$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Puerto Vallarta
Business
Minneapolis
May 27, 2010

Puerto Vallarta great place great people

WE MESSED UP......... We stayed at the Blue Chairs in Dec 2009. At that time there was loud construction going on early morning til evening. We also had a problem with the shower and air conditioner. We did end up having to change rooms. We decided to try it again when we went back in May 2010 ......big mistake. Still had remodeling going on (not quite as bad) But the worst was yet to come. The drain in the shower was messed up and the only way to keep the smell from coming into the room was to place a wet towel over the drain. It also took at least 30 minutes for the toilet to refill so it could be flushed again. Theres more..........three times during the week we were without water. I mean NO water in our room for several hours a couple times. If not for the location this place wouldn't have much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of great eating places make sure you try a lot of different places........Freddy Tucans for breakfast( excellent service) Nacho Daddies for burritos and Margaretta Grill for the food drinks and very friendly staff.....tell [...] we said HI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Virgo68
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 2, 2010

BeefDip 2010

This was not worth $120.00 per night. They had no iron for my going out clothes. The restaurant nickel and dimes you for food and drinks, the chairs on the hotel beach go to the ones who pay for them, not for the guest of the hotel! I'll be staying at the Tropicana next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't do the para-sailing ride with the white boat, choose the brown boat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cezdent
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Mar 15, 2011

Disappointed

The hotel would have been okay if it wasn't for one completely unacceptable thing. You are a prisoner in your own hotel room. They CHARGE for bringing friends over....unbelivable. It'd be justified if it was "all-inclusive" but it's not. For that reason, I will never go to that place again. Also, the beach front restaurant is very sloppy, there isn't any management in place. Certain individual staff were very nice and tried to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of beach activities close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill Fair and Honest
Business
Dayton, OH
Oct 24, 2010

Location was good, hotel was not

The location was great; however, the property is in desperate need of some TLC. No working elevator, hot water in our sink did not work, light in our bathroom wasn't working until the last two days. You also need to watch very carefully what gets charged to your room. Some of the staff are not as honest as they should be. Several times we had to correct what they charged us for food and beverage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great little restaurants within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June2014
Business
USA
Jun 25, 2014

June 2014

Staff are quite helpful and the location is impossible to improve, but the hotel is run down and needs lots of improving. Constuction does not help either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAI N.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

No Hot Water

Location is great, they need to work on some basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martinscorp
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Location and staff were great but the room left something to be desired

Great location, great staff. However, I was placed in a room just a few steps down from the bar and so it was rather noisy during the times the bar had a show going on. Furthermore, the WiFi that was offered was very spotty and I had difficulties getting a strong connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denco
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great gay hotel

Not a mega resort and not like an American hotel....exactly what we were looking for. Fantastic service from the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Coco's Kitchen for amazing food and service. Wonderful breakfast selections and an incredibly good dinner menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuckyJD79
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

First time in PV.

My expectations were low after reading a lot of the reviews. As a thirty something traveling solo, I found everything to be adequate and the staff extremely friendly. I billed three food/bar transactions to my room and I was charged properly. They didn't hesitate to give me the 10% discount on room charges that was advertised as part of my package. The requirement to wear a wristband is understandable given some of the security issues they mentioned (items being stolen by visitors). It was a little funky that I couldn't show my friends my room without paying a visitor fee. There is also a fee for having someone over for the night. This seems to be a common practice at the surrounding hotels. The experience was pleasant, but after learning the area, I'd consider staying somewhere else. You don't need to be on the beach, and as a local bar owner mentioned, they seem to be riding on their reputation for being the first gay resort on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the newly opened "Si Senor" restaurant on the beach. The food was delicious and thanks to the exchange rate the prices were very low. Our server Eduardo was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Close but not quite there

This hotel is located beachside and has a terrific view of the ocean from most every room. The staff is very friendly and attempts to be helpful but they often fall short. People often overcrowd the elevator so it is breaks each day. Essential items you take for granted (like working coffeemakers, hairdryer in your room, iron, etc.) all have to be checked out at the front desk (coffee is free the first day and not afterward?). We had some light bulbs out in our room and were told they don't have any replacements? Also you have to wear a wrist band during your entire stay and I'm still not certain why as the hotel is available to anyone until 11 p.m. because of their rooftop bar hours. All and all we met some really nice people there and enjoyed our stay. With a little more attentiveness to simple creature comforts this place could easily become competitive with the condos nearby because of the great location. Oh and the beds are very comfortable, which is not always the case at other places I've stayed in Mexico. The rooftop bar was LOUD so the ocean had to compete, but often lost that battle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LaPalapa has great food but you pay the price. For 8 pecos you can buy the brunch at Tropacana complete with juice, coffee, cereal, fruit and plenty of meat and egg selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top