$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 24, 2015 Check-out: Jan 27, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
94 reviews
Enjoyable trip

Was concerned with disability room in that it had no bars near the banos. and they were very low.... See full review

  • mamafran
  • Nov 23, 2014
5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and... See full review

  • Elle Michele
  • Mar 29, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lighthouse
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 1, 2012

Average experience

This was my second time at this resort and, hopefully not my last. It was, just as explained, an average hotel and the price was right and I did not feel that I did not get what I paid for. I was, however, very disappointed with the internet service (that rarely worked) and the fact that my room was not clean until later afternoon (after 3:00 P.M.). The nightly entertainment was good, the service was great and if there was a problem that I mentioned (such as a not acceptable bathroom), it was quickly resolved (other than the internet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chantall L.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Not worth what we paid

Room was clean and bed was fairly comfortable. Good location to have an easy walk to downtown Vallarta. Buffet food was not good, salty and very americanized. The bar drinks were sweet and in order to get a regular strength drink had to ask for a double. Staff was very polite and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takos Tizok, very authentic yummy tacos, across the street from the plaza two block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
melzee
Business
Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Dec 30, 2011

You get what you pay for

Our first impression was very good. the lobby is very nice. We had booked an oceanview room and were told that the hotel had not received that information so we were put in a room with a view of a gym and an alley! The next day however we were moved to a much nicer room with an oceanview. We checked out the buffet on our first night and were not impressed at all. Everything tastes the same there some gray coloured meat with white sauce on it some fettucini noodles with mushrooms and bolgna in it(not kidding) and it was pretty much the same every night.We had three ala carte meals while we were there and they were much better but far from excellent.There is a lobby bar which is very laid back, mostly people sitting in there on their laptops(its one of the only places that has wifi)There is also an outside bar. the bartenders were boring, not really friendly but the waitstaff was really good especially Raphael and Jorge.The alcohol is pretty low quality no bottled beer only draft on tap,and no premium liqour. The bar shuts down at 12:00 and there is no mini bar in the rooms,also no fridge or coffee maker. The hotel doesn't have an ice machine so you have to take your ice bucket to bar. Everyone who works at the concierge desk is trying to sell timeshares and they don't like to take no for an answer. There's only one pool with one side for kids only but there are a lot of kids splashing around the adult pool. You have to get down there really early in the morning if you want a lounge chair. The beach area is small and the vendors/ vultures are all over you and they really don't like to take no for an answer. so if you want to relax, forget it. I think this is probably a good place for people with little kids. One of the good aspects of this place is the location. You can walk to the Malecon in about 15 minutes and its a $5.00 cab ride to most of the clubs downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladude
Business
California, USA
Dec 26, 2011

The worst resort I've ever been to

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY... This resort was rated at 3.9 and advertised as a 4 star hotel, but in my opinion it was a 1 star resort. Honestly, I can't think of a single positive thing to say about the resort. Bad food, bad service, and the rooms were like motel rooms. This was the worst all inclusive resort I've ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sam J
Business
Marina del Rey, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

disappointing!!

I have been to Mexico 2 times once @Temptation in Cancun & another time @ RIU santa fe in Cabo .both resorts were 3 stars .in comparison to those this can't be rated more than 1 star,please don't waste your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arash
Business
Reseda, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 25, 2011

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

All you can hear is banging on the walls and people screaming at each other! The room was GROSS, the bathroom was even worse! Nothing was even close to clean! DO NOT NOT NOT STAY HERE!!! The foods in the restaurants & buffet were gross with bad quality and quantity, and we couldn't even eat any of them. The worst quality that you can find in anything is there! . Not a nice beach or pool either. Their drinks were not even known names! This hotel is not a hotel in my opinion! It is a motel with a bad quality buffet! I wish I could get my money back, I will try to stop on my credit card charge! 3.5 star hotel with 3.9 rating is misadvertising!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Machidamurao
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 28, 2011

Good hotel. Good food.

The hotel and food are good. My kids and wife were glad to stay the hotel. It was also close to downtown which took 5 minutes by taxi, and costed USD5. The only one problem was that there were a lot of time-share salesperson. They approached us many times and tried to invite the 90 min presentation. My family hated it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't talk to time-share salespeople so much. I didn't go the presentation; it seems you'll waste your time if you are not interested in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarman
Business
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Nov 9, 2011

Awesome

We were here 3 years ago for our honeymoon and we came back for our anniversary. We were shocked that there were staff that remembered us from 3 years ago. I plan on going back again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betheroo315
Business
Portland, OR, USAA
Oct 23, 2011

Great for the price!

Great inexpensive resort. Our first all inclusive... Very happy! We went at the end of the rainy season... Was perfect. The resort wasn't very full so no wait for food or drinks... Could imagine if they were busy, the waits could be long, but perfect for us !!! Only complaint really is the advertised WiFi wasn't very good... Extremely weak signal in lobby and no signal in the room. That was the only "problem" all week though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgeland, Wisconsin
Mar 16, 2011

Fantastic Vacation

Great hotel. Great room. Lots of fun activities. Great weather. Great staff. Good food. Saw whales and dolphins. Went para sailing and ATV ride. Grey Line was not worth the money and not very helpful - just get a taxi and plan your own entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the attractions from local beach vendor, not through Grey Line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top