$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
310 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (310)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill Fair and Honest
Dayton, OH
Oct 24, 2010

Location was good, hotel was not

The location was great; however, the property is in desperate need of some TLC. No working elevator, hot water in our sink did not work, light in our bathroom wasn't working until the last two days. You also need to watch very carefully what gets charged to your room. Some of the staff are not as honest as they should be. Several times we had to correct what they charged us for food and beverage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great little restaurants within a short walk.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
US
Jul 28, 2011

Busted

We paid the higher price for a ocean view king size bed room [...]. We got 2 double beds on the first floor behind the 2 story restaurant without a view. After complaining we were told we had to pay a daily upgrade charge to get a ocean view room with a king bed, so we reluctantly did it when arguing did no good. Elevator broke down on a daily basis, once with us in it for 30 minutes in pitch darkness until they pried the doors open. Toilets stopped up, beds were uncomfortable. The only positive was the location across from the beach and walking distance to restaurants and bars. Hotel is run down and busted in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY2PV
New York
Mar 3, 2010

No Hot Water, Services are lacking....

When we first arrived, the room was not ready. The next morning room service never came to the room until the management was informed. The property is very noisy with road noise and construction. The restaurant did not have coffee in the morning and the wait staff had difficulty bringing the correct order to the tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The location has several very nice restaurants close by. Everything is within walking distance to old town Puerta Vallarta.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Good value for beach front

Nice newly remodeled room with lots of marble, good bed, great panoramic bay view from oceanfront balcony. Beach bar palapas are across the street but overpriced compared with other parts of beach. The neighborhood is quiet at night (except for pounding ocean waves) but it's at the far southern edge of the romantic zone meaning walking up and down hills on uneven cobblestones streets and what pass for sidewalks or taking taxis as bars/restaurants are mostly about 10 blocks away or farther. Would have liked a room safe, especially when patio door lock was broken and never repaired during our four night visit. There is a lobby safe for passports. I would fear bringing a laptop even though the hotel has free Wi-Fi. One guest on my floor had his room burglarized and lost the many American dollars he had foolishly stashed there. I used BanaNorte near the plaza on Oltas Alta Street and got the best exchange rate there. My first trip back to Puerto Vallarta since 1972 when it was 1/20 of its size now. Still, the old town is authentic Mexico but I felt most safe with many police on the beat. For the rest of the sprawling development, one might as well stay in the US in Miami Beach. So-so food in and around my hotel but had great thin-crust pizza at La Piazzetta and good Austrian food at Kaiser Maximillians on Olas Altas Street. But mostly ate around Boardwalk/Malecon and Playa Los Muertos at Beach House, El Dorado, La Palapa (latter where Mexico's President Calderon dined while I was there complete with fireworks and plenty of security) and have no complaints about food/drink quality and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Took the party boat Cielto Lindo from the marina to Las Animas with snorkeling around Los Arcos. It's a great value with its open bar if one likes to drink. The Los Veranos canopy zip lines were a real adrenalin rush with a very professional staff to make them safe. Booked both through Gray Line. Watch out for the timeshare "discounts" starting at the airport exit and everywhere else getting one roped into a lengthy "hotbox" sales "visit" to a hotel/condo project. They are very aggressive.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Virgo68
San Diego, CA
Feb 2, 2010

BeefDip 2010

This was not worth $120.00 per night. They had no iron for my going out clothes. The restaurant nickel and dimes you for food and drinks, the chairs on the hotel beach go to the ones who pay for them, not for the guest of the hotel! I'll be staying at the Tropicana next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't do the para-sailing ride with the white boat, choose the brown boat!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
michaelbythebay
san francisco, ca
Sep 26, 2010

didnt hate it.. didnt love it

the hotel was in the heart of eveything and very close to the ocean. the staff was friendly and helpful.. however, the rooms were kind of run down.. had to ask for towels and other bathroom ammenities on several occasions. when leaving the hotel, we were charged a fee of 300 pesos for an accident that could have been easily taken care of in the laundry. that we felt was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

other nightlife than the hotel was a bit of a walk

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIVING ON THE EDGE
FT Lauderdale FLorida
Jun 16, 2009

GREAT VIEW

The hotel was in a great location right in front of the gay beach .The staff was friendly ..THE Hotel is being totally renovated so i was very loud in the morning and u get charged 100 pesos for each guest u have in ur room so it could get pricey depending on how many massages or guest u have in a day !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big JM
Chicago
Dec 17, 2012

Great location and gay all the way!

The hotel was OK. Staff is amazing. Everything is an extra charge.....even coffee. Location is great, can be a bit noisey with the construction around and the dance bar on the roof. The location is great and the gay beach was fantastic. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SirChadley
Seattle, WA
Feb 8, 2010

Good Times

The Blue Chairs Resort was everything I expected it to be... A non-stop good time. That being said, I wasn't disappointed with the service or the staff. Everyone was VERY friendly and the best part is the beach is right there. I went with three other guys for our birthdays. Most of the people about town were staying there too, so it made meeting new friends real easy. We were lucky enough to get a new room, but I heard the old ones are run down. Our neighbor's room flooded at one point, and our room's water shut off for about half a day (To the BEACH!) Would I stay again!? For the price/convenience to the gay scene in town, it can't be beat. If I go back to PV and am looking to relax (yeah right), I'd probably spring for the Abbey or the Tropicana. They are more quiet and conservative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco's Kitchen was the best place to eat in town. We didn't find it till the last day, but it was good, authentic, and cheap!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Las Vegas NV
Sep 12, 2013

The best friendly staff!!!!!!!

This is my second time stay at blue chairs, and the rooms and amenities they don't change at all, they need new beds, the towels are very old and the decor really poor. But the reason I'm stay there is the staff!! Starting from Alberto at reservations, Francisco at the front desk, and every waiter!! Kenny,Miguel, Luis,etc etc!!!!! Amazing! The service is behind! they make me field part of their family I already miss them! The pick up service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La palapa restaurant, a few steps from blue chair hotel great walk from the beach. Excellent service and as a Mexican, the food was amassing!

Back to menu Return to top