$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 193
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelers who love Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2014

Blue Chairs

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. The room was dirty. The sheets were permanently stained and dirty. There were bugs in the bed and the room. The ice bucket was dirty. After we offered to buy our own sheets they provided new sheets for the third night. Run don't walk the other way from this hotel! There are many hotels within a stone's throw with the same price point that are much nicer. You can hang at the beach and have drinks where the service is great and you will have a great time and you will be much happier. They would not let us cancel so we got stuck staying there. It would have been worth it to pay twice and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

drinks on the beach are a good time at the Blue Chairs, everything else is terrible.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I Heart PV
USA
Jul 10, 2014

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was really excited to stay at this hotel. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay here again. The ONLY good thing I can say about the place is the staff is nice. Other than that this hotel is a complete waste of money. We changed rooms several times because the rooms were so bad (we are not even high maintenance guys). The water situation at this hotel is terrible. I had ice cold water in my shower the entire time. I heard other guests complaining of the same thing while downstairs and overheard a staff member say "its hot, who wants hot water right now?" I do not like taking ice cold showers no matter how hot it is outside! At night the walls became spotted with bag worms. I had to thoroughly inspect my luggage when I got back home to make sure they don't infest my house. My bathroom smelled HORRIBLE and I realized the smell was coming from the drains in the bathroom. The sewer gas made me hate to go into the bathroom. All of this was inside the "new" part of the hotel. BAD BAD BAD BAD. If you are planning on visiting, look at other places first. While in PV I met many people who rented very nice condos one block away for less than what we paid for our terrible hotel. There are other hotels up the road (which is a few blocks closer to the Gay clubs and on the beach) Please do research before booking this hotel. You can get a great property at an excellent price while in PV... just not at this place. Oh and should I mention the saws, hammering, banging starting early every morning? Nothing like wakin up to a circular saw in the morning while trying to sleep. STAY AWAY! Please... really... don't do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

CC Slaughter, Paco's, Los Amigos, but you MUST do Freidas (AMAZING place).

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drew and Jim
Las Vegas NV
Jul 1, 2014

THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on the beach...we will be back very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the Beach

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June2014
USA
Jun 25, 2014

June 2014

Staff are quite helpful and the location is impossible to improve, but the hotel is run down and needs lots of improving. Constuction does not help either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steven and Lee
Burbank, CA
Mar 23, 2014

Awesome location, clean room and friendly staff

Blue Chairs was the perfect place to stay. Right on the beach with Excelent staff to make your beach day perfect. I would not recomended the roof top bar unless you like go-go dancers begging for money. There are plenty of nice bars in withing walking distance where you don't get husseled. Overall, the Blue Chairs was convenient, clean and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favorite hang outs were Los Noches which has a great rooftop area, and Garbo's which has live music

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin92103
San Diego
Mar 17, 2014

Nice hotel

I have read so many other reviews saying this hotel was not worth going to, I must strongly disagree. I was on the 4th floor, with a partial ocean view, and our room was great. Yes, it is a bit out dated, but overall, it was really not bad. The elevator is very slow, and small. The hotel is going to through an expansion, like the rest of PV, but other than that, it is rather quiet. The only thing I didn't like is the food at their beach bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boofagin
Pfugerville Texas
Mar 20, 2013

Location, staff, and price

The reasons why you would stay at Blue Chairs are location, staff, and price. My partner and I had a fantastic time at Blue Chairs and would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zanate

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CurtO
Chicago IL
Mar 19, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews!

My partner and I have been to PV several times and never stayed at the Blue Chairs until this trip. When we left, we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else! The staff is amazing (special thanks to Erika & Alfredo) And the waiters at the beach are great (thanks Fransisco & Luis). We had a bit of a medical emergency while on vacation and the staff directed us to the closest emergency room ( Med Assist on Insurgente) and when my partner was admitted overnight, the Blue chairs had flowers sent (delivered by Erika from the desk) It meant a lot to him! After the hospital stay they were asking how he was feeling and if they could do anything. NOW...this is not a marriott, it's a hotel in the old part of town, so don't expect a chocolate on your pillow every night, but it was clean, comfortable, we had hot water every day (contrary to the reviews we read) The elevator is definetly old and could probably be replaced, but it worked and we often took the stairs anyway. Overall, a great experience and would definetly come back......see ya next year BC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D.C.H.
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2013

The Decline of the Blue Chairs Hotel

We have just ended our fourth vacation at the Blue Chairs Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, and this will be our last. Over the past few years Blue Chairs Hotel has gotten progressively worse. This year was the absolute worst. The hotel is so poorly managed that there is a constant mix-up at the front desk. A year earlier, for our 2011 holiday reservations, we reserved the "Jr. Suite" which we had had in the past. We made those reservations on January 3, 2011, asking for assurances that we would get Room 301 -- the Jr. Suite. It was guaranteed. Then when arriving on December 27, 2011, we were told that there was a mix-up and the room had been given to somebody else. During that stay, Blue Chairs had charged for two more days than we were staying, but they would not reverse the charges for those unused days. Instead, they gave us a card saying that we would have a "credit" of 3,700 pesos if used within one year. When we asked to use that credit this year, I was astonished that they wanted to deny our use of that. In a word, the Blue Chairs management is dysfunctional and ineffective. The locaton of Blue Chairs is excellent, but there are many other lodging accommodations in that immediate area which are available for the same or much less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big JM
Chicago
Dec 17, 2012

Great location and gay all the way!

The hotel was OK. Staff is amazing. Everything is an extra charge.....even coffee. Location is great, can be a bit noisey with the construction around and the dance bar on the roof. The location is great and the gay beach was fantastic. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search