worse! Nothing was even close to clean! DO NOT NOT NOT STAY HERE!!! The foods in the restaurants & buffet were gross with bad quality and quantity, and we couldn't even eat any of them. The worst quality that you can find in anything is there! . Not a nice beach or pool either. Their drinks were not even known names! This hotel is not a hotel in my opinion! It is a motel with a bad quality buffet! I wish I could get my money back, I will try to stop on my credit card charge! 3.5 star hotel with 3.9 rating is misadvertising!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladude
Business
California, USA
Dec 26, 2011

The worst resort I've ever been to

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY... This resort was rated at 3.9 and advertised as a 4 star hotel, but in my opinion it was a 1 star resort. Honestly, I can't think of a single positive thing to say about the resort. Bad food, bad service, and the rooms were like motel rooms. This was the worst all inclusive resort I've ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conchita HP
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 4, 2013

Puerto Vallarta Summer Vacation

The first room we got had some odors issues and had to switch to another room. We were very unhappy with the Bartenders, they need much training both in hospitality and drink preparation. The food could use more diversity and type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicki88
Business
Napa ca
Jun 7, 2014

Horrible

They steal from you room!!!!! Don't stay at this hotel! There are many better resorts near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Havah
Business
Harlingen, TX
Mar 27, 2008

very unsafe Horrible customer service

From the very beginning the hotel service was atrocious.The next day, my wife's birthday we had an issue with security as someone stole some of my wife's items from within the room while we were out to dinner. Apparently they do not lock the community doors that are attached on both sides of the room to the rooms next door. When we learned that our doors were not locked and that we had some items missing we reported this to security. Security and the hotel services were disputing our claim from the onset. It took them one hour from our initial call to even send someone to check on the doors. They put us in a different room without community doors but that was the extent of their assistance in this matter. The stolen items were never reimbursed, we lost more than a day in dealing with this matter, filing police reports etc., and they never even apologized for the incident basically insuing that we were making the whole story up. We felt unsafe in this hotel and were dissapointed in the staff and service. We do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We recommend the Venetian restaurant

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano
Aug 12, 2008

recent stay

If you are looking for a room dated 1960's, come in and have a good time. Asked for fresh towel, got it after 4 hours of calling. Most staff dont talk english, beach is rocky and not much water activity. Food is ok but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chantall L.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Not worth what we paid

Room was clean and bed was fairly comfortable. Good location to have an easy walk to downtown Vallarta. Buffet food was not good, salty and very americanized. The bar drinks were sweet and in order to get a regular strength drink had to ask for a double. Staff was very polite and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takos Tizok, very authentic yummy tacos, across the street from the plaza two block walk.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rose B
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Stay for Wedding

Most of the staff were very good, the front desk, at times, were not very friendly or were not inclined to help with issues. The food was awful 3 of 5 days. Thank God we ate out 2 nights at area restaurants and the food was excellent. The sales rep for time share were deceiving in their presentations. Overall experience was not good. Wedding at Las Caletas Island was awesome....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top