$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
312 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame, CA
Aug 17, 2010

A Great Stay At Blue Chairs

The majority of the time was spent on the beach, reading, consuming delicious food, and enjoying swimming in the wonderfully warm ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very helpful in making suggestions for restaurants, things to do, and other places of interest. Our flight was a little late, and they were accommodating in allowing us to check out a couple hours past "check out" time. The rooms are very nice. I was told they were recently remodeled: showers tiled in marble, and marble throughout he room, comfortable bed, great ocean view balconies, and Spanish style charm throughout. It was a wonderful stay, I'd love to go back again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the bars La Noche and Amor, about a ten to fifteen minute walk from the hotel. Also, great eats are Cafe De Olla and Fajita Republic. Dee's Coffee is also a WONDERFUL place for coffee, pastries, bagels, and sandwiches. The veggie bagel sandwich is the best!!!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Fun and relaxing week in PV

I read some really awful reviews for Blue Chairs and was a bit hesitant, but I'm glad I took a chance and booked here. The location can't be beat, right on the ocean. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The rooms? For the price I paid, it was a great deal. My room was comfortable and clean. he king size bed was fine, I had no problem sleeping. The water in my shower was hot enough (you need to leave it run for a couple minutes first). The rooftop bar was a lot of fun. The beach was fantastic, as were the waiters who made sure we were always well taken care of. Sure, I've stayed at fancier places, with all the extra bells and whistles. But, honestly, dollar for dollar, Blue Chairs is a great value and the staff is stellar. We had a great time and hope to return soon, thank you Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We mostly ate breakfast at Blue Chairs. The food was good and the value was great. Some other places to check out, The Back Alley Steak and Chop House (2 blocks down and around the corner from Los Amigos) was outstanding. Mama Rosa's (in El Centro) has a wonderful brunch buffet, a real treat. O'Rourke's Irish Pub on Olas Atlas was a friendly bunch and nice escape from the main scene. Los Amigos was a lot of fun too! I won't return to Paco's Ranch, at the door they mark tourists (with a wristband) different than locals (with a stamp) and then charge the tourists more. Even after I checked their calendar and went during a time specifically designated for drink specials, being a tourist I wasn't given the special and paid a premium price. Not that the prices are outrageous, it's the principle. Sorry Paco, you lost a future customer and I'll be sure to tell all my friends too.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin92103
San Diego
Mar 17, 2014

Nice hotel

I have read so many other reviews saying this hotel was not worth going to, I must strongly disagree. I was on the 4th floor, with a partial ocean view, and our room was great. Yes, it is a bit out dated, but overall, it was really not bad. The elevator is very slow, and small. The hotel is going to through an expansion, like the rest of PV, but other than that, it is rather quiet. The only thing I didn't like is the food at their beach bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Apr 16, 2008

Blue Chair Review

The management was somewhat pushy at checkin and remained unhelpful throughout the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar on the top of the hotel is fun around 5:30 pm

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich K.
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Great deal for the money and very friendly staff.

This was my partners fourth time and my first time in PV. Overall, I had a wonderful experience at Blue Chairs and in PV. I was a bit cautious at times after reading some of the negative reviews, none of which I experienced on this trip. Amenities: 3: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, television, and free WiFi were nice to have. WiFi worked about 80% of the time and was FREE so I really had no complaints. Beachside dining and bar were very convenient and relaxing. We had breakfast at the beachside bar the entire time. We were able to charge everything to the room and got a 10% discount at checkout for putting a 1200 pesos credit card payment down for use at the hotel. Location 5: It doesn't get any better than this........REALLY!!! We had a beach front view in the Romantic zone right across from the gay beach. Need I say more? Blue Chairs has there own section with friendly staff available to meet your needs. Room comfort and cleanliness 3: Average. Our room was clean. Housekeepers were friendly and did a good job with keeping us stalked with towels and toiletries. The only downfall is that a piece of drywall with access to the pipes was cut out behind our bathroom door. Showers were clean and water pressure was good but lacked holders for our toiletries. Tip the house keepers daily (20-30 pesos) as they change everyday. I learned this was customary in Mexico as opposed to waiting until your last day in US hotels. Staff: Staff are super friendly and always asking you if you need anything. They always greeted us with a smile when we came and went. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Andre manages the beachside bar and dining and does a wonderful job of making sure you are taken care of. His staff work hard. If you want to book a tour, I recommend that you go through the concierge, Erika. She will hook you up with reliable and safe tours. Just make sure you have your receipt/voucher for your tour. You do NOT want to arrive without it. Value: Blue Chairs is a 2-3 star hotel so I feel we got a good deal for what we paid. It's not a 4 or 5 star hotel but it served it's purpose for us. We wanted a gay, beachside hotel with friendly staff and a bed to sleep in and that's exactly what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Frida's and La Palapa restaurant/bar were great. Hot Frida's has been open for a year now and is a very casual place. It's a popular local hang out with friendly staff, good drinks, and great American bar food. La Palapa is right on the beach and has great food and drinks. They are more expensive than some of the other restaurants but you definitely get what you pay for. Great food and drinks.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada
Jun 20, 2010

The Puerto Vallarta Experience

Amidst the crashing waves of the beachfront that are just footsteps from your room, you can enjoy the Puerto Vallarta experience. Sit under a palapa or umbrella sipping your favorite beverage The resort offers shows and other entertainment at NO cost. The rooms are clean as housekeeping is efficient. The staff is willing to assist at EVERY turn. You can also get a first class massage. Ready to party? The resort is a short walk or convenient cab ride to many venues. The property's amenities are worthy for either a KING or a QUEEN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Blue Chairs offers a variety of shows of specific interest to the clientele.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinny Dog Red
Seattle, WA
Jun 1, 2011

Safe, Friendly, Fun by The Sea

My first time to Puerto Vallarta and a memorable one! I was looking for a warm, sunny and active beach area with great photography potential. I had a number of places to choose from and for the price and location right on the beach, I think I made the best choice for me. I also wanted to be right in the middle of a gay male community and hey, I made new friends and found interesting, fun conversation every day. The hotel staff was always helpful, friendly and took an interest in me. During the evening, there was always some type of entertainment up on the roof with travelers and locals having a good time. I had room 309 which had a good view across a court yard and looked over the south end of the beach and mountains. This is the first time that I have actually had a hi-speed, wireless internet connection in a hotel room; Very nice to have! I will add that other travelers reported less though. I always had good, solid water pressure and HOT water for my showers. Maid service was excellent and never interfered with my running in, around and about. Now for the beach side cafe and bar area. The food was pretty good and a good selection. The dining area and beach was very nice and I ate there everyday. The wait staff needs some work. A few of the waiters were friendly and knew more than the basics of serving food and drink. However, the rest seemed to be at the front of their careers and I'm not sure if they're gonna make it. Service is mostly good enough but the thing I absolutely hated was being continuously bothered by the beach venders. It was so overwhelming at times I could only stand to stay out there for one drink than I had to get up and get out of there. Blue Chairs needs to reconsider this activity because there are businesses on down the beach that have big signs up letting the Venders know they're not to bother the guests. At the time of my departure the front desk was prompt with my check-out and was most helpful and interested in my stay. I had a short wait for my service to the airport and the hotel lobby was a pleasant place to wait and visit with other travelers. The Lobby host was very attentive and helpful with my bags and getting me safely on my way. Thanks for everything guys! Yes, I will absolutely stay at the Blue Chairs by the Sea again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada
Dec 29, 2010

Great Location! Comfy Bed!

great location, very convenient - you can sign your bills to the room both at the beach club during your sunning on the beach daytime and the rooftop bar for the sunset tea dance - so you don't have to worry about looking out for your credit cards or cash. Also have a spa facility on site. rooms are large, king size bed with shower only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a couple, try to book the "Romantic Dinner" at La Palapa. It doesn't come cheap approx. 250 US. but you get a seperate table far away form the restaurant on the beach, with a walkway cover with petals. One table for dinner and another one with two lounge chair to relax after dinner.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beefboat
Memphis
Dec 2, 2013

Blue Chairs PV Fun

Best location at the gay beach. Friendliest staff. Scenic rooftop daily happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michel's restaurant is excellent with very good Mexican wines and chocolate moose.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BearVic
Los Muertos Beach, Puerto Vallarta
Jul 11, 2012

great gay vacation

hotel was right in the center of the gay beach, people there including staff members go way above and beyond to make you feel welcomed!!! Erika the Concierge and Porris the front desk girl help you with anything that you need, and go way out of there way to HELP!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

couple of blocks is all the gay clubs you need for your stay.

Back to menu Return to top