$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
209 reviews
Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time. See full review

  • Kdcdough
  • Jan 23, 2015
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 209
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabe Cubano
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Loved it

We enjoyed our stay at Blue Chairs. The staff was wonderful, especially Super Wendy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keith K.
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 12, 2015

6 years in a row, trust gone.... Won't be back.

We've been staying here for 6 plus years and have put up with the hotel because of the location. Never Again. Rooms are horrendous! Filthy! I was afraid to put my clothes on the bed. Mattresses disgusting. Sheets are filthy and blood stained and they don't change the sheets unless you ask them to. Comforters are disgusting. Walls crumbling and mildewed stained. Air conditioners filthy. Toilets get clogged very often. Safety and security was a concern. Doors are rickety and at one point a bartender/staff person not a housekeeper walked into our room unannounced as we were getting ready to go to the beach. Just walked in, didn't knock. Not worth it. Would take a miracle to get us to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mathew C.
Business
phoenix
Feb 16, 2015

PVR TRIP

This hotel is under major renovations and half the rooms are being renovated. its very loud all day there. The water some times doesn't allow for flushing of the toilets, warm water is hard to come by, our first room had a whole in the ceiling, no cold water, and not seat cover!!! The second room flooded with water every night from some unknown source. Ruined our luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CurtO
Business
Franklin Park
Feb 12, 2015

Blue Chairs never dissapoints

This is not a 5 star resort, it's an old hotel, but clean, comfortable and the location cannot be beat. The staff is EXCEPTIONAL! Kudos to Erike who always has a smile for you and helps out with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ray p.
Business
Oklahoma City
Jan 12, 2015

Horrible Hotel with excellent service

I feel terrible for the friendly staff that has to work in this pit. Our "suite" had a closet door lock on one of the exterior doors that we had to prop a chair against for security and one of the sliding glass door locks was held on with failing drywall screws. The view of the ocean was nice but the view of the unfinished pool one floor below and the surrounding construction was atrocious. Avoid this place at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelingtgc
Business
Sacramento CA
Nov 26, 2014

Great location and beach Ok place to stay

We were initially placed in an ocean front room with an obstructed view due to an unfinished and old construction site. We were moved to a room with a spectacular view the next day at our request. Be aware that the hotel is in a constant state of construction. The staff does their best to accommodate the inconvenience but it appears this will be a reality for the for seeable future. The bar on the roof and the pool are outdated and need some TLC. The location is perfect to walk across the street to the beach and to walk to bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rmex
Business
Mexico
Sep 15, 2014

Worst hotel staff ever

This hotel is not safe, please dont stay here. The night staff is the worst ever. They just sleep and there is no security and they dont call cabs for you. Avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe des artistes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelers who love Mexico
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2014

Blue Chairs

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. The room was dirty. The sheets were permanently stained and dirty. There were bugs in the bed and the room. The ice bucket was dirty. After we offered to buy our own sheets they provided new sheets for the third night. Run don't walk the other way from this hotel! There are many hotels within a stone's throw with the same price point that are much nicer. You can hang at the beach and have drinks where the service is great and you will have a great time and you will be much happier. They would not let us cancel so we got stuck staying there. It would have been worth it to pay twice and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

drinks on the beach are a good time at the Blue Chairs, everything else is terrible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I Heart PV
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2014

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was really excited to stay at this hotel. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay here again. The ONLY good thing I can say about the place is the staff is nice. Other than that this hotel is a complete waste of money. We changed rooms several times because the rooms were so bad (we are not even high maintenance guys). The water situation at this hotel is terrible. I had ice cold water in my shower the entire time. I heard other guests complaining of the same thing while downstairs and overheard a staff member say "its hot, who wants hot water right now?" I do not like taking ice cold showers no matter how hot it is outside! At night the walls became spotted with bag worms. I had to thoroughly inspect my luggage when I got back home to make sure they don't infest my house. My bathroom smelled HORRIBLE and I realized the smell was coming from the drains in the bathroom. The sewer gas made me hate to go into the bathroom. All of this was inside the "new" part of the hotel. BAD BAD BAD BAD. If you are planning on visiting, look at other places first. While in PV I met many people who rented very nice condos one block away for less than what we paid for our terrible hotel. There are other hotels up the road (which is a few blocks closer to the Gay clubs and on the beach) Please do research before booking this hotel. You can get a great property at an excellent price while in PV... just not at this place. Oh and should I mention the saws, hammering, banging starting early every morning? Nothing like wakin up to a circular saw in the morning while trying to sleep. STAY AWAY! Please... really... don't do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

CC Slaughter, Paco's, Los Amigos, but you MUST do Freidas (AMAZING place).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drew and Jim
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jul 1, 2014

THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on the beach...we will be back very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top