$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
310 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (310)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 310
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
June2014
USA
Jun 17, 2014

It is what it is.

First time at this hotel. Not what I expected. Clean and in a geeat lication for what I was looking for. Staff was great, but the hotel needs a major renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CALI BOYZ
MONTEBELLO,CA
May 27, 2014

THE WORST HOTEL!!! TRAVELER BEWARE

SINCE ARRIVING TO BLUE CHAIRS ON MAY 20TH OUR EXPERIENCE WAS SHOCKING. THEY TOOK US TO THE ROOM AND WE WERE STUNNED THAT THE ROOM DID NOT MATCH THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE. ALOT OF SAND ON THE FLOOR, THE SHEETS WERE DIRTY, SMELLY AND STAINED. THE DOORS HAD TO BE PUSHED OPEN. THE TOILET DID NOT FLUSH. THE HOTEL WAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. IT LOOKED LIKE A WAR ZONE. THE SAFE IS AT THE RECEPTION DESK. IT IS NOT SECURE AT ALL. THE DOOR OF THE SAFE ARE MADE OF WOOD. ANYONE HAS ACCESS TO THE SAFE. NOT SECURE. THE ONLY REASON ALOT OF GAY PEOPLE LIKE THIS HOTEL IS BECAUSE ITS BEACH FRONT. THE HOTEL IS SUPER UGLY AND NASTY. YOU ARE BETTER OFF STAYING OFF THE BEACH FRONT OR RENTING A CONDO. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN EVEN IF THEY GAVE ME FREE NIGHTS. OMG WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY ABOUT OUR 5 NIGHT STAY. THE POOL IS HORRIBLE. THE RESTURANT WAS NOT SANITARY. IF YOU DONT ASK FOR THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST YOU WILL GET CHARGED. EVEN AFTER THEY SEE YOU THERE EVERYDAY. SO TO CONCLUDED THIS HOTEL WAS THE WORST PLACE IN VALLARTA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feelngood
NYC
Apr 20, 2014

Poor Facility, poor service, poor food

Dated facilities, unotrganized staff who did the minimum. King suite was large but dated. Noisy as there was construction nearby, the noise levels on stairs was excessive due to traffic going to 6 floor bar and caberet area. Felt unsafe as anyone could walk off the street and through the hotel. Staff did not appear to be bothered. There are much better options nearby for the same price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mantamar beach club is nearby with a great deal on daypasses, food and service is great.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelstud
Canada
Mar 28, 2014

Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its main selling point but my buddy and I found the place surpassing our own and others' expectations. We had an awesome room that was always clean and the AC was amazing! The beds we super cozy and they supplied us with bottled water the entire time. The staff was helpful, appreciative and genuinely happy to have us there. Even though half the building was under construction and being renovated the noise levels weren't all that bad. If you also wanted to bring a guest over for the night, unlike other places, Blue chairs was extremely accommodating. This was my first time at Blue chairs and we'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wdean
sacramento
Feb 28, 2014

stay at blue chairs

we have stayed at blue chairs before --it is not a high end place --it is a funky fun place to stay mostly due to staff and location which were great--f you are the type of traveler that spends alot of time in the room you may want to look somewhere else ----still alot of work going on site so alot of noise during the day---best thing about hotel is walking out the door and on to the beach---

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we had the best dinner at the swedes --they have great food and drinks ---at a geat price---

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbury80
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 18, 2014

A great vacation.

Blue Chairs was under construction when I visited, so a few of the amenities were missing. There were some minor scratches on one wall of the room, but otherwise things were in good shape. The staff were amazing. They truly went out of their way to make sure I had a good time. The concierge and I were on a first name basis after the first day and she took care of me. Also, when I inadvertently dropped my wallet in the cab on the way to the airport, she coordinated with the cab driver to have it brought back to the hotel and sent to me. Truly outstanding service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos sfpapi
San Francisco California
Feb 4, 2014

Better than I expected

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and I was never impressed. The reason I decided to stay this time was because of location to the beach. I must say that they have improved the rooms, specially the one I stayed # 204 with double beds and partial ocean view even though I paid for a ocean front room, it's always a battle to try to get what you pay for in PV. As nice as the newly renovated room was, their workmen ship and attentions to detail is lacking such as the dresser drawer handles kept coming off because of lack of screws, bead spreads were different colors and types on each of the beds. The bathroom was very nice and clean but the way the door opened into it, you had to walk into the shower in order to get to the toilet because the door got in the way..... very strange, whom ever designed it was high on something. The room was very clean. I do have to say that they are really doing great renovations that this hotel has in need of for a very long time, hopefully they will address some of the things i mentioned in order for them to reach a three or four star rating. A new pool is in the process of being finished and from the looks of it looks like it will be a great one. The in room internet worked great!! and it was free a big ++++ I hope that hotel renovations are finished when I return next year because I plan to stay there again. Keep up the good work. Carlos Rosales

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denco
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 17, 2013

Great place

Don't stay here if you're looking for a Marriott or Westin experience. This is a Mexican hotel and thus things are pretty laid back. The location is perfect, the rooms OK, and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a quick walk of all the major bars/clubs.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beefboat
Memphis
Dec 2, 2013

Blue Chairs PV Fun

Best location at the gay beach. Friendliest staff. Scenic rooftop daily happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michel's restaurant is excellent with very good Mexican wines and chocolate moose.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim from Sac
Sacramento, California
Nov 12, 2013

Great location but can be better

Aside from the great location and very helpful and friendly staff, the hotel needs a major update. I was lucky enough to have a very nice view and balcony but the chair in the balcony had rust and the drain from the balcony above me is dripping on to my balcony area. There is expansion and construction going on so its not that clean. The drinks at the 6th floor bar is expensive and not that good (run down). The food in the restaurant by the beach is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For Gay travelers, La Noche Bar has a great roof top. Wet Dreams has good looking Go-Go boys. Cafe de Olla has very good Mexican food. La Bohemia has very good international cuisine with a mexican twist. Joe Jack's Fish Shack has very good grilled food (try the grilled octopus) and they have a rooftop seating. There is a Fajita place on Basilio Badillo which serves great fajitas.

Back to menu Return to top