$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
312 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
victor the great
antioch,ca
May 5, 2009

fun at the beach

right by the beach,I got a nice suntan,they need a good pool,the pool is too short looks like a big bath tub,and was not easy to use it since they were always ready with tables around for the show in the afternoon,even do we enjoy the show's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

NIce safe and delicious food in viejo vallarta,nice clubs,friendly people we have a blast in vallarta we planing to do it again

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renodean
Reno, NV
Jul 6, 2009

Blue Chairs Fun

We had a great time at the Blue Chairs. It's not the Ritz but it's a great value. It was clean, the rooms were large, the drinks and food were reasonable. The service in the hotel, bars/restaurant was fantastic. The water did go out a few times while we were there, but it's an old building in an old part of Puerto Vallarta. The water was out for a couple of hours at a time but it wasn't that big of a deal really. The shows & entertainment were great. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to great restaurants, bars, shopping. We're going again this year with more friends. The 10% discount on food and drinks from Orbitz was also great! Just remember to ask for the discount at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
May 27, 2008

Great location

Its not your four star hotel, but the location is great and the value is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dteacher
Dallas, Tx
Nov 26, 2010

Great Location and Perfect Staff

This was just a quick getaway three day stay. Took a cab from the airport (less than 20.00) and as soon as we arrived the staff was attentive to every detail. Their beachfront is HUGELY popular during the midday. You can walk to the center of town, fun bars and incredible dining spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Takos Panchos (it is next door to the famous "Cafe de Olla"). The tacos are some of the best in the world. Small restaurant with just a few tables...but well worth any wait.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DareJunkie
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Great Location

The location to the gay beach is the best in the city. It's getting more and more gay friendly every year. We were there for 10 days, so it got to be a bit much, but very fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 19, 2011

Not a bad choice for first time in PV

Overall, I was satisfied with Blue Chairs. Very convenient location a "stones throw" away from the beach. Loved drinking margaritas and ordering food right on the beach. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The concierge can connect with you several other fun activities if you want to take a break from the beach. I went on a zip line tour, which was awesome. I also had a nice massage from the spa (very reasonable prices compared to where I am from). Room furnishings were OK. The fridge was a bit dated and my bed was extra soft, but other than that it was an OK room with a decent view of the ocean. I would suggest requesting a room on the lower floors, as the music from the happy hour can get kind of loud from the rooftop bar. This was my first trip to PV, and I fell in love with it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jun 23, 2010

blue chairs and the beach

Great beach service AGAIN from Louis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Bar manana is a favorite but the new Pacos Ranch is getting better

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbury80
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 18, 2014

A great vacation.

Blue Chairs was under construction when I visited, so a few of the amenities were missing. There were some minor scratches on one wall of the room, but otherwise things were in good shape. The staff were amazing. They truly went out of their way to make sure I had a good time. The concierge and I were on a first name basis after the first day and she took care of me. Also, when I inadvertently dropped my wallet in the cab on the way to the airport, she coordinated with the cab driver to have it brought back to the hotel and sent to me. Truly outstanding service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne
Aug 26, 2008

A good hotel

The staff is very helpful and ready to assist with information or directions to local attractions in the area. With the location of the beach right across the street, and a decent place to dine there as well, and also with a club with entertainment nightly on the rooftop, Blue Chairs is very self contained. You really do not need to go anywhere else. I really can't fault the cleanliness too much, as anytime you have a sandy beach on location, there is going to be sand and grit everywhere from the inside of the elevators to the hallways. My only real complaint is that the hotel does not stock bottled water in its vending machines. The big bottles of water in the hallways appear to be purified, but I saw them filled from a spicket on the side of the building, so don't drink the water is sound advice. It would also be nice if the rooms had an iron and microwave, but none were available. The location is great and overall I recommend this hotel, especially for an unseasoned one like myself, traveling alone to Puerto Villarta for the first time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DareJunkie
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Great Location

The location to the gay beach is the best in the city. It's getting more and more gay friendly every year. We were there for 10 days, so it got to be a bit much, but very fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top