$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
191 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
victor the great
Business
antioch,ca
May 5, 2009

fun at the beach

right by the beach,I got a nice suntan,they need a good pool,the pool is too short looks like a big bath tub,and was not easy to use it since they were always ready with tables around for the show in the afternoon,even do we enjoy the show's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

NIce safe and delicious food in viejo vallarta,nice clubs,friendly people we have a blast in vallarta we planing to do it again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIVING ON THE EDGE
Business
FT Lauderdale FLorida
Jun 16, 2009

GREAT VIEW

The hotel was in a great location right in front of the gay beach .The staff was friendly ..THE Hotel is being totally renovated so i was very loud in the morning and u get charged 100 pesos for each guest u have in ur room so it could get pricey depending on how many massages or guest u have in a day !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 21, 2010

Perfect location

The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The restaurant even made us a special Veggie Sandwich which wasn't on the menu. The highlight of this hotel is their nightly GoGo Boys. What a show they put on! Perfect for gay travelers who want to be on the beach, hanging around with hundreds of other gay men.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An easy walk to dozens of excellent restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Really?
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 25, 2009

It's Mexico, not Paris... GREAT VALUE

Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and quick to check us in. The view (beachfront) was AMAZING and entirely worth the upgrade. The room was large with Queen beds (the single King beach front room is MUCH smaller and more expensive). The room was clean, beds neatly made, and sheets were clean and stain free. There was a slight urine smell in the closet but we called housekeeping and it was fixed right away. Could NOT get the internet to work for the life of me, so I paid 7.50 a day to use the hotel nextdoor's wireless without a hitch. Amenities were obviously not 5 star but had a very charming Mexican feel to them. If you do not spend a lot of time in the room, this is a GREAT hotel. Location was AMAZING for day/beach and a great and inexpensive Italian restaurant around the corner. About a 12 minute stumble to "Manana" the huge gay club but I don't recommend arriving before 12... it gets packed at 2 almost every night. The schedule was like this: Beach, Roof-top bar at blue chairs for sunset- cocktails and show/dancers, then shower for dinner, go to dinner, then Garbo (Piano Bar) then Manana. There wasn't any dead time at all. For Food, I HIGHLY recommend the place bordering Blue Chairs to the south on the beach. Their food was delicious, and Blue Chairs food was FOUL. The chicken... was arguably not chicken, and my french toast was made with moldy bread. The food from the beachfront bar just south and attached to blue chairs beach bar was of much higher quality and was DELICIOUS! At airport do not talk to people with binders, they are trying to sell timeshares and will lure you saying they have a taxi for you. Walk until u are at the exit doors and you will see a clearly marked taxi stand. They charge 20 dollars for a taxi, but you should be able to haggle them down to 13-15 dollars. For entertainment the Wednesday sunset cruise is very... eventful in a group way if you catch my drift. Generally a very good looking crowd to my surprise. No shortage of hot guys during my time there, it was a blast... and no problems with crime or harassment although one tourist did get hit by a public bus. Be careful when walking in the streets, the cars will hit you and won't think twice about stopping, you do not have the right of way. My friends and I are VERY young and were very pleased with the variety of ages and types we came across.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizzeria on a corner just a zig-zag down from the hotel headed into town. it's a large restaraunt with a patio and has great 4-star italian cuisine. However, don't waste your time at the place next door. Also, the taco stand out front of Los Amigo's Bar has been there FOREVER, and is cheap and delicious and will not cause stomach problems. Taco Stand next to blue chairs to the South has GREAT shrimp burritos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 5, 2011

great location,

great location... right on the gay beach and a 10-minute walk to most of the gay nightlife and restaurants. accommodations are adequate but nothing spectacular (no fridge or minibar, not even an alarm clock), but the room was clean, there was air conditioning, a flatscreen TV, and a shower with enough room for two. **be warned: regardless of how many people are on the reservation (I was there alone and made the reservation for two), they charge what I've dubbed a "trick fee" -- meaning if you bring in "guests" they charge 200 pesos for up to three hours or 400 pesos for an overnight guest. kind of ridiculous in my opinion, but overall a good place to stay if you're looking for convenience and no frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

la noche, club manana, and paco's ranch are all within a 10 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SirChadley
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 8, 2010

Good Times

The Blue Chairs Resort was everything I expected it to be... A non-stop good time. That being said, I wasn't disappointed with the service or the staff. Everyone was VERY friendly and the best part is the beach is right there. I went with three other guys for our birthdays. Most of the people about town were staying there too, so it made meeting new friends real easy. We were lucky enough to get a new room, but I heard the old ones are run down. Our neighbor's room flooded at one point, and our room's water shut off for about half a day (To the BEACH!) Would I stay again!? For the price/convenience to the gay scene in town, it can't be beat. If I go back to PV and am looking to relax (yeah right), I'd probably spring for the Abbey or the Tropicana. They are more quiet and conservative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco's Kitchen was the best place to eat in town. We didn't find it till the last day, but it was good, authentic, and cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Feb 17, 2011

Great with a couple of minor problems.

Great hotel overall... Pros: Hot water- Yes, they really had hot water and not just warm water. Bed- The bed was soft!!! View- Partial view was actually a really good view. A/C- The A/C was great! CONS: They will not bring you bath towels...You can ask till the cows come home and you will not get a towel. Toliet paper: conserve your supply..Once you use the roll in the room, just go to the store and buy a roll. I asked over and over and no paper was ever brought to my room. I was told the housekeeper will bring it up later. Water pressure: Not the greatest, but I think this is a problem in all the hotels in PV, Mexico. Wireless internet only works in the Lobby!!!!!! This was a major thing for me. They didn't lie as they do have the wireless internet, but just not in the rooms. I will stay in this hotel in the future. I was very pleased with the room, and what the hotel had to offer. I feel that these few problems are minor when I look at the big picture of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 21, 2010

Hospitable Staff

It is not easy to say anything negative about this place because the staff more than compensate for any deficiencies. They are cordial, attentive, accommodating, jovial and most importantly, helpful. The hotel underwent some renovation, but still needs some tweaking. We had an ocean front room with a nice terrace. We were a bit taken aback discovering that the latches securing the folding doors were non functional. One could easily hop over from the next terrace into ours and blow into the doors and they will swing wide open!!! Maintenace were unable to solve the problem for the entire 6 days we were there. The room is very clean and the housekeeping service was good There are always clean towels and coffee for a morning picker upper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The roof top bar provides nightly entertainment. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood and the hotel cafe is great for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 26, 2010

Blue Chairs Resort Oct 2010

Hotel was close to beach, Staff was friendly. Only Draw back elevator was out of service and they put us on the 5th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Ne
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location!!

Loved the location and most of the staff. Caught night desk man/guard sleeping on the couch when I came back late one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top