$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stay Here At Your OWN RISK.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Extremely Cheap - STILL Not Worth the $$

Room smelled like sewer - and loud thumping music went on all night long. Hotel staff was rude and unacommadating. Front desk attempted to charge me $40 for a two-hour late checkout.. then insisted that they couldn't check my bag for the couple hours before I went to the airport. I went to another nearby hotel (where I didn't stay) and tipped the bellman $2 to watch my bag - and he graciously helped me out. I couldn't help but feel as though this hotel was out to rip me off. ZERO on a scale of 1 to 10 when it comes to service. Cheap and close to gay beach - but not worth the headache of dealing with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Solon0913
Business
Concord,California
Jul 3, 2013

Disaster under construction in a perfect location!

The first room was not acceptable,mold on the walls and paint bubbles on walls, musty moldy smell. The second room given to me after I complained was bigger and smelled better but the A/C did not work 80 percent of the time. I was awaken at approximate 0749 am by banging on my wall due to construction. The hotel is a disaster of noise, dirt and bad service by some of the staff. The hotel was 90 percent empty and had new rooms but none were offered. They kept us in the old rooms with old old old furniture and no working A/C. One night I slept at another place where the air worked. Found bugs in the bed, noise terrible all day from construction, dusty and no privacy since all the workers from construction would see in the room/terrace. Kenny and Miguel were the best of all the waiters and the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack....excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
trip to pvr
Business
wi
Mar 6, 2011

great place

very nice place close to everthing in pv would love to stay there again staff was awesome and very safe can't wait until next year to go thank you the blue chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2011

WARNING! THEY STOLE FROM MY ROOM

Hands down the worst experience of my life. Very precious stuff was stolen from my room. Cash and my engagement ring. When I whent to report it to the staff, they did not help me what so ever and then they implied that I was lying. When I asked for the general manager, [...], the staff stated that he was not coming because he was extremely busy. The next thing they told me was to go to the police station but they did not even offer me an addres nor assistance on how to get there. I waited for the manager for close to two hours and when he came down he was extremely annoyed, aggressive, and confrontational. This was the last thing I was expecting. When I asked him if he had found anything about shad had been stolen from me he said that it was none of the staff. I was the only one in the room and no one but me and there staff had access to the room so it was either me or my stuff mysteriously disappeared from the room. Draw your own conclusion but it does not take a roket scientist to figure out how the stuff disappeared. If you are planning on staying there my advise is that you don't and run away from these place as fast as you can and don't look back and spread the word so this does not happen to someone else. I filed a report with the police station, the us embassy, proffeco, and have an interview with a newspaper to publish my experience. I had booked the hotel for 5 nights but only stayed there for two and they did not even offer to refund my money. I went back in two different occasions to look for the manager and they finally told me that he was on vacation for the next 6 days. How convenient. This just makes me more suspicious. I will keep posting until management gives me an answer. Thank you for reading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
valleystyles
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 13, 2010

The Real Truth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As a single traveler in a new place no one even asked me if there was something they could do to make my stay enjoyable except to ask me if I wanted a hustler?????????? I will never go there again or recommend this to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hecda1
Business
dyer, IN
Aug 15, 2014

First time in Vallarta and Bad hotel choice

I'm writing because of our recent trip we took to Puerto Vallarta Mexico. I was very displeased with the entire stay, because of the construction that was going on everyday and very early in the morning. Our room was dusty, and shower rods were on the floor, and the hotel towels smelled. Construction workers were banging on the walls and were on our balcony yelling waking us up early morning. Aside from this issue the staff was very pleasant all around. But in the future if we had known that the hotel was in the middle of a renovation, we would have booked elsewhere. Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Paco's Ranch..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 16, 2010

Blue Chairs

The location is pretty good for the beach, a little bit of a trek for the bars or downtown. The rooms were clean, but a bit aged. There really was no hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 18, 2010

Definitely needs some TLC

The location was great and loved the beach service there. Unfortunately, the staff was less than friendly. Each morning there was construction going on one floor up that woke me before 8AM with jackhammering. Stucco was falling onto my balcony and a film of construction dust covered everything in my room. Spent a day without water, no WiFi as promised and everything was just run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boy from Phoenix
Business
Phoenix Az
Dec 17, 2009

Great location, not without problems.

Great location, but had many issues... Awaken before 9am daily to the sound of jackhammer and unending construction within the hotel. The door to the room had huge gaps and was not secure. There was no water pressure, shower would just trickle. Just outside the hotel door is a Vacation broker, "Elements tour and Travel" They stole $42.00 from me. [*] Would i stay again, most likely not... Location great, locals not great, they need to get some construction crews that no what they are doing and just be done with there projects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deltona Florida
Mar 28, 2010

Not worth it

This was my second stay here because I love the location. After this time I will not stay here anymore. I can stay next door at Blue Seas resort, or Hotel mercurio. Many maintenance issues that were never resolved.(phone, no water, A/C stopped working)Also, the hotel is under construction [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top