$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
90 reviews
5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and... See full review

  • Elle Michele
  • Mar 29, 2014
Lovely surprise and great value for a relaxing getaway

I went into this trip needing quiet and respite from the bitter cold of Chicago and I found what I... See full review

  • Sandy1111
  • Mar 6, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Hotel Map

20.633 -105.231
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Diaz Ordaz, (PVR)Puerto Vallarta International Airport
Area description
Right in the heart of the hotel zone and close to all the major attractions. 10 minutes from the International Airport. The famous malecon is just minutes away from the resort, where all the main attractions such as night clubs, bars, cafes, cinema theatres, beaches and shopping outlets are located. On the other hand there is Plaza Caracol, Old town, Cuale River and Marina Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjones845
NY
Feb 21, 2012

AMAZING Vacation Spot!

Not only were the staff friendly & very helpful but they went out of their way to assist us with an airline issue we had (lost luggage). They assisted us in getting it back & really ensured we had an amazing trip. I have traveled around the world & no one has provided service as awesome as this, facilities & value were tops! Already booking next trip there! : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are very affordable, great local markets within walking distance down the beach & up the roads : )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mulin
Peurto Vallarta, Mexico
Jun 12, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

Agreed to the time share presentation - not a good experience for me as the guy got insulting and nasty at the end. However we enjoyed two really good day trips and a bottle of Tiquela as a gift for the suffering. In credit we were not bothered again by him over the two weeks. I wish I had known that the rooms were non smoking before I booked. I had put that in the request. I must have read very old website that told me it would be hard to find somewhere one couldnt smoke in Mexico! This is not true although I understand that the laws have only changed in the last 2 years. The 'balcony' was tiny - hardly 2feet! Otherwise a fantastic holiday. We went for rest and relaxation and we certainly got that. There was no real need to leave the resort and the nightly shows were very good. The nice part of the night was that after the show the resort was nice and quiet. We had view of the pool and the ocean from our room and with the window open a small bit you can hear the waves at night - lovely. Went to the Mexican Fiesta night. Cost 50 US dollars each and was well worth it. About an hours bus ride, dancing horses, other performers, Mexican Dancers, dinner and really good music on a country ranch. If this resort wasnt so far away I would be going back next year. We felt safe and were very well cared for by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the nightly shows in the Canto del Sol. The dancers are very professional and they have a different theme each night of the week. We happily saw most of the shows twice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
May 3, 2010

Not too shabby

Overall, the service was good, particularly the bar and restaurant staff that worked pretty hard to keep you happy. The only fairly negative experience was the guest services staff that are involved in the timeshare process and the variety of food was fairly minimal and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The nightclubs on the Malecon were trendy, packed and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lyle, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Not the greatest.

The room was not great; maid service almost non existent; the safe didn't work; could not lock the patio door most times. Didn't feel that we could leave any valuables in our room. Every time we went to leave, we were hounded about a timeshare. Would be nice to have assistance in booking excursions without the pressure of attending a time share. We went on a 5 night vacation; however, our plane had maintenance problems; the airline put us up in a hotel in Dallas and was willing to allow us one extra day if the resort was willing; however, they were not. They were very rude when I contacted them from our hotel. Customer service was not very good; however, we managed to enjoy our trip anyway. The pool was good and the food was not bad but our room was not the greatest and the bathroom didn't appear to be very clean. They also did not have very good entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bernando
U of Idaho
Mar 23, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Vacation

I was on spring break with a group of 12 friends (guys and girls). I have been to Mexico for the last four years in a group for spring break and Canto Del Sol really does a great job of maintaining a family atmosphere while applealing to all age groups. The nightly entertainment, both at the hotel and on the town, were well organized and a lot of fun. Food was good, I've had better and I've had worse, but I definitely had no complaints with any of the restaurants or buffets. Drinks were constantly flowing and the bar staff is really friendly and hostpitable. Favorite drinks of the week were the Bahama Mamas and a chocolate mint drink (cant remember the name though) and the cervesa is cold. I would definitly stay at Canto del Sol again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel had awesome activities each day either on the beach or in the pool. We took advantage of these each day and it was a blast. All of the staff is great and they put on a good time for all ages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nalu, Teddy Grahm, Maui, Hawaii, Purdue
West Lafayette, IN
Mar 19, 2010

"Unforgettably worth every penny"

I had a blast there. They're staff if what made this experience there unforgetable. [...](Lifegaurd/Pool Activity Coordinator) was a great person and made you feel at home. Other great employees there are Restaurant: [...]. I also really enjoyed the All Inclusive Deal. It really was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

All hotel activities are a blast to get involved with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Mar 10, 2010

Nice hotel, with friendly staff.

Nice hotel, with friendly staff. We did not like the pushy timeshare people who work at the hotel. They had a hard time taking NO for an answer. Tip: Do not book tours through the hotel, to across the street and talk to [...] (Mr. Solution) and he will take care of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ridgeland, Wisconsin
Mar 5, 2010

Great location

Enjoyed the mix of people at the hotel; very friendly staff; nice beach; beautiful weather; easy walking distance to area attractions; good drinks; food was decent; fun entertainment at the hotel; it's not a place if you want a quiet vacation; for us, my partner and I, we really enjoyed everything; met some really nice people there; we will go back but maybe not do the all inclusive because the food out in the town was better. I have one tip and that is to not eat the steak at the hotel because it was the tuffest steak I had ever tried to eat, so, I didn't eat it but Mexico is not known for it's steaks so I should have known better. All in all we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go parasailing - awesome. Also, rhythms of the night was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hopkins, MN
Feb 21, 2010

Clean, close to town, friendly staff

We stayed for 13 nights at Canto del Sol and it was a typical Mexican all inclusive resort, not the best, but certainly not the worst. The pool was nice, but very warm and crowded. All the guests from Villa Vallarta, their time share across the street, were using the pool too, so it was really over crowded. The food was fine, nothing special. The staff was very friendly and wonderful. The room was very clean and we had a nice ocean view from our third floor room. The location was good too, close to the Malecon, shopping, etc. I would recommend this hotel for families, not so much for couples who are just going to relax and enjoy. Way too many kids for our liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tgator
IN
Feb 16, 2010

Everything is for sale

If you buy a trip beware of what you are buying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BarbD
St Clair Shores Michigan
Feb 3, 2010

Great location, friendly atmosphere!

Loved the proximity to Old Vallarta. Easy bus ride downtown. Really enjoyed the wonderful variety at the buffet. The ala carte restaurants were excellent, particularly the Mexican. Great value for the money. Outstanding location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The shows each night were really good, great costumes and dancing! No need to leave the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top