$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CurtO
Chicago IL
Mar 19, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews!

My partner and I have been to PV several times and never stayed at the Blue Chairs until this trip. When we left, we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else! The staff is amazing (special thanks to Erika & Alfredo) And the waiters at the beach are great (thanks Fransisco & Luis). We had a bit of a medical emergency while on vacation and the staff directed us to the closest emergency room ( Med Assist on Insurgente) and when my partner was admitted overnight, the Blue chairs had flowers sent (delivered by Erika from the desk) It meant a lot to him! After the hospital stay they were asking how he was feeling and if they could do anything. NOW...this is not a marriott, it's a hotel in the old part of town, so don't expect a chocolate on your pillow every night, but it was clean, comfortable, we had hot water every day (contrary to the reviews we read) The elevator is definetly old and could probably be replaced, but it worked and we often took the stairs anyway. Overall, a great experience and would definetly come back......see ya next year BC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stay Here At Your OWN RISK.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Extremely Cheap - STILL Not Worth the $$

Room smelled like sewer - and loud thumping music went on all night long. Hotel staff was rude and unacommadating. Front desk attempted to charge me $40 for a two-hour late checkout.. then insisted that they couldn't check my bag for the couple hours before I went to the airport. I went to another nearby hotel (where I didn't stay) and tipped the bellman $2 to watch my bag - and he graciously helped me out. I couldn't help but feel as though this hotel was out to rip me off. ZERO on a scale of 1 to 10 when it comes to service. Cheap and close to gay beach - but not worth the headache of dealing with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mexican expatriate
Business
Vancouver BC
Nov 28, 2011

Mediocre service, too expensive , great location...Saw Perez Hilton!

Well....the staff is friendly but not very efficient. Took them a while to provide me with a safety box. No towels for a day and no beach towels for 2 days.Bar some time charged 1 buck more per drink...Pto vallarta is fantastic and fun for gay people all over the world.....beautiful and fllirty people for all tastes all the time...only one key for 2 guests? dumb policy....extra charge if you invite some one? like is not enough to pay 130 per night?...no breakfast offered....next time I will go to a neighbouring hotel and just go there for the bach experience....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Diana's gay cruise is fun !!!....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bony1uk
Business
Los Angeles - CA
Dec 1, 2011

STAY AWAY

If you are thinking to have good nights sleep while you staying there forget it. Music until midnight and hotel construction from 8 am makes it impossible to enjoy your stay. I called the front desk 5 times and they said I have to talk to the manager but she was never there. There all plenty of cheaper and better hotels in the area. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D.C.H.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2013

The Decline of the Blue Chairs Hotel

We have just ended our fourth vacation at the Blue Chairs Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, and this will be our last. Over the past few years Blue Chairs Hotel has gotten progressively worse. This year was the absolute worst. The hotel is so poorly managed that there is a constant mix-up at the front desk. A year earlier, for our 2011 holiday reservations, we reserved the "Jr. Suite" which we had had in the past. We made those reservations on January 3, 2011, asking for assurances that we would get Room 301 -- the Jr. Suite. It was guaranteed. Then when arriving on December 27, 2011, we were told that there was a mix-up and the room had been given to somebody else. During that stay, Blue Chairs had charged for two more days than we were staying, but they would not reverse the charges for those unused days. Instead, they gave us a card saying that we would have a "credit" of 3,700 pesos if used within one year. When we asked to use that credit this year, I was astonished that they wanted to deny our use of that. In a word, the Blue Chairs management is dysfunctional and ineffective. The locaton of Blue Chairs is excellent, but there are many other lodging accommodations in that immediate area which are available for the same or much less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Solon0913
Business
Concord,California
Jul 3, 2013

Disaster under construction in a perfect location!

The first room was not acceptable,mold on the walls and paint bubbles on walls, musty moldy smell. The second room given to me after I complained was bigger and smelled better but the A/C did not work 80 percent of the time. I was awaken at approximate 0749 am by banging on my wall due to construction. The hotel is a disaster of noise, dirt and bad service by some of the staff. The hotel was 90 percent empty and had new rooms but none were offered. They kept us in the old rooms with old old old furniture and no working A/C. One night I slept at another place where the air worked. Found bugs in the bed, noise terrible all day from construction, dusty and no privacy since all the workers from construction would see in the room/terrace. Kenny and Miguel were the best of all the waiters and the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack....excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feelngood
Business
NYC
Apr 20, 2014

Poor Facility, poor service, poor food

Dated facilities, unotrganized staff who did the minimum. King suite was large but dated. Noisy as there was construction nearby, the noise levels on stairs was excessive due to traffic going to 6 floor bar and caberet area. Felt unsafe as anyone could walk off the street and through the hotel. Staff did not appear to be bothered. There are much better options nearby for the same price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mantamar beach club is nearby with a great deal on daypasses, food and service is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CALI BOYZ
Business
MONTEBELLO,CA
May 27, 2014

THE WORST HOTEL!!! TRAVELER BEWARE

SINCE ARRIVING TO BLUE CHAIRS ON MAY 20TH OUR EXPERIENCE WAS SHOCKING. THEY TOOK US TO THE ROOM AND WE WERE STUNNED THAT THE ROOM DID NOT MATCH THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE. ALOT OF SAND ON THE FLOOR, THE SHEETS WERE DIRTY, SMELLY AND STAINED. THE DOORS HAD TO BE PUSHED OPEN. THE TOILET DID NOT FLUSH. THE HOTEL WAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. IT LOOKED LIKE A WAR ZONE. THE SAFE IS AT THE RECEPTION DESK. IT IS NOT SECURE AT ALL. THE DOOR OF THE SAFE ARE MADE OF WOOD. ANYONE HAS ACCESS TO THE SAFE. NOT SECURE. THE ONLY REASON ALOT OF GAY PEOPLE LIKE THIS HOTEL IS BECAUSE ITS BEACH FRONT. THE HOTEL IS SUPER UGLY AND NASTY. YOU ARE BETTER OFF STAYING OFF THE BEACH FRONT OR RENTING A CONDO. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN EVEN IF THEY GAVE ME FREE NIGHTS. OMG WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY ABOUT OUR 5 NIGHT STAY. THE POOL IS HORRIBLE. THE RESTURANT WAS NOT SANITARY. IF YOU DONT ASK FOR THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST YOU WILL GET CHARGED. EVEN AFTER THEY SEE YOU THERE EVERYDAY. SO TO CONCLUDED THIS HOTEL WAS THE WORST PLACE IN VALLARTA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
trip to pvr
Business
wi
Mar 6, 2011

great place

very nice place close to everthing in pv would love to stay there again staff was awesome and very safe can't wait until next year to go thank you the blue chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diana Cubana
Business
Glendale, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Great Beach Location - Bad Service!

The only thing we liked was that it is super close to the beach area we like. You get what you pay for....bad towel service. They take your towels & wash them, then bring them back. We got beach towels only once & had to reuse them the entire stay. Overall...not the best place to stay if you're looking for at least mediocre service. Wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1)From airport, negotiate w/taxis & pay only $20 to the hotel. 2) Negotiate with local taxis for your trip back to the airport. 3)Pack light, try to do carry-on only as most airlines now have bag check fees! Ugh! 4) Wear comfy shoes - lots of cobblestone roads

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
markjeff13
Business
South Pasadena FLORIDA
Nov 10, 2009

blue chairs beach resort

The hotel shut the water off every night and you had to call the front desk in the morning to have it reset. We were unable to flush the toilet or shower each morning. On the bright side the staff was extremely friendly. We weren't offered any type of discount for our inconvenience though. Upon checkin we were also told that what we paid through [...] didn't cover our room and we would have to pay an extra $112.00.Also the staff couldn't find a key to our room and when they did there was only one. Every day we had to leave it at the front desk so the maid could clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top