$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 23, 2015 Check-out: Mar 26, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
200 reviews
Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time. See full review

  • Kdcdough
  • Jan 23, 2015
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 200
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoopyAppleBrain
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

My stay at the Blue Chairs

I was surprised at the check in. I told them my name, signed the papers for the keys and I was shown to my room by a security person. It was as simple as that. The roof top cafe and bar prepared the meals and drinks we had there even in between the normal eating hours with no problems at all. The room was clean and kept that way. If we asked for anything, we got it. I spent the evenings and nights at clubs and arrived at my room very late, or very early in the morning and with a posted sign, do not disturb everything was just fine. There were no problems at all the location was just across the street from the beach with a restaurant in between that served us on the beach with drinks or food, which ever we happened to want or need. All the restaurants, clubs, and shops were within walking distance of the Hotel, also. The staff was very friendly. I would and possibly will stay there again in the future. I would give the Blue Chairs by the Sea a definate, thumbs up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping, dining, and dance clubs are within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 19, 2008

Very frendly and helpfull

The blue chairs hotel give me the satisfaction that ,I was'nt expecting with the very frendly staff and clean room on time close to the beach,and the service in there was also great with all the staff I'm going back this next February just because I had a great vacation,also is close to everything in walking distance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk distance to differnt restaurants and bars all kinds of bussines around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anything Goes College Students
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2010

Excellent Value!!

We are a group of young travelers (Three 22 y.o. males) so all of the negative comments that are posted previously didn't bother us, we just wanted a great price and a great location! I have to say that the Blue Chairs is truly and excellent value! The oceanfront room was nicely remodeled with a huge shower, flat screen TV, and a great balcony. We did get a chance to see other high end hotels (such as casa cupula) which were absolutely stunning, but during the day everyone comes down to the beach in front of blue chairs anyway so why pay all that money to be inconvenienced by the location?!? The best thing about Puerto Vallarta is returning to see people you met on your previous trip. This was our second visit and we saw so many familiar faces and met so many new ones that you can't help but feel very comfortable. Plus you can't beat the weather! If I had so pick one thing that the Blue Chairs could improve upon it would be better housekeeping. When we arrived the room was completely clean and ready, but it was missing beach and bath towels. Just small things like that, which didn't bother us, but could be fixed. Also, there is minimal construction on the rear end of the hotel, so request an ocean front room if you want to be away from it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to be in the middle of the action without breaking the bank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Club Manana is the largest and most popular gay club in PV. If you like to dance and want to go where the people are you'll probably end up at Manana every night (otherwise, there are tons of cool, little martini bars all over the place). They sell a week pass to manana for 400 pesos which starts on Wednesdays. This will save you a couple 100 pesos if you plan on dancing a lot! Plus I think you get discounts at local restaurants and shops, but don't quote me on it :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ericbythebay
Business
San Francisco,Ca
May 2, 2009

Very Pleased

Hotel was wonderful and our rooms had views of Banderas Bay! I have been going to PVallarta for about 10 years and this hotel was no worse than any others I have stayed. It has beach frontage and staff was very helpful if not better than higher priced places. I have stayed here before and it is much improved. Remember if your looking for Hyatt and perfection this hotel isnt for you. Its very Mexico and ozzes with charm. Location is perfect and you can walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 5, 2008

GREAT HOTEL

THE HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND THE HOTEL WAS CLEAN AND INVITING, THE OCEAN VIEW ROOMS WERE PERFECT. THE ROOFTOP BAR IS A MUST AFTER RETURNING FROM THE BEACH AND THE NIGHTLY ACTIVETY CAN BE VERY FESITIVE. THE BEST DRAG SHOW I HAVE EVER SEEN! DO NOT MISS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MANY GREAT PLACES TO DINE IN PV. I LIKE TO EXPLORE DOWNTOWN JUST MINUTES FROM HOTEL AND EXPERIENCE A DIFFERENT REST. FOR BREAKFAST AND DINNER NIGHTLY. KIT KATS FOR BREAKFAST GOOD. LUNCH ALWAYS GOOD ON BEACH AT BLUE CHAIRS, MANY GREAT REST. FOR DINNER TO EXPERIENCE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL.
Aug 5, 2010

Pleasant Surprise!

From Check-in to Check-out this was a wonderful experience. This is a boutique type hotel [*] who are there to relax and feel something different while on vacation. This time of year was perfect as there was always a chair/umbrella on the beach and the servers were anxious to take care of you. You may desire sunset cocktails on the roof-top bar with entertainment to the variety of restaurants/bars/clubs within easy walking distance. The concierge, [...] can fill you in on any excursion or recommendation. We took this trip on short notice and were able to get a Junior Suite. It was all marble and granite renovated with a perfect balcony vista to the beach and bay. We slept to the sounds of the waves crashing and ( with notice card on door ) the maids never disturbed us but serviced the room while we were gone. the room also had a complete kitchen but we mainly used the Fridge and coffee maker. I recommend this hotel and their staff. This is NOT a Hilton type of experience. It's Mexico. Have Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk to several fun restaurants, bars and clubs. There are so many options that you can do no wrong with Mexican food on a beachside restaurant at or south of the hotel to a little bit more expensive fare at Marcel's ( a Swiss restaurant..great food and fun staff ) or take a $5 taxi to the Vista Grill at the top of Puerto Vallarta...a unique experience. Apache's is a great 2 for 1 extended happy hour cafe with a great mix of natives and tourists...expect music and great friendly converstaion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kdcdough
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wesley
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Excellent Choice!

The hotel is remodeled and was very nice! The staff is very helpful and accomadating. The hotel is directly on the beach and has a restaurant that will bring you food and drinks all day while you enjoy the sun on the beach. My friends and I had an excellent time and would go back anytime. Highly recommended!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night life doesn't get started until midnight, so make sure to have a late dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehmetnyc009
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great location great value

It is not the most luxurious accommodations but the hotel has the best location and great view from most of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidinsac
Business
California, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Location can't be beat

The gay beach is at your doorstep & the nightlife is a short walk away. You'll never leave the area during your visit! Friendly staff and locals go to great lengths to ensure you have a good time. The rooms are "rustic" and the amenities few, but if you go without thinking it's the Ritz Carlton, you'll have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Start at La Noche around 11PM and all clubs are on the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top