$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
90 reviews
5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and... See full review

  • Elle Michele
  • Mar 29, 2014
Lovely surprise and great value for a relaxing getaway

I went into this trip needing quiet and respite from the bitter cold of Chicago and I found what I... See full review

  • Sandy1111
  • Mar 6, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Hotel Map

20.633 -105.231
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Diaz Ordaz, (PVR)Puerto Vallarta International Airport
Area description
Right in the heart of the hotel zone and close to all the major attractions. 10 minutes from the International Airport. The famous malecon is just minutes away from the resort, where all the main attractions such as night clubs, bars, cafes, cinema theatres, beaches and shopping outlets are located. On the other hand there is Plaza Caracol, Old town, Cuale River and Marina Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vallarta lover
chicago, Il
Jun 12, 2012

great economical option!

I've stayed here 4 times already and will probably stay there again next time. It's a good location. Family friendly. Very clean. The food service team is wonderful and will do anything to make your experience wonderful. I was not too crazy about the themed dinner buffet but the breakfast is wonderful. Also was disappointed by a sales person by the name of Lucy. I know they have to try to get you to sign up for their sales pitch but she was really out of line. Management should really get rid of her. She is the first impression and was insulting to me and my travel companion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mouat
Stanwood, WA
Jun 16, 2014

Mediocre at best

Overall we had a good time on our trip. we felt like we got what we paid for since we were looking for a budget trip. We did both get sick from the buffet after a couple days. We also saw little ants everywhere in our room and had itchy bites all over us. The pool area and lobby was beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. We also thought the nightly shows were decent. the day time activities weren't exciting. They should have some more adult only activities (my hubby wasn't thrilled about playing poker with kids). A la cart restaurants were very good. I don't think we would stay again though because the downside of getting sick and the bugs. We also asked several times for our complimentary jug of water never to get one. We ended up buying our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy jewelry at the opal mine store. opals fell out of my ring with in a month of our trip.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webber's
Orangevale Ca.
Jun 15, 2014

Love this Hotel!

My Favorite In Puerto Vallarta. The purified water and all the food choices makes for a trusting wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your complementary reservations for dinner as soon as you arrive as they do fill up.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicki88
Napa ca
Jun 7, 2014

Horrible

They steal from you room!!!!! Don't stay at this hotel! There are many better resorts near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eliz123
Minnesota
Jun 6, 2014

Awesome!

My Mother and I went for a quick weekend vacay and had a WONDERFUL time! Clean room, wonderful staff, great location! The buffet wasn't anything to write home about.. but it served it's purpose. Swim-up bar and the snack bar were our favorite places. The entertainment staff was entertaining..but maybe not for the right reasons--it was very cheesy, but enjoyable! Had a lovely trip, would consider booking again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennisfan7
Vancouver, Washington
Apr 26, 2014

A great value for a quick solo vacation.

The hotel is not too fancy, but has everything that you'll need: a great staff, nice pool, decent food and clean rooms. The location in the hotel zone is convenient to get to the main town or to the marina via taxi or bus. The beach is pretty small though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the local buses in Puerto Vallarta is pretty easy and much cheaper compared to using the taxi, especially for going from your hotel to the main town area.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wally Mae
DeForest, WI
Apr 6, 2014

One very long and push sales call

from the minute we got through customs we were attacked by salespeople with free tequila, not once but 3 times, we finally just walked away during their sales pitch. nothing you can do about that, but the hotel was even worse. Before we could check in we were almost bullied into sitting through their sales presentation. We said no several time and she still would not let us check in AND she expected us to pay $20 to reserve our spot in their presentation. when we finally got away from them we were allowed to check in and instead of the king bed we had reserved we were given 2 double beds and I think that was in retaliation because the original room number was crossed off so they changed the room. Later in the stay we went to ask where the gym was and the other restaurants and they told us we needed to speak to guest services AKA their salespeople who again tried to get us to their presentation and wouldn't tell us where the gym was! THEN they called our room the day of the presentation to confirm we were attending it was RIDICULOUS! we could've gotten a free excursion from it but literally chose to pay the $200 for it because we were so mad! The beach was small, the food was always luke warm but the bartenders and wait staff were friendly. beach chairs were very uncomfortable and the music/activities left a lot to be desired! The city tour was great, but again all sales. they took us to stores and gave us margaritas to buy things. the tequila distillery was great. Overall Puerto Vallarta was pretty but complete tourist trap, wouldn't return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you will be charged a foreign exchange fee every time you use your credit card, better to pay in pesos or dollars, every place accepted both

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle Michele
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2014

5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and the specialty restaurants were good! Service was excellent. I have no complaints, and I paid less than I would at a hotel in the states that has nothing included! Highly reccommended and will be returning (many other people I talked to had been to this resort 10+ times without having a timeshare. They must be doing something right!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a taxi and go to the flea market and downtown boardwalk area!

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pedro 1944
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 9, 2014

Pedro from Wisconsin

Fantastic Staff! Food is better than it used to be. Too many children. Management needs improvement! Staff is the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi or bus to the Malecon for some good shopping and dining.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy1111
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 6, 2014

Lovely surprise and great value for a relaxing getaway

I went into this trip needing quiet and respite from the bitter cold of Chicago and I found what I was looking for and more. Other than the time-share sales woman who only treated me as a commission and not a human being, the staff was delightful, warm and kind. The hotel itself is immaculately clean (they are constantly cleaning everywhere) not a bug or spec of dust in sight. The hotel has it's own small private area on the beach that is absolutely perfect and accessible even in the evening when other hotels have to close their access. I didn't partake in any of the activities although I did see a nightly event in the disco that changed themes and a few pool-related activities. I don't usually sit by the pool on vacation but this was relaxing, breathtaking and wonderful. It was nice to feel safe, have clean water access at all times and to not have to worry about anything because I was completely taken care of. I look forward to coming back here again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to go off the beaten path in Old Town. As a short female I felt very safe and enjoyed walking around the less touristy streets - it's all pretty touristy in el Centro anyway.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cokedale Clan
Montana
Mar 2, 2014

Pretty darn good!

For the price, Canto del Sol can't be beat. The staff is incredibly helpful and very friendly (especially if you throw a small tip their way now and then). The pool is great (always a nice temperature, large, and with a swim-up bar) and the beach area is nice (plenty of activities like sailing, kayaking, parasailing, jet skiing, and if you just want to enjoy the ocean view, you can sit in the back row and ignore the vendors). The service from the drink staff is pretty good so there's no need to get up unless you want to. The food at the resort is just okay, though they do have four dinner options in addition to the standard buffet, and the Italian one is particularly good. Our room was upgraded for free, which we thought was especially nice considering the low price we'd paid for the flight and resort, but being over the tennis courts did not seem like such an upgrade in the end. It was loud from early in the morning until late at night. One of the things we enjoyed the most about Canto del Sol, aside from the wonderful staff, was the massage parlors right across the street. They offered fantastic massages for only $20 per 60 minutes. We had one every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy your excursions at the hotel. Buy them from the hole in the wall shops with all of the posters. You'll save a lot of money.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search