$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
192 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 192
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mexican expatriate
Business
Vancouver BC
Nov 28, 2011

Mediocre service, too expensive , great location...Saw Perez Hilton!

Well....the staff is friendly but not very efficient. Took them a while to provide me with a safety box. No towels for a day and no beach towels for 2 days.Bar some time charged 1 buck more per drink...Pto vallarta is fantastic and fun for gay people all over the world.....beautiful and fllirty people for all tastes all the time...only one key for 2 guests? dumb policy....extra charge if you invite some one? like is not enough to pay 130 per night?...no breakfast offered....next time I will go to a neighbouring hotel and just go there for the bach experience....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Diana's gay cruise is fun !!!....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D.C.H.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2013

The Decline of the Blue Chairs Hotel

We have just ended our fourth vacation at the Blue Chairs Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, and this will be our last. Over the past few years Blue Chairs Hotel has gotten progressively worse. This year was the absolute worst. The hotel is so poorly managed that there is a constant mix-up at the front desk. A year earlier, for our 2011 holiday reservations, we reserved the "Jr. Suite" which we had had in the past. We made those reservations on January 3, 2011, asking for assurances that we would get Room 301 -- the Jr. Suite. It was guaranteed. Then when arriving on December 27, 2011, we were told that there was a mix-up and the room had been given to somebody else. During that stay, Blue Chairs had charged for two more days than we were staying, but they would not reverse the charges for those unused days. Instead, they gave us a card saying that we would have a "credit" of 3,700 pesos if used within one year. When we asked to use that credit this year, I was astonished that they wanted to deny our use of that. In a word, the Blue Chairs management is dysfunctional and ineffective. The locaton of Blue Chairs is excellent, but there are many other lodging accommodations in that immediate area which are available for the same or much less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diana Cubana
Business
Glendale, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Great Beach Location - Bad Service!

The only thing we liked was that it is super close to the beach area we like. You get what you pay for....bad towel service. They take your towels & wash them, then bring them back. We got beach towels only once & had to reuse them the entire stay. Overall...not the best place to stay if you're looking for at least mediocre service. Wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1)From airport, negotiate w/taxis & pay only $20 to the hotel. 2) Negotiate with local taxis for your trip back to the airport. 3)Pack light, try to do carry-on only as most airlines now have bag check fees! Ugh! 4) Wear comfy shoes - lots of cobblestone roads

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cranky gay
Business
Vancouver
Jan 3, 2011

Very poor room and cleanliness

The room we had was very poor (avoid x07 rooms) though I know others were in better shape. We booked an ocean view and were put elsewhere. Very dirty and worn out, bare wires hanging from the ceilings, worn out furniture. No coat hanger to hang anything, shower door broken.... the list goes on. They even screwed up the reservation and didn't have our last night booked despite a phone call for confirm. Stay somewhere else, even if you're gay. It'll send a message.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay part of the beach right out front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Apr 12, 2010

So bad we left early

Had it not been for the fact that we were able to find nicer accoodations, our trip would have bee a disaster. This place would be great for younger crowd on a budjet who are only there to party. Fuzzy TV, intermittant WiFI. Very Loud, Don't let the roof top pool fool you, it's not used by guests, just there for looks I guess, so they can say they have one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the beach there was a place called the El Dorado, Very good food and great ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
May 12, 2008

Terrible Service, Rooms in very poor condition

The Blue Chairs resort has many rooms in bad condition. Our room, that included a kitchenette, had a very dirty sink and a very leaky refrigerator that created a huge puddle in the center of our room. When we complained about this, they told us they would clean it up immediately. We stepped out for a couple of hours to give them time and it was never taken care of. We were not offered another room. We chose to leave the hotel entirely and found a new place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Mar 4, 2009

Not recommended at all unless......

Not recommended at all unless....you don't mind staying at a cheap run down motel with ocean views close to a gay beach hot spot. Where do I begin? Fair warning, this review is rather lengthy, so if you only read up to here, avoid this dump. I was an optimist who thought I could enjoy any place by the beach, especially an all gay hotel, right? No. It was completely downhill from the beginning. My vacation attitude transformed to an irate frustrated traveler. Upon check-in, the guy at the counter stopped assisting me every time someone came to ask for a towel or some other incidental. When he finally found my reservation, he didn't know whether my Ocean front junior suite was available. Here's where the fun started. I'll give you the summary, so as to avoid writin an essay here. I was given keys to three different room, all of which were occupied, some with guests actually in their rooms. And just to give you an insider's tip from someone who's seen the inside of three of this motel's, not hotel's, rooms, their rooms were very run down and left you with a dirty feeling just by being in it. It's sort of the icky feeling you get if you've ever walked into an old broken down last resort motel on the side of a dirt road. The locks on the doors are flimsy (no inside deadbolts) and the rooms had no safe, another reason to not want to stay here. Anyhow, the whole situation was exacerbated by the fact that the front desk clerk and the manager on duty were completely apathetic to my situation, even after not having the room I had booked. In fairnes, they did offer me a downgrade for a slight discount. But in all honesty, after seeing the inside of their rooms, that was my ticket out. The one good thing I will say about this hotel is it's location. The view from the hideous rooms is amazing when booking an full ocean view. And it is located right next to the hottest gay beach spot. My suggestion, though, is stay somewhere close by instead and then walk to the Blue Chairs beach area. Side note: I asked them to help me get a room someplace else, and they said all the hotels were booked and that they couldn't help me. Luckily, I had my trusty laptop and went straight to -- directly to Orbitz and booked another room at a beautifil hotel next door that was also very gay friendly, The Blue Seas, I believe. They were able to get me a really nice room there at a comparable rate. It was a happy ending to my miserable beginning. Again, my suggestion is avoid this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I booked the taxi through Orbitz and it was really nice to have them arrange your transportation in Puerto Vallarta. No haggling or hassling trying to round up a taxi for yourself. FYI: Skip the promotional counter when you first get out of the airport luggage area. That's not part of your transportation arrangement. It's an excursion sales pitch. Oh, and buy an international calling card if your cell phone doesn't have service. Hotels charge a lot extra to call from the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Palm Springs Couple
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Unfriendly staff during construction

This was meant to be a relaxing vacation for me and my partner. What it turned into was constant noise, and rude and untrained staff. We knew going in that Puerto Vallarta in August had its limitations, due to some businesses closed and high humidity, but what we did not expect was to be staying in a hotel with constant hammering, tile saws, and jackhammers, sometimes until 9pm at night, and starting as early as 8am. The staff was also less helpful and never apologetic about any of the inconveniences that this offered. After 3 days of hell, Orbitz was kind enough to help us move our stay to another gay location. It is unfortunate because maybe we would have returned someday to the beachside resort, but we will never return to them at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife starts late, so if you want to have some fun at nightclubs, pace yourself with an afternoon siesta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 3, 2008

Great location, poor room

The Blue Chairs has one thing going for it - a great location. However, as much as I love Puerto Vallarta, I will not ever stay at the Chairs again. The room was dirty with probably one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. There is no internet capability in the room. Fortunately, you don't spend much of your time in the room. The roof top bar is great fun as is the Blue Chairs beach itself. My partner and I plan to return to PV next year, but we'll probably rent a condo instead somewhere in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay with standards
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 22, 2010

Not all its cracked up to be

First let me start out by saying the hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. That said, the hotel is not all is is cracked up to be. 1) The picture of the room we booked and what we ended up with were not even close. 2) Our first room was on the 5th Floor and the ceiling leaked in two places. When we were later moved into a room on the third floor the air conditioner leaked onto the floor in that room as well. Even after the maintenance man repaired the AC it still dripped. 3) The elevator broke down on the second day of our stay and did not work again for the remainder of our 10 days there. 4) We awoke from napping one afternoon to find someone in our room. They stole an Ipod and ran out the door. 5) The "in room" internet did not work until the 7th day of our stay, after numerous reports to the hotel staff. 6) Housekeeping staff reminded us daily that we needed to go to the bank so that we could leave them a tip. We are accustomed to leaving a tip at the end of our hotel stays not pay as you go. 7) Repeatedly had to ask for the in room coffee, housekeeper frequently did not leave any. The location of this property is great and we enjoyed our excursions. I would caution anyone considering a booking at this hotel to NOT have much in the way of expectations of the property. Caveat Emptor. There are several properties in the same area which may bear looking into. If we had not already prepaid for our stay we would definately have moved to another hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a lot to do in Puerto Vallarta from an excursion prospective. The food is great and the shopping is varied and interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top