$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vallarta lover
Business
chicago, Il
Jun 12, 2012

great economical option!

I've stayed here 4 times already and will probably stay there again next time. It's a good location. Family friendly. Very clean. The food service team is wonderful and will do anything to make your experience wonderful. I was not too crazy about the themed dinner buffet but the breakfast is wonderful. Also was disappointed by a sales person by the name of Lucy. I know they have to try to get you to sign up for their sales pitch but she was really out of line. Management should really get rid of her. She is the first impression and was insulting to me and my travel companion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rose B
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Stay for Wedding

Most of the staff were very good, the front desk, at times, were not very friendly or were not inclined to help with issues. The food was awful 3 of 5 days. Thank God we ate out 2 nights at area restaurants and the food was excellent. The sales rep for time share were deceiving in their presentations. Overall experience was not good. Wedding at Las Caletas Island was awesome....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pedro 1944
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Great winter vacation

Great staff. Good location. Clean room. Lots of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out and enjoy the the old town.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don F.
Business
Shoreview, Minnesota
Mar 15, 2012

Great Vacation

Our 12 days at the Canto Del Sol were very enjoyable. The staff (especially the waiters, bellboys and bartenders) are very friendly and make you feel right at home. The lunch and dinner buffet food selection is very average with the breakfast being the best (omelets to order), but the three speciality restaurants are very good. Hotel is close to downtown and also is near convienent shopping for food and gifts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

You will get approached by time share sales persons in the hotel as well as all around town. Some are polite and some are very agressive. The hotel time share presentation is short and is not high pressure, but some of the outside presentations are 4 to 5 hours and extremely high pressure.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicofan007
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Mar 5, 2012

Great for the price

Budget hotel that is clean and great staff. Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get you laundry washed and folded across the street at mini mall for really cheap.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cantonosol
Business
east coast USA
Mar 1, 2012

Feb. 2012

I have stayed at the Canto 8 times and loved it. My most recent stay was in Feb. 2012. The last 7 times I had a large comfortable sunny room looking over the tennis courts. This time I was given a room that had a bedroom window looking directly onto the hallway and everyone walking by could look right in. For this reason, I had to keep the curtins closed the entire week and the bedroom was extremely dark to say the least plus it had few lights. There was a balcony facing the street but it was in an area of no sun and offered no privacy. There was no WIFI at all the entire week and the old TV (no flat screen as advertised in their ads) barely got 3 channels clearly. The bath tub was cracked and worn and the entire room has not been updated in years. I give the cleaning staff excellent rating for their cleaning but the place is just dated, worn and needs updating badly. When I brought all of my concerns to the front desk (Marlon) and was given the run around and told to check back. I did this 4 days in a row and finally brought him up to the room. He said it was dark and would check on changing it. He then said that there were no other room options available and I would have to stay in that room. This is the first time in more than thirty years of traveling and staying all over the world that the service desk refused my request and ignored doing anything to make the situation better. I love the location and the cleaning staff. They are extremely caring and dedicated. One other thing to note is that most chairs around the pool, are always taken and the ones that are open are usually next to smokers so be prepared to smell smoke constantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjones845
Business
NY
Feb 21, 2012

AMAZING Vacation Spot!

Not only were the staff friendly & very helpful but they went out of their way to assist us with an airline issue we had (lost luggage). They assisted us in getting it back & really ensured we had an amazing trip. I have traveled around the world & no one has provided service as awesome as this, facilities & value were tops! Already booking next trip there! : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are very affordable, great local markets within walking distance down the beach & up the roads : )

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vacationer family
Business
Wyoming
Jan 18, 2012

Staff will push timeshare - hard

The hotel was clean and has a lot of activities. Staff was pushy about not leaving the hotel and participating in the timeshare presentation. Front desk staff was difficult to deal with at check in. Had to go back to the front deak 4 times and wait in line each time just to be told they were not ready for us yet. All ther staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mstar751
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 15, 2012

My Thoughts

Overall a good stay, had loads of fun, I was with 12 of us which made it fun. Bar needs to stay open past Midnight, as it shuts down then and gets pretty boring. Dont think I would have had as much fun if it was just 2 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Senoir Frogs Tuesday Night Foam Party

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kotka
Business
California, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Wonderful family getaway, friendly personal

Close to shopping, attractions, downtown, excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top