$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
victor the great
Business
antioch,ca
May 5, 2009

fun at the beach

right by the beach,I got a nice suntan,they need a good pool,the pool is too short looks like a big bath tub,and was not easy to use it since they were always ready with tables around for the show in the afternoon,even do we enjoy the show's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

NIce safe and delicious food in viejo vallarta,nice clubs,friendly people we have a blast in vallarta we planing to do it again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIVING ON THE EDGE
Business
FT Lauderdale FLorida
Jun 16, 2009

GREAT VIEW

The hotel was in a great location right in front of the gay beach .The staff was friendly ..THE Hotel is being totally renovated so i was very loud in the morning and u get charged 100 pesos for each guest u have in ur room so it could get pricey depending on how many massages or guest u have in a day !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 21, 2010

Perfect location

The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The restaurant even made us a special Veggie Sandwich which wasn't on the menu. The highlight of this hotel is their nightly GoGo Boys. What a show they put on! Perfect for gay travelers who want to be on the beach, hanging around with hundreds of other gay men.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An easy walk to dozens of excellent restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Really?
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 25, 2009

It's Mexico, not Paris... GREAT VALUE

Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and quick to check us in. The view (beachfront) was AMAZING and entirely worth the upgrade. The room was large with Queen beds (the single King beach front room is MUCH smaller and more expensive). The room was clean, beds neatly made, and sheets were clean and stain free. There was a slight urine smell in the closet but we called housekeeping and it was fixed right away. Could NOT get the internet to work for the life of me, so I paid 7.50 a day to use the hotel nextdoor's wireless without a hitch. Amenities were obviously not 5 star but had a very charming Mexican feel to them. If you do not spend a lot of time in the room, this is a GREAT hotel. Location was AMAZING for day/beach and a great and inexpensive Italian restaurant around the corner. About a 12 minute stumble to "Manana" the huge gay club but I don't recommend arriving before 12... it gets packed at 2 almost every night. The schedule was like this: Beach, Roof-top bar at blue chairs for sunset- cocktails and show/dancers, then shower for dinner, go to dinner, then Garbo (Piano Bar) then Manana. There wasn't any dead time at all. For Food, I HIGHLY recommend the place bordering Blue Chairs to the south on the beach. Their food was delicious, and Blue Chairs food was FOUL. The chicken... was arguably not chicken, and my french toast was made with moldy bread. The food from the beachfront bar just south and attached to blue chairs beach bar was of much higher quality and was DELICIOUS! At airport do not talk to people with binders, they are trying to sell timeshares and will lure you saying they have a taxi for you. Walk until u are at the exit doors and you will see a clearly marked taxi stand. They charge 20 dollars for a taxi, but you should be able to haggle them down to 13-15 dollars. For entertainment the Wednesday sunset cruise is very... eventful in a group way if you catch my drift. Generally a very good looking crowd to my surprise. No shortage of hot guys during my time there, it was a blast... and no problems with crime or harassment although one tourist did get hit by a public bus. Be careful when walking in the streets, the cars will hit you and won't think twice about stopping, you do not have the right of way. My friends and I are VERY young and were very pleased with the variety of ages and types we came across.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizzeria on a corner just a zig-zag down from the hotel headed into town. it's a large restaraunt with a patio and has great 4-star italian cuisine. However, don't waste your time at the place next door. Also, the taco stand out front of Los Amigo's Bar has been there FOREVER, and is cheap and delicious and will not cause stomach problems. Taco Stand next to blue chairs to the South has GREAT shrimp burritos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 5, 2011

great location,

great location... right on the gay beach and a 10-minute walk to most of the gay nightlife and restaurants. accommodations are adequate but nothing spectacular (no fridge or minibar, not even an alarm clock), but the room was clean, there was air conditioning, a flatscreen TV, and a shower with enough room for two. **be warned: regardless of how many people are on the reservation (I was there alone and made the reservation for two), they charge what I've dubbed a "trick fee" -- meaning if you bring in "guests" they charge 200 pesos for up to three hours or 400 pesos for an overnight guest. kind of ridiculous in my opinion, but overall a good place to stay if you're looking for convenience and no frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

la noche, club manana, and paco's ranch are all within a 10 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles California
Jan 25, 2010

Great location bad service

When I arrived I was given a room that had no phone,a refrigerator that made a loud noise when it turned on, the room smelled of bug spray,the room was located in the back and very noisy. I had a whole in my bathroom wall big enough to put your head through that you can look outside. No instructions on how to use your phone or any services the hotel had to offer. I had requested a room change and that room was much better. They do not supply hair dryers nore irons. If you ask the front desk any questions on where any bars are or any gay activities there clueless. Their also straight, so is alot of the staff that works there. I would think that a gay property would hire gay people to work the front desk because they would be able to relate to the client. On the bright side, it's location is great and they do have remodeled rooms and they are very nice. Overall I give this hotel a C- or three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, and entertainment are a short distance away. Also, write on a piece of paper or save in your phone, numbers of your credit cards/debit cards in case it gets lost or stolen. It is very difficult to get any help if you do not have these numbers on you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duro Explorer
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 27, 2010

Worry Free Vacation

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The service staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't be able to write enough things about them. When I return to PV, I would stay at a different place only because I like to try out different things. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in being right on the beach and at the center of early evening gay life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetu
Business
Atlanta Ga
Feb 20, 2011

Fantastic location

We really enjoyed our beach front balcony for morning coffee and evening cocktails. Our room was on the 5th floor below the club and would hear loud music and chairs scraping across the floor until about 11:30pm. But it was a lot of fun otherwise. The room had a coffee maker but they did not have any coffee for us after the first day. we went to the local market and bought coffee for the coffee maker. The staff was great and very hospitable. They gave us beach towels every day and we spent the whole day on the beach laying out and swimming. The waiters on the beach were great and served us drinks and food quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FurryFridayz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Nice but Noisy

Noisy all day from 5pm to 11pm. Because of Events on Rooftop. Local guests are asked to pay a 200peso fee just to come up to the room. Rooms are nice and room service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into the local residential area in zona romantica and find a hole in the wall restaurant. Much cheaper and the food is excellent...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
40 something couple
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Friendly atmosphere, some problems

Well this is old town Mexico afterall, so was not expecting 4 star amenities. Called in advance to confirm room type and location and they said all was OK. When we arrived we were given a partially remodeled smallest room with no water pressure at all and entry door faced disco entry stairs. (We booked the more expensive large suite and confirmed with phone calls twice.) They did move us on day two, but would not offer a refund only credit for breakfast. Was happy with the 2nd junior suite (excellent view and remodeled and water pressure). The staff was really nice except service on beach could be challenging and slow. Wifi does not work consistently so don't count on it. No water at all for one afternoon and upper floors seem to have no water pressure. Loud party bar upstairs could be a plus or a minus depending on what you are looking for. Would change to a recommend if problems are fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top