$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
192 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 192
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bony1uk
Business
Los Angeles - CA
Dec 1, 2011

STAY AWAY

If you are thinking to have good nights sleep while you staying there forget it. Music until midnight and hotel construction from 8 am makes it impossible to enjoy your stay. I called the front desk 5 times and they said I have to talk to the manager but she was never there. There all plenty of cheaper and better hotels in the area. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
markjeff13
Business
South Pasadena FLORIDA
Nov 10, 2009

blue chairs beach resort

The hotel shut the water off every night and you had to call the front desk in the morning to have it reset. We were unable to flush the toilet or shower each morning. On the bright side the staff was extremely friendly. We weren't offered any type of discount for our inconvenience though. Upon checkin we were also told that what we paid through [...] didn't cover our room and we would have to pay an extra $112.00.Also the staff couldn't find a key to our room and when they did there was only one. Every day we had to leave it at the front desk so the maid could clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 3, 2008

owner to cheap for repairs

simple repairs such as changing a wore out pluged up shower head could make a huge differnce, but sadly never done... then we were not warned their was constuction going on starting at 8am... just what i wanted while on vacation waking up at 8am to hearing tile saws...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alexzohan
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 3, 2009

Do Not Stay Here

I just returned from my trip to the Blue Chairs and wanted to post this word of caution. The hotel over booked guests all weekend, and sent the over booked guests to some 1- star, flee bag motel along the highway 30 minutes outside of Puerto Vallarta. When we finally got our room at the Blue Chairs,( A day Later ) it was in my opinion a scam run by straight hustlers. They have not put a single dime into that hotel. The room had the ambiance of a Mexican Jail Cell and the resort itself was not much better. The TV in the room is broke, most light bulbs are burnt out and the light bulbs they do have are the ugly florescent type that help promote the Mexican Jail Cell ambiance. Most of the Gay people in Puerto Vallarta stayed at better priced condo’s in the area and had a better experience. The worst thing about the Blue Chairs is they almost make it impossible to meet and socialize with other visitors. They opened the roof top bar and crammed hundreds of people up there you could not breath, then they had some stripper come out and dance and allowed you to put a dollar in his under ware and then closed the bar and sent everyone home. We tried to go to the roof after the big Money Grab and it was locked up. If you going to Puerto Vallarta, stay at a nice condo in the same area. If you already booked the Blue Chairs, drink lots of tequila and bring lots of small bills. I hope Orbits stop Booking those guys !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Disgusted

I went here with my best friend for a week and was excited about the location -- that was all that was worthwhile about this place. Without a doubt, this is the worst place I have ever stayed in. Had I not booked the package prior (along with airfare), and paid less than $75/night for an oceanview room, we would have left after the first night.The staff was useless. I found used gum on my plate when I ordered lunch on the beach and there was never an apology and the waiter was hardly surprised. An unauthorized charge was made to the room, and the clerk tried to urge me to pay it anyway. He was not surprised or apologetic. The service on the beach was nonexistent. You had to actively search for waiters, and when you paid your bill, they would check their tip in front of you and make their opinion known. The floors in the room were filthy, and were not cleaned for the duration of our stay.The mattress covers were stained.The plumbing was backed up and the room smelled like [*] for most of the days. The water pressure was nonexistent. On our last day, the toilets didn't flush and there was no hot water.The air conditioner was noisy and squirted water all over me during the night. In fact, the maid put all the pillows out on the balcony to dry them off. The floors were never clean, and the toiletries were never replaced.There was construction next door.There was construction on the roof and at the pool and for the most of the time, they restricted access to the roof and the pool, except for the nightly go-go dancer/drag show they had each night. (To their credit, the drag show was great.)All of the guests that we spoke to complained about the same issues. In fact, it became an ongoing joke. My friend and I just rolled with it and laughed it off for lack of other options. But we will NEVER stay here again. If I knew there was a chance in hell in getting a refund, I would do so, but considering I was even asked to pay for services I never asked for, I won't hold my breath.The only positive is the location -- it's walking distance from everything, and the views are stunning[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely do a booze cruise while you're there. It was a blast. DO NOT DO the "Eco Tour"/"Canopy Tour" to El Eden...it is a scam and a complete waste of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sebastieneysatyahoodotcom
Business
usa
Nov 7, 2014

location location location

Great Location and Nice Stuff and if you expecting more don't stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

la palapa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weeza
Business
MO
Apr 10, 2013

Poorly maintained hotel on a great beach

Hotel is rundown and dirty. The interior and exterior has been neglected. The basic amenities were missing or broken. The view is great. The beach area is great with good service from the beach bar staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 18, 2010

Great location, but it could be better

Right at the gay beach, they have a rooftop bar with shows every night. All the nightclubs and bars are within walking distance, which makes it a very convenient location overall. Now the thing about it is the fact not all rooms are updated, they are more on the shabby side. And the service is uneven, towels may be missing from the room, specials may be quotes in different print materials differently. No safe boxes in the room, but they do have some wooden lockers by the front desk, not the safest place for your passports, but we didn't have a problem. Staff is very friendly and try their best to serve the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fish Shack. A great place for fish tacos, super friendly staff and mojitos are 2x1 noon-5. Tapas Barcelona is a long walk, or a cab ride but it's well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Over the Hard Part
Business
Houston, Tx
Mar 5, 2009

Located Nicely - Poorly equiped

This hotel is not for you if you're looking for any pampering at all. The service staff is nice/accomodating, but this place is rough around the edges. The beach is terribly small, the pool is not really a pool, and the rooms are very badly out-dated. The scene is right for lgbt, but I would have rather visted this place once and stayed at a much finer hotel. I'm used to Mexico and have traveled here often, but this hotel will not be part of any future plans. Although you will be proximate to the "GLBT area" of PV, you will no doubt miss having a pool. I would have rather stayed at straight accomodations with a bigger beach, a tiki bar, a swim-up bar, and a large refreshing pool. You will not find this at the Blue Chairs. You will find a very nice staff who are willing to help you get what you need. You will find a great neighborhood full of fun bars and clubs, but you will not find creature comforts for the more experienced traveler. Be careful and be ready when booking at the Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Puerto Vallarta
Business
Minneapolis
May 27, 2010

Puerto Vallarta great place great people

WE MESSED UP......... We stayed at the Blue Chairs in Dec 2009. At that time there was loud construction going on early morning til evening. We also had a problem with the shower and air conditioner. We did end up having to change rooms. We decided to try it again when we went back in May 2010 ......big mistake. Still had remodeling going on (not quite as bad) But the worst was yet to come. The drain in the shower was messed up and the only way to keep the smell from coming into the room was to place a wet towel over the drain. It also took at least 30 minutes for the toilet to refill so it could be flushed again. Theres more..........three times during the week we were without water. I mean NO water in our room for several hours a couple times. If not for the location this place wouldn't have much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of great eating places make sure you try a lot of different places........Freddy Tucans for breakfast( excellent service) Nacho Daddies for burritos and Margaretta Grill for the food drinks and very friendly staff.....tell [...] we said HI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top