$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjones845
Couples
NY
Feb 21, 2012

AMAZING Vacation Spot!

Not only were the staff friendly & very helpful but they went out of their way to assist us with an airline issue we had (lost luggage). They assisted us in getting it back & really ensured we had an amazing trip. I have traveled around the world & no one has provided service as awesome as this, facilities & value were tops! Already booking next trip there! : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are very affordable, great local markets within walking distance down the beach & up the roads : )

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicki88
Couples
Napa ca
Jun 7, 2014

Horrible

They steal from you room!!!!! Don't stay at this hotel! There are many better resorts near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eliz123
Family
Minnesota
Jun 6, 2014

Awesome!

My Mother and I went for a quick weekend vacay and had a WONDERFUL time! Clean room, wonderful staff, great location! The buffet wasn't anything to write home about.. but it served it's purpose. Swim-up bar and the snack bar were our favorite places. The entertainment staff was entertaining..but maybe not for the right reasons--it was very cheesy, but enjoyable! Had a lovely trip, would consider booking again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennisfan7
Single
Vancouver, Washington
Apr 26, 2014

A great value for a quick solo vacation.

The hotel is not too fancy, but has everything that you'll need: a great staff, nice pool, decent food and clean rooms. The location in the hotel zone is convenient to get to the main town or to the marina via taxi or bus. The beach is pretty small though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the local buses in Puerto Vallarta is pretty easy and much cheaper compared to using the taxi, especially for going from your hotel to the main town area.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wally Mae
Couples
DeForest, WI
Apr 6, 2014

One very long and push sales call

from the minute we got through customs we were attacked by salespeople with free tequila, not once but 3 times, we finally just walked away during their sales pitch. nothing you can do about that, but the hotel was even worse. Before we could check in we were almost bullied into sitting through their sales presentation. We said no several time and she still would not let us check in AND she expected us to pay $20 to reserve our spot in their presentation. when we finally got away from them we were allowed to check in and instead of the king bed we had reserved we were given 2 double beds and I think that was in retaliation because the original room number was crossed off so they changed the room. Later in the stay we went to ask where the gym was and the other restaurants and they told us we needed to speak to guest services AKA their salespeople who again tried to get us to their presentation and wouldn't tell us where the gym was! THEN they called our room the day of the presentation to confirm we were attending it was RIDICULOUS! we could've gotten a free excursion from it but literally chose to pay the $200 for it because we were so mad! The beach was small, the food was always luke warm but the bartenders and wait staff were friendly. beach chairs were very uncomfortable and the music/activities left a lot to be desired! The city tour was great, but again all sales. they took us to stores and gave us margaritas to buy things. the tequila distillery was great. Overall Puerto Vallarta was pretty but complete tourist trap, wouldn't return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you will be charged a foreign exchange fee every time you use your credit card, better to pay in pesos or dollars, every place accepted both

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle Michele
Friends
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2014

5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and the specialty restaurants were good! Service was excellent. I have no complaints, and I paid less than I would at a hotel in the states that has nothing included! Highly reccommended and will be returning (many other people I talked to had been to this resort 10+ times without having a timeshare. They must be doing something right!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a taxi and go to the flea market and downtown boardwalk area!

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pedro 1944
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 9, 2014

Pedro from Wisconsin

Fantastic Staff! Food is better than it used to be. Too many children. Management needs improvement! Staff is the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi or bus to the Malecon for some good shopping and dining.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy1111
Single
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 6, 2014

Lovely surprise and great value for a relaxing getaway

I went into this trip needing quiet and respite from the bitter cold of Chicago and I found what I was looking for and more. Other than the time-share sales woman who only treated me as a commission and not a human being, the staff was delightful, warm and kind. The hotel itself is immaculately clean (they are constantly cleaning everywhere) not a bug or spec of dust in sight. The hotel has it's own small private area on the beach that is absolutely perfect and accessible even in the evening when other hotels have to close their access. I didn't partake in any of the activities although I did see a nightly event in the disco that changed themes and a few pool-related activities. I don't usually sit by the pool on vacation but this was relaxing, breathtaking and wonderful. It was nice to feel safe, have clean water access at all times and to not have to worry about anything because I was completely taken care of. I look forward to coming back here again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to go off the beaten path in Old Town. As a short female I felt very safe and enjoyed walking around the less touristy streets - it's all pretty touristy in el Centro anyway.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cokedale Clan
Family
Montana
Mar 2, 2014

Pretty darn good!

For the price, Canto del Sol can't be beat. The staff is incredibly helpful and very friendly (especially if you throw a small tip their way now and then). The pool is great (always a nice temperature, large, and with a swim-up bar) and the beach area is nice (plenty of activities like sailing, kayaking, parasailing, jet skiing, and if you just want to enjoy the ocean view, you can sit in the back row and ignore the vendors). The service from the drink staff is pretty good so there's no need to get up unless you want to. The food at the resort is just okay, though they do have four dinner options in addition to the standard buffet, and the Italian one is particularly good. Our room was upgraded for free, which we thought was especially nice considering the low price we'd paid for the flight and resort, but being over the tennis courts did not seem like such an upgrade in the end. It was loud from early in the morning until late at night. One of the things we enjoyed the most about Canto del Sol, aside from the wonderful staff, was the massage parlors right across the street. They offered fantastic massages for only $20 per 60 minutes. We had one every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy your excursions at the hotel. Buy them from the hole in the wall shops with all of the posters. You'll save a lot of money.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olita
Couples
CO
Feb 24, 2014

great anytime

Staff is friendly and personable. The location is a comfortable 30 stroll to old town and the malecon. Good value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie the traveler
Family
illinois
Feb 16, 2014

Awesome Puerto Vallarta

We went there for a week. From the beginning we were treated very well. People working there are very friendly, polite and helpfull. Starting with Carlos who hook us up with beautiful room, Vero who help us reserve tables for dinner, entertainment people and Lucas of course. Food was very good and always fresh. Rooms clean with fresh towels. They all work very, very hard so tip them good!!!!!! Thank you Canto Del Sol for an awesome vacation. We will see you next year! P.s and if you want to book any trip go on the beach and look for Moises he gave us good deal and discount. We went to Caletas which was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top