$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
218 reviews
Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time. See full review

  • Kdcdough
  • Jan 23, 2015
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Property features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Nearby attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gevo K.
Business
van nuys
May 27, 2015

SKIP THIS PLACE

We wanted to stay at this hotel because we stayed here about 2 years before. This time was not a good experience. They are expanding and remodeling. This means that the whole place is in disheveled state all the time. The first room they put us in was dirty and looked like it had not been used in some time. The walls were peeling and the smell of mold was over powering. We asked to be changed when the hot water was not working in the shower. The 2nd room was also in bad condition without a working toilet. We were finally put in a room. This room was better but still smelled of mold. The toilet area is small so you end up rubbing your legs on the dirty walls when using the toilet. During my stay I had gotten a few bug bites at the hotel. I didn't think anything of it, but then it turned out to be cellulitis (infection of the skin from a bite). I ended up in the ER right when I landed back in Los Angeles. I had talked to many of the other guested and they had also told me the bad condition of the other rooms. On the other hand, the staff was great. They did everything they can to help the situation. It is the management that need to do a better job with this place. The employes can only do so much with what they have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabe Cubano
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Loved it

We enjoyed our stay at Blue Chairs. The staff was wonderful, especially Super Wendy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itravelalone
Business
Washington
Mar 22, 2015

Just okay

Even after reading some not-so- positive reviews of this hotel, I decided to stay anyway. The room was okay. But things like pillows with odors, low pressured and tepid water, and show curtain mildew were turnoffs. The staff, however, was very friendly and informative. If ever in PVR again, I will pay a little more for a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicolas
Business
Malibu
Mar 20, 2015

Terrible place

I don't recommend it. Dirty and scary place. The staff is scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keith K.
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 12, 2015

6 years in a row, trust gone.... Won't be back.

We've been staying here for 6 plus years and have put up with the hotel because of the location. Never Again. Rooms are horrendous! Filthy! I was afraid to put my clothes on the bed. Mattresses disgusting. Sheets are filthy and blood stained and they don't change the sheets unless you ask them to. Comforters are disgusting. Walls crumbling and mildewed stained. Air conditioners filthy. Toilets get clogged very often. Safety and security was a concern. Doors are rickety and at one point a bartender/staff person not a housekeeper walked into our room unannounced as we were getting ready to go to the beach. Just walked in, didn't knock. Not worth it. Would take a miracle to get us to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAI N.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

No Hot Water

Location is great, they need to work on some basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mathew C.
Business
phoenix
Feb 16, 2015

PVR TRIP

This hotel is under major renovations and half the rooms are being renovated. its very loud all day there. The water some times doesn't allow for flushing of the toilets, warm water is hard to come by, our first room had a whole in the ceiling, no cold water, and not seat cover!!! The second room flooded with water every night from some unknown source. Ruined our luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CurtO
Business
Franklin Park
Feb 12, 2015

Blue Chairs never dissapoints

This is not a 5 star resort, it's an old hotel, but clean, comfortable and the location cannot be beat. The staff is EXCEPTIONAL! Kudos to Erike who always has a smile for you and helps out with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kdcdough
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert A.
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Fun Getaway

We had to change rooms two times. Rooms came with no bathroom tissue, no remote, dead phone, light bulbs out, no hangers in closet, sandy, dirty floors, minimal maid service, poor cable reception, no towels for shower, poor water pressure, and sheets that fell off the bed after ten minutes. However, that said, the friendly staff was always trying to accommodate after the fact, and always had a smile on their face. I would still say at this hotel again because of the very reasonable price and the absolute best beach front location. Two very important requirements for my trip. Also the property is under new room construction, so we had to put up with drilling and workers all over the place. Power went off once as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top