$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
markjeff13
Business
South Pasadena FLORIDA
Nov 10, 2009

blue chairs beach resort

The hotel shut the water off every night and you had to call the front desk in the morning to have it reset. We were unable to flush the toilet or shower each morning. On the bright side the staff was extremely friendly. We weren't offered any type of discount for our inconvenience though. Upon checkin we were also told that what we paid through [...] didn't cover our room and we would have to pay an extra $112.00.Also the staff couldn't find a key to our room and when they did there was only one. Every day we had to leave it at the front desk so the maid could clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cranky gay
Business
Vancouver
Jan 3, 2011

Very poor room and cleanliness

The room we had was very poor (avoid x07 rooms) though I know others were in better shape. We booked an ocean view and were put elsewhere. Very dirty and worn out, bare wires hanging from the ceilings, worn out furniture. No coat hanger to hang anything, shower door broken.... the list goes on. They even screwed up the reservation and didn't have our last night booked despite a phone call for confirm. Stay somewhere else, even if you're gay. It'll send a message.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay part of the beach right out front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Apr 12, 2010

So bad we left early

Had it not been for the fact that we were able to find nicer accoodations, our trip would have bee a disaster. This place would be great for younger crowd on a budjet who are only there to party. Fuzzy TV, intermittant WiFI. Very Loud, Don't let the roof top pool fool you, it's not used by guests, just there for looks I guess, so they can say they have one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the beach there was a place called the El Dorado, Very good food and great ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 3, 2008

owner to cheap for repairs

simple repairs such as changing a wore out pluged up shower head could make a huge differnce, but sadly never done... then we were not warned their was constuction going on starting at 8am... just what i wanted while on vacation waking up at 8am to hearing tile saws...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
May 12, 2008

Terrible Service, Rooms in very poor condition

The Blue Chairs resort has many rooms in bad condition. Our room, that included a kitchenette, had a very dirty sink and a very leaky refrigerator that created a huge puddle in the center of our room. When we complained about this, they told us they would clean it up immediately. We stepped out for a couple of hours to give them time and it was never taken care of. We were not offered another room. We chose to leave the hotel entirely and found a new place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Mar 4, 2009

Not recommended at all unless......

Not recommended at all unless....you don't mind staying at a cheap run down motel with ocean views close to a gay beach hot spot. Where do I begin? Fair warning, this review is rather lengthy, so if you only read up to here, avoid this dump. I was an optimist who thought I could enjoy any place by the beach, especially an all gay hotel, right? No. It was completely downhill from the beginning. My vacation attitude transformed to an irate frustrated traveler. Upon check-in, the guy at the counter stopped assisting me every time someone came to ask for a towel or some other incidental. When he finally found my reservation, he didn't know whether my Ocean front junior suite was available. Here's where the fun started. I'll give you the summary, so as to avoid writin an essay here. I was given keys to three different room, all of which were occupied, some with guests actually in their rooms. And just to give you an insider's tip from someone who's seen the inside of three of this motel's, not hotel's, rooms, their rooms were very run down and left you with a dirty feeling just by being in it. It's sort of the icky feeling you get if you've ever walked into an old broken down last resort motel on the side of a dirt road. The locks on the doors are flimsy (no inside deadbolts) and the rooms had no safe, another reason to not want to stay here. Anyhow, the whole situation was exacerbated by the fact that the front desk clerk and the manager on duty were completely apathetic to my situation, even after not having the room I had booked. In fairnes, they did offer me a downgrade for a slight discount. But in all honesty, after seeing the inside of their rooms, that was my ticket out. The one good thing I will say about this hotel is it's location. The view from the hideous rooms is amazing when booking an full ocean view. And it is located right next to the hottest gay beach spot. My suggestion, though, is stay somewhere close by instead and then walk to the Blue Chairs beach area. Side note: I asked them to help me get a room someplace else, and they said all the hotels were booked and that they couldn't help me. Luckily, I had my trusty laptop and went straight to -- directly to Orbitz and booked another room at a beautifil hotel next door that was also very gay friendly, The Blue Seas, I believe. They were able to get me a really nice room there at a comparable rate. It was a happy ending to my miserable beginning. Again, my suggestion is avoid this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I booked the taxi through Orbitz and it was really nice to have them arrange your transportation in Puerto Vallarta. No haggling or hassling trying to round up a taxi for yourself. FYI: Skip the promotional counter when you first get out of the airport luggage area. That's not part of your transportation arrangement. It's an excursion sales pitch. Oh, and buy an international calling card if your cell phone doesn't have service. Hotels charge a lot extra to call from the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Palm Springs Couple
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Unfriendly staff during construction

This was meant to be a relaxing vacation for me and my partner. What it turned into was constant noise, and rude and untrained staff. We knew going in that Puerto Vallarta in August had its limitations, due to some businesses closed and high humidity, but what we did not expect was to be staying in a hotel with constant hammering, tile saws, and jackhammers, sometimes until 9pm at night, and starting as early as 8am. The staff was also less helpful and never apologetic about any of the inconveniences that this offered. After 3 days of hell, Orbitz was kind enough to help us move our stay to another gay location. It is unfortunate because maybe we would have returned someday to the beachside resort, but we will never return to them at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife starts late, so if you want to have some fun at nightclubs, pace yourself with an afternoon siesta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arabia
Business
Arizona
Jul 13, 2011

First and only stay at the Blue Chairs

As I have never been to Puerto Vallarta before, I wanted to stay in a gay friendly hotel. I researched my options and decided on the Blue Chairs Resort. I stayed there for over 8 days during the month of July. I was in the "ocean front" room, on the 4th floor. Mind you, I am not a "needy queen", and can survive just as easily in a fox hole as well as the wardoph astoria. I found this hotel to below standard on so many levels. 1. The water pressure to the shower was that of a small child spitting on you. (My friends had the same issues in their rooms). 2. The drain to the shower always backed up. 3. The toliet handle had to be held down for 10 seconds just to make sure the toliet flushed. 4. The one and only elevator was broken 80% of the time. 5. Stairwell covered in beetles and cockroaches. 6. Internet was not realiable. 7. Air-conditoner worked, but it was either, on or off, no way to adjust the temperature. 8. The roof top bar was OK, great view of the sunset, but same old thing every night, a few strippers pulling out their "members" for fat old men, who could not get laid with a blow up doll. 9. Hanging out by the beach was the best, but sometimes the service was slow. I sat close to the water alot. It would take the waiters along time to stop by to see what I wanted. I have and do tip alot, so I imagine they were just busy. However, I did see the waiters run up and try to entice women to sit on that location when they walked by. I can go on and on, but I would not stay here again, there are too many other choices. I found this hotel run downed, and nothing to offer its clients, except being close to the water. However, one can stay at a nicer hotel and still be close to the beach. I would visit PV in a hearbeat, I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diana's Cruise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 3, 2008

Great location, poor room

The Blue Chairs has one thing going for it - a great location. However, as much as I love Puerto Vallarta, I will not ever stay at the Chairs again. The room was dirty with probably one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. There is no internet capability in the room. Fortunately, you don't spend much of your time in the room. The roof top bar is great fun as is the Blue Chairs beach itself. My partner and I plan to return to PV next year, but we'll probably rent a condo instead somewhere in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alexzohan
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 3, 2009

Do Not Stay Here

I just returned from my trip to the Blue Chairs and wanted to post this word of caution. The hotel over booked guests all weekend, and sent the over booked guests to some 1- star, flee bag motel along the highway 30 minutes outside of Puerto Vallarta. When we finally got our room at the Blue Chairs,( A day Later ) it was in my opinion a scam run by straight hustlers. They have not put a single dime into that hotel. The room had the ambiance of a Mexican Jail Cell and the resort itself was not much better. The TV in the room is broke, most light bulbs are burnt out and the light bulbs they do have are the ugly florescent type that help promote the Mexican Jail Cell ambiance. Most of the Gay people in Puerto Vallarta stayed at better priced condo’s in the area and had a better experience. The worst thing about the Blue Chairs is they almost make it impossible to meet and socialize with other visitors. They opened the roof top bar and crammed hundreds of people up there you could not breath, then they had some stripper come out and dance and allowed you to put a dollar in his under ware and then closed the bar and sent everyone home. We tried to go to the roof after the big Money Grab and it was locked up. If you going to Puerto Vallarta, stay at a nice condo in the same area. If you already booked the Blue Chairs, drink lots of tequila and bring lots of small bills. I hope Orbits stop Booking those guys !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top