$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 193
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelstud
Canada
Mar 28, 2014

Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its main selling point but my buddy and I found the place surpassing our own and others' expectations. We had an awesome room that was always clean and the AC was amazing! The beds we super cozy and they supplied us with bottled water the entire time. The staff was helpful, appreciative and genuinely happy to have us there. Even though half the building was under construction and being renovated the noise levels weren't all that bad. If you also wanted to bring a guest over for the night, unlike other places, Blue chairs was extremely accommodating. This was my first time at Blue chairs and we'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbury80
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 18, 2014

A great vacation.

Blue Chairs was under construction when I visited, so a few of the amenities were missing. There were some minor scratches on one wall of the room, but otherwise things were in good shape. The staff were amazing. They truly went out of their way to make sure I had a good time. The concierge and I were on a first name basis after the first day and she took care of me. Also, when I inadvertently dropped my wallet in the cab on the way to the airport, she coordinated with the cab driver to have it brought back to the hotel and sent to me. Truly outstanding service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shadygrove
Spotsylvania, Spotsylvania Courthouse, VA 22551, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Manage Your Expectations

Before Booking at Blue Chairs, we read all the reviews on Orbitz and Trip Advisor. To say the least we were very reluctant to book because of the reviews, but we did anyway and I am glad we did! The staff is friendly, room clean, and prices are great. Keep this in mind when you plan you visit to Puerto Vallarta. Each country is different in regard to the hospitality industry. We Americans are spoiled when it comes to our expectations-so when visiting this beautiful city and you are staying at Blue Chairs-manage your expectations. It is a great hotel with plenty of activity and great service. The only two areas that need improvement is the hotel's wifi and the beach vendors, who constantly asking you to buy their goods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swedes restaurant is a short walk from Blue Chairs . They have a fabulous menu, terrific service, and prices are terrific. Diana Tours. Diana provides a all day boat excursion that provides snorkeling, a great lunch, and fabulous sightseeing.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEEDO ON THE BEACH
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

PV AND BLUE CHAIRS

BLUE CHAIRS HAD A GREAT LOCATION AND I LOVED THE SERVICE ON THE BEACH. STAFF WERE FREINDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

JOE AND JACKS FISH, ORDER THE RED SNAPPER

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
42yo in Denver
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

A fun place, but not fancy

The hotel underwent a renovation a few years ago and it's definitely a comfortable place to stay... but no, it's not fancy so don't expect that. Instead, it's in a great location, there is always something going on, and the staff are incredibly fun and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP422
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2012

Great Location

This was our second trip to PV and knew the layout. Blue Chairs was our first choice because of the location. At our arrival and our departure, other guests were definitely expressing dissatisfaction but we had a good stay. The rooms are decent. Some are smaller than others. Mine had a kitchenette while my friend's was a smaller (average size) hotel room with a balconey. The two rooftop social areas were nice... one includes stripers. The beachfront is decent but too crowded. They're also realistic and have a 3-hour limit on any "guests" you may bring back to your room. Along those lines, they may be nit-picky with the charges: temporary tattoos may rub off on the towels so you have to replace those ($30). I would stay again but I wouldn't raise my mediocre expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice, rooftop dining experience at the corner or Pilatas and Amapas. Fajitia Republic was a great atmosphere but not exceptional. Sammy Tucan's is THE place to go for an American-style (unhealthy) breakfast. Check out the pastry shop across the street from it for some delicious snacks.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary O
Seattle
Feb 2, 2013

Great Beach Service

Extremely attentive waiters on the beach. Miguel y Luis were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beefboat
Memphis
Dec 2, 2013

Blue Chairs PV Fun

Best location at the gay beach. Friendliest staff. Scenic rooftop daily happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michel's restaurant is excellent with very good Mexican wines and chocolate moose.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denco
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 17, 2013

Great place

Don't stay here if you're looking for a Marriott or Westin experience. This is a Mexican hotel and thus things are pretty laid back. The location is perfect, the rooms OK, and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a quick walk of all the major bars/clubs.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 19, 2011

Not a bad choice for first time in PV

Overall, I was satisfied with Blue Chairs. Very convenient location a "stones throw" away from the beach. Loved drinking margaritas and ordering food right on the beach. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The concierge can connect with you several other fun activities if you want to take a break from the beach. I went on a zip line tour, which was awesome. I also had a nice massage from the spa (very reasonable prices compared to where I am from). Room furnishings were OK. The fridge was a bit dated and my bed was extra soft, but other than that it was an OK room with a decent view of the ocean. I would suggest requesting a room on the lower floors, as the music from the happy hour can get kind of loud from the rooftop bar. This was my first trip to PV, and I fell in love with it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search