$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
191 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Salvador
Dallas
Dec 31, 2012

Party Warning!

The too loud music from the bar housed in the hotel was an intrusion on any any attempts to get early and restful sleep or to experience any quiet moments with the sounds of the ocean at night. I had to wait until the bar closed and the music was silenced before strolling and appreciating the night magic along the the beach @ at night for those special moments we yearn and search for when one is on vacation. A notification that the bar closed a 11pm would have been greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Mar 10, 2010

Great Location for the Gay Traveller

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr K
San Francisco, California
Aug 14, 2011

Great location

The drawing card is the location---practically on the beach. With the patio door open you can hear the sound of the ocean waves and feel the breeze blowing gently. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable. It takes a while for the water to heat up in the shower but once it gets hot its ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant(s) is tasty. Overall, a decent value. I would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles California
Jan 25, 2010

Great location bad service

When I arrived I was given a room that had no phone,a refrigerator that made a loud noise when it turned on, the room smelled of bug spray,the room was located in the back and very noisy. I had a whole in my bathroom wall big enough to put your head through that you can look outside. No instructions on how to use your phone or any services the hotel had to offer. I had requested a room change and that room was much better. They do not supply hair dryers nore irons. If you ask the front desk any questions on where any bars are or any gay activities there clueless. Their also straight, so is alot of the staff that works there. I would think that a gay property would hire gay people to work the front desk because they would be able to relate to the client. On the bright side, it's location is great and they do have remodeled rooms and they are very nice. Overall I give this hotel a C- or three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, and entertainment are a short distance away. Also, write on a piece of paper or save in your phone, numbers of your credit cards/debit cards in case it gets lost or stolen. It is very difficult to get any help if you do not have these numbers on you.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duro Explorer
Long Island, NY
Jan 27, 2010

Worry Free Vacation

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The service staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't be able to write enough things about them. When I return to PV, I would stay at a different place only because I like to try out different things. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in being right on the beach and at the center of early evening gay life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island New York
Oct 14, 2010

In-expensive get-away

The hotel staff seemed friendly and helpful. Just not crazy about the town of Puerta Vallarta. Nice rooms, a little on the 'cold' (decorating wise) side. The CONSTANT annoying people that come up to you on the beach really detracts from the otherwise enjoyable beach experience. The hotel is truly right on the beach. I think I would have rather have stayed in a nicer hotel and just walked to the beach though. There are a lot of nicer destinations I would rather go to. I certainlly would not return to Puerta Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are some great restaurants within walking distance. try some local Mexican food.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DTWdoc
Detroit
Feb 28, 2010

Perfectly Passable

Blue Chairs is a great party hotel. It's at the epicenter of gay PVR and accomplishes what it means to very well. The rooms, albeit small, are clean and the maid does a good job. There is no in room safe (it's in the lobby) and hot water takes awhile to get going. Honestly though, if you're a young, gay guy looking for a fun time and you are looking for cheap accomodation this is a good spot. The one real downside is that happy hour is on the rooftop between 5 and 8 or so and it's loud, hard to get rest before you go out at night. There are much nicer accomodations in the area, but if you want to literally walk out of the hotel and be right on the gay beach, stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Barcelona Tapas

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uoftexgreg95
San Francisco, CA
Aug 4, 2013

Not the lap of luxury, but a fun place to stay

This was the first time I had vacationed alone so I wanted to pick a gay hotel to meet like minded people. I thought the staff was nice but at times a little over bearing. When informing me of my total tab for the beach and bar areas one day, one of the front desk people informed me that I "drank alot". I informed him that his staff "drank alot too" and it was on MY tab. Other than that, the staff was nice and friendly. The beach area was fun and I met a ton of fun people. The bar and grill staff at both the beach bar and upstairs bar are super nice. The room are big, but a bit dated. I wouldn't call them comfortable but there okay. The furniture is pretty rickety in the rooms but the wifi worked which was important to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denco
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great gay hotel

Not a mega resort and not like an American hotel....exactly what we were looking for. Fantastic service from the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Coco's Kitchen for amazing food and service. Wonderful breakfast selections and an incredibly good dinner menu.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martinscorp
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Location and staff were great but the room left something to be desired

Great location, great staff. However, I was placed in a room just a few steps down from the bar and so it was rather noisy during the times the bar had a show going on. Furthermore, the WiFi that was offered was very spotty and I had difficulties getting a strong connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search