$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 193
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.1

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feelngood
Business
NYC
Apr 20, 2014

Poor Facility, poor service, poor food

Dated facilities, unotrganized staff who did the minimum. King suite was large but dated. Noisy as there was construction nearby, the noise levels on stairs was excessive due to traffic going to 6 floor bar and caberet area. Felt unsafe as anyone could walk off the street and through the hotel. Staff did not appear to be bothered. There are much better options nearby for the same price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mantamar beach club is nearby with a great deal on daypasses, food and service is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CALI BOYZ
Business
MONTEBELLO,CA
May 27, 2014

THE WORST HOTEL!!! TRAVELER BEWARE

SINCE ARRIVING TO BLUE CHAIRS ON MAY 20TH OUR EXPERIENCE WAS SHOCKING. THEY TOOK US TO THE ROOM AND WE WERE STUNNED THAT THE ROOM DID NOT MATCH THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE. ALOT OF SAND ON THE FLOOR, THE SHEETS WERE DIRTY, SMELLY AND STAINED. THE DOORS HAD TO BE PUSHED OPEN. THE TOILET DID NOT FLUSH. THE HOTEL WAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. IT LOOKED LIKE A WAR ZONE. THE SAFE IS AT THE RECEPTION DESK. IT IS NOT SECURE AT ALL. THE DOOR OF THE SAFE ARE MADE OF WOOD. ANYONE HAS ACCESS TO THE SAFE. NOT SECURE. THE ONLY REASON ALOT OF GAY PEOPLE LIKE THIS HOTEL IS BECAUSE ITS BEACH FRONT. THE HOTEL IS SUPER UGLY AND NASTY. YOU ARE BETTER OFF STAYING OFF THE BEACH FRONT OR RENTING A CONDO. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN EVEN IF THEY GAVE ME FREE NIGHTS. OMG WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY ABOUT OUR 5 NIGHT STAY. THE POOL IS HORRIBLE. THE RESTURANT WAS NOT SANITARY. IF YOU DONT ASK FOR THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST YOU WILL GET CHARGED. EVEN AFTER THEY SEE YOU THERE EVERYDAY. SO TO CONCLUDED THIS HOTEL WAS THE WORST PLACE IN VALLARTA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arabia
Business
Arizona
Jul 13, 2011

First and only stay at the Blue Chairs

As I have never been to Puerto Vallarta before, I wanted to stay in a gay friendly hotel. I researched my options and decided on the Blue Chairs Resort. I stayed there for over 8 days during the month of July. I was in the "ocean front" room, on the 4th floor. Mind you, I am not a "needy queen", and can survive just as easily in a fox hole as well as the wardoph astoria. I found this hotel to below standard on so many levels. 1. The water pressure to the shower was that of a small child spitting on you. (My friends had the same issues in their rooms). 2. The drain to the shower always backed up. 3. The toliet handle had to be held down for 10 seconds just to make sure the toliet flushed. 4. The one and only elevator was broken 80% of the time. 5. Stairwell covered in beetles and cockroaches. 6. Internet was not realiable. 7. Air-conditoner worked, but it was either, on or off, no way to adjust the temperature. 8. The roof top bar was OK, great view of the sunset, but same old thing every night, a few strippers pulling out their "members" for fat old men, who could not get laid with a blow up doll. 9. Hanging out by the beach was the best, but sometimes the service was slow. I sat close to the water alot. It would take the waiters along time to stop by to see what I wanted. I have and do tip alot, so I imagine they were just busy. However, I did see the waiters run up and try to entice women to sit on that location when they walked by. I can go on and on, but I would not stay here again, there are too many other choices. I found this hotel run downed, and nothing to offer its clients, except being close to the water. However, one can stay at a nicer hotel and still be close to the beach. I would visit PV in a hearbeat, I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diana's Cruise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sadtraveler
Business
Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Do not stay here

This hotel is nothing like you would expect. It is filthy, unsafe, the stuff in unfriendly, nothing works, there are mosquitoes in the rooms, the sheets were not clean, and i can go on forever. I had to leave after 1 night but since i prepaid, they refused to refund my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Middle Aged Gay Traveler
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 3, 2012

Below Average Gay Hotel

The staff is nice enough. The location is good but there is construction in front of the hotel that does and will further interfere with the views as it progresses. I had two different rooms due to maintenance problems in the first and even the second room. Multiple requests for attention to issues in the second room were not responded to. It is my understanding from some local residents that the hotel owners are not gay friendly and do not invest any money to maintain the hotel standards. Based on my experience, it appears to true. The only thing the hotel had going for it is the location on the gay beach. I would not recommend the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

All travel by taxi in the romantic zone is 40 pasco min. Cabs will often try to overcharge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerrbear1
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 15, 2013

LGBT vacation

The staff at the hotel was very nice. There were many problems - 1) Only one key for 2 of us and it took 4 days for us to get a second copy that worked. 2) Argument over room selection occurred- we had an email from reservations that we could have 2 double beds but upon arrival there was an argument about giving us a single King size bed. 3) Original room was musty. 4) The room we stayed in looked like the door had been busted in with 4 door jams needed to keep shut. Proximity to the beach was great. The happy hour on the 6th floor fantastic. The place looks like its undergoing major expansion so the problems may be temporary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
We Love PV
Business
Idaho
Mar 24, 2013

Location, location nothing special otherwise

The hotel is in a great location, nothing to write home about, construction begins next door around 8am and banging all day. Andre the bar manager upstairs was beyond amazing. He gave us the best service in PV all while managing his staff and the entertainment. Give that man a raise. This was our third time but probably our last for Blue Chairs. Condos seem to be a better value and are really close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack for Dinner, 5 pepper steak was amazing. The Swedes for breakfast. Dee's for morning coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NaeNaeNOLA
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 9, 2013

Needs Some Major Improvements

This was my third stay at Blue Chairs, and I really, really wanted to rave about it. Unfortunately, there are some significant improvements that need to happen to bring this property back up to the level it once enjoyed. Aside from the non-working elevator, the lack of water pressure in the shower, the scarcity of hot water at certain times of the day, and the need to keep a toilet plunger close at hand, the hotel is currently experiencing a lot of noise from a major construction project going on directly next door. The rooms are rather cramped and Spartan in their decor, and it is very easy to hear the goings on in adjacent rooms. Based on the dated quality of the amenities, I have to admit that this property is overpriced. You can't beat its location and proximity to the gay beach in Vallarta, but there is some much needed upkeep that seems to have been overlooked in years past that will make it harder and harder for this hotel to continue to draw discerning gay travelers as newer, more modern properties pop up in the area. This was my second visit within 2 years' time during which the elevator was out of service for most or all of my stay, and my second experience with the poor plumbing as well. On the bright side, the staff are very friendly and exceedingly helpful. The food is good, if a bit pricey. Unfortunately, I fear that this year's visit will have been my last. There are just too many better options with higher quality amenities and comparable pricing to continue my love affair with the Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't limit yourself to the handful of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. There are some great places to eat just a few blocks away from the beach in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Business
Las Vegas NV
Oct 5, 2013

Great staff!!!!

The location is fabulous!!! the staff is amazing! I wish I can take every single one and bring them here to Las Vegas and work here and show the people in the hotel industry how to treat a costumer!!. however the hotel haven't change since I went there in 2008!!! the towels are so bad, the mattress and the pillows are really old! But again I will stay just for the staff and the location!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Palapa great restaurant! close to the hotel and very friendly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim from Sac
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 12, 2013

Great location but can be better

Aside from the great location and very helpful and friendly staff, the hotel needs a major update. I was lucky enough to have a very nice view and balcony but the chair in the balcony had rust and the drain from the balcony above me is dripping on to my balcony area. There is expansion and construction going on so its not that clean. The drinks at the 6th floor bar is expensive and not that good (run down). The food in the restaurant by the beach is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For Gay travelers, La Noche Bar has a great roof top. Wet Dreams has good looking Go-Go boys. Cafe de Olla has very good Mexican food. La Bohemia has very good international cuisine with a mexican twist. Joe Jack's Fish Shack has very good grilled food (try the grilled octopus) and they have a rooftop seating. There is a Fajita place on Basilio Badillo which serves great fajitas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top