$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
312 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay with standards
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 22, 2010

Not all its cracked up to be

First let me start out by saying the hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. That said, the hotel is not all is is cracked up to be. 1) The picture of the room we booked and what we ended up with were not even close. 2) Our first room was on the 5th Floor and the ceiling leaked in two places. When we were later moved into a room on the third floor the air conditioner leaked onto the floor in that room as well. Even after the maintenance man repaired the AC it still dripped. 3) The elevator broke down on the second day of our stay and did not work again for the remainder of our 10 days there. 4) We awoke from napping one afternoon to find someone in our room. They stole an Ipod and ran out the door. 5) The "in room" internet did not work until the 7th day of our stay, after numerous reports to the hotel staff. 6) Housekeeping staff reminded us daily that we needed to go to the bank so that we could leave them a tip. We are accustomed to leaving a tip at the end of our hotel stays not pay as you go. 7) Repeatedly had to ask for the in room coffee, housekeeper frequently did not leave any. The location of this property is great and we enjoyed our excursions. I would caution anyone considering a booking at this hotel to NOT have much in the way of expectations of the property. Caveat Emptor. There are several properties in the same area which may bear looking into. If we had not already prepaid for our stay we would definately have moved to another hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a lot to do in Puerto Vallarta from an excursion prospective. The food is great and the shopping is varied and interesting.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arabia
Arizona
Jul 13, 2011

First and only stay at the Blue Chairs

As I have never been to Puerto Vallarta before, I wanted to stay in a gay friendly hotel. I researched my options and decided on the Blue Chairs Resort. I stayed there for over 8 days during the month of July. I was in the "ocean front" room, on the 4th floor. Mind you, I am not a "needy queen", and can survive just as easily in a fox hole as well as the wardoph astoria. I found this hotel to below standard on so many levels. 1. The water pressure to the shower was that of a small child spitting on you. (My friends had the same issues in their rooms). 2. The drain to the shower always backed up. 3. The toliet handle had to be held down for 10 seconds just to make sure the toliet flushed. 4. The one and only elevator was broken 80% of the time. 5. Stairwell covered in beetles and cockroaches. 6. Internet was not realiable. 7. Air-conditoner worked, but it was either, on or off, no way to adjust the temperature. 8. The roof top bar was OK, great view of the sunset, but same old thing every night, a few strippers pulling out their "members" for fat old men, who could not get laid with a blow up doll. 9. Hanging out by the beach was the best, but sometimes the service was slow. I sat close to the water alot. It would take the waiters along time to stop by to see what I wanted. I have and do tip alot, so I imagine they were just busy. However, I did see the waiters run up and try to entice women to sit on that location when they walked by. I can go on and on, but I would not stay here again, there are too many other choices. I found this hotel run downed, and nothing to offer its clients, except being close to the water. However, one can stay at a nicer hotel and still be close to the beach. I would visit PV in a hearbeat, I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diana's Cruise

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fargo, ND
Mar 3, 2008

Great location, poor room

The Blue Chairs has one thing going for it - a great location. However, as much as I love Puerto Vallarta, I will not ever stay at the Chairs again. The room was dirty with probably one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. There is no internet capability in the room. Fortunately, you don't spend much of your time in the room. The roof top bar is great fun as is the Blue Chairs beach itself. My partner and I plan to return to PV next year, but we'll probably rent a condo instead somewhere in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diana Cubana
Glendale, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Great Beach Location - Bad Service!

The only thing we liked was that it is super close to the beach area we like. You get what you pay for....bad towel service. They take your towels & wash them, then bring them back. We got beach towels only once & had to reuse them the entire stay. Overall...not the best place to stay if you're looking for at least mediocre service. Wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1)From airport, negotiate w/taxis & pay only $20 to the hotel. 2) Negotiate with local taxis for your trip back to the airport. 3)Pack light, try to do carry-on only as most airlines now have bag check fees! Ugh! 4) Wear comfy shoes - lots of cobblestone roads

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
trip to pvr
wi
Mar 6, 2011

great place

very nice place close to everthing in pv would love to stay there again staff was awesome and very safe can't wait until next year to go thank you the blue chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Palm Springs Couple
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Unfriendly staff during construction

This was meant to be a relaxing vacation for me and my partner. What it turned into was constant noise, and rude and untrained staff. We knew going in that Puerto Vallarta in August had its limitations, due to some businesses closed and high humidity, but what we did not expect was to be staying in a hotel with constant hammering, tile saws, and jackhammers, sometimes until 9pm at night, and starting as early as 8am. The staff was also less helpful and never apologetic about any of the inconveniences that this offered. After 3 days of hell, Orbitz was kind enough to help us move our stay to another gay location. It is unfortunate because maybe we would have returned someday to the beachside resort, but we will never return to them at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife starts late, so if you want to have some fun at nightclubs, pace yourself with an afternoon siesta.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feelngood
NYC
Apr 20, 2014

Poor Facility, poor service, poor food

Dated facilities, unotrganized staff who did the minimum. King suite was large but dated. Noisy as there was construction nearby, the noise levels on stairs was excessive due to traffic going to 6 floor bar and caberet area. Felt unsafe as anyone could walk off the street and through the hotel. Staff did not appear to be bothered. There are much better options nearby for the same price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mantamar beach club is nearby with a great deal on daypasses, food and service is great.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Nov 3, 2008

owner to cheap for repairs

simple repairs such as changing a wore out pluged up shower head could make a huge differnce, but sadly never done... then we were not warned their was constuction going on starting at 8am... just what i wanted while on vacation waking up at 8am to hearing tile saws...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
trip to pvr
wi
Mar 6, 2011

great place

very nice place close to everthing in pv would love to stay there again staff was awesome and very safe can't wait until next year to go thank you the blue chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
May 12, 2008

Terrible Service, Rooms in very poor condition

The Blue Chairs resort has many rooms in bad condition. Our room, that included a kitchenette, had a very dirty sink and a very leaky refrigerator that created a huge puddle in the center of our room. When we complained about this, they told us they would clean it up immediately. We stepped out for a couple of hours to give them time and it was never taken care of. We were not offered another room. We chose to leave the hotel entirely and found a new place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top