$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
198 reviews
Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time. See full review

  • Kdcdough
  • Jan 23, 2015
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinny Dog Red
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 1, 2011

Safe, Friendly, Fun by The Sea

My first time to Puerto Vallarta and a memorable one! I was looking for a warm, sunny and active beach area with great photography potential. I had a number of places to choose from and for the price and location right on the beach, I think I made the best choice for me. I also wanted to be right in the middle of a gay male community and hey, I made new friends and found interesting, fun conversation every day. The hotel staff was always helpful, friendly and took an interest in me. During the evening, there was always some type of entertainment up on the roof with travelers and locals having a good time. I had room 309 which had a good view across a court yard and looked over the south end of the beach and mountains. This is the first time that I have actually had a hi-speed, wireless internet connection in a hotel room; Very nice to have! I will add that other travelers reported less though. I always had good, solid water pressure and HOT water for my showers. Maid service was excellent and never interfered with my running in, around and about. Now for the beach side cafe and bar area. The food was pretty good and a good selection. The dining area and beach was very nice and I ate there everyday. The wait staff needs some work. A few of the waiters were friendly and knew more than the basics of serving food and drink. However, the rest seemed to be at the front of their careers and I'm not sure if they're gonna make it. Service is mostly good enough but the thing I absolutely hated was being continuously bothered by the beach venders. It was so overwhelming at times I could only stand to stay out there for one drink than I had to get up and get out of there. Blue Chairs needs to reconsider this activity because there are businesses on down the beach that have big signs up letting the Venders know they're not to bother the guests. At the time of my departure the front desk was prompt with my check-out and was most helpful and interested in my stay. I had a short wait for my service to the airport and the hotel lobby was a pleasant place to wait and visit with other travelers. The Lobby host was very attentive and helpful with my bags and getting me safely on my way. Thanks for everything guys! Yes, I will absolutely stay at the Blue Chairs by the Sea again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Gordo Americano
Business
DC
Mar 3, 2009

Comfy beds and the sound of ocean waves

We got in late but were greeted by the lovely "miss" [...] who got us checked-in with a smile and helpful hints. Right away we knew we would feel comfortable and welcomed at this place. I was traveling with my Mexican boyfriend. The room had a "partial" ocean view which is what we paid for and was quite acceptable. The TV remote did not work and while i was in the bathroom my boyfriend was brave enough to use his finger to fiddle with the controls on the TV and get it working. We were promised a remote twice but one never came. I had read something similar in a review prior to going so it did not surprise me. We are easy-going and in love so we did not really care. The bed(s) were comfy and we ended up turning off the a/c and opening the sliding door to the balcony to hear the ocean waves lull us to sleep. The shower had ample hot water and the soap and shampoo provided were nice. The hotel is kind of at the end of the line so you might have to walk a few blocks to get to restaurants etc but the streets are cobblestones and charming so that is actually quite nice. We got there late so the pool/roof were not open which was a bummer. They were very nice and held our bags the next day as we strolled around PV after check-out. We paid about $90 for our room which was a little steep for me in terms of Mexican hotels but it was the high season and it could be considered a "specialty" hotel. Anytime you have a "gay friendly" place you know you are going to pay more for that convenience. The Mercurio which I had stayed at before was actually running a bit more which is why I booked at the Blue Chairs. All in all a decent value. A few words about Puerto Vallarta...it is beautiful and the Mexican people are wonderful. Don't buy into the hype about Mexico being dangerous. It is no more dangerous than the US...much less so in most places. Go to Vayans Cafe for a great ( and big) frozen coffee drink and good breakfast. Viva Mexico....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Tacos there is a place not too far called something like Paco's and they are open quite late. For breakfast or a break try Vayans which is also and internet cafe inside and has seating outside...very nice and cute waitstaff and good food with really good frapaccino and other frozen drinks in huge sizes for about $3. There are OXXO ( like 7-11) stores on every corner in PV so you are never far from a cool drink and a place to cool off if you get heated. PV is very safe...don't be afraid to wander around and take a local bus. There are lots of great places to eat. Don't be afraid to get off the beaten path a little

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 13, 2008

Convenient comfortable hotel.

My view room at Blue Chairs had a nice king bed and a great air conditioner. The view was spectacular from the room's balcony. The room was relatively quiet and secure and was cleaned well daily. The room's furniture and amenities were not trendy or new but were maintained well enough and were clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotels guest policy is a but strict, but useful in maintaining security. I would return to this hotel on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reasonable eats, good food at the beach restaurant. Cheap drinks snacks can be bought at the convenience store in front of the hotel. Happy hour 5-7 at Apache's, 8-10 at La Noche, 10-12 at Paco Paco's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcgraphix
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 14, 2009

A welcome surprise

All the staff were so nice and helpful. We were the first in a newly renovated room and was tastefully done. I had seen a room years ago and was very impressed with the renovation and the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renodean
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 6, 2009

Blue Chairs Fun

We had a great time at the Blue Chairs. It's not the Ritz but it's a great value. It was clean, the rooms were large, the drinks and food were reasonable. The service in the hotel, bars/restaurant was fantastic. The water did go out a few times while we were there, but it's an old building in an old part of Puerto Vallarta. The water was out for a couple of hours at a time but it wasn't that big of a deal really. The shows & entertainment were great. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to great restaurants, bars, shopping. We're going again this year with more friends. The 10% discount on food and drinks from Orbitz was also great! Just remember to ask for the discount at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jun 8, 2010

10 Day Stay

Blue Chairs is a great place for a beach vacation for gay travelers. Right out the front door, you're at the gay beach. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, housekeeping attentive. The wait staff at the beach and up at the rooftop bar are great. Many of the rooms have been remodeled and looked quite nice. Mine was not, but still clean and comfortable. A/C worked great. The only complaints I have would be about the construction noise from the rooftop expansion and the building next door. And the elevator seemed to be out of service regularly...sometimes with people in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The nightly entertainment at the Blue Sunset was great. The shows were fun and entertaining and the male dancers nice to look at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADXMatt
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 21, 2010

Location location location

Newly renovated rooms with flat screen TV, Free Internet, on the gay beach. Nightly entertainment on the roof top bar. Great view for sunset

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All your nightlife and restaurants are just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Jun 19, 2010

Great value during low season

Overall, our stay at the Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea was a pleasurable one. There were many positives about our trip and a few negatives. We decided to go in the middle of June which is Puerto Vallarta's low season. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly concierge ([...]) and front desk staff. However, the elevator wasn't working that day and there was some major construction going on (they are apparently adding another floor to the hotel). Several other hotels in the area were also under construction. When we entered the room we noticed a huge crane outside our balcony which was gone the following day. Since it was low season and rainy season was in a few weeks we realized this was a sensible time to renovate. However, it would have been appreciated if they would have notified us. I highly recommend using the concierge who is VERY helpful and always willing to make restaurant, excursion, and other suggestions. He will gladly make a dinner or excursion reservation for you. Make a point to utilize his knowledge and tip him accordingly at the end of your trip. He also has a great sense of humor while being professional at the same time.The third day of our stay our A/C stopped working. The front desk staff immediately upgraded us to the Junior Suite at no extra cost or trouble. I highly recommend paying the extra money to stay in the Junior Suite or better even though our Ocean Front room was comfortable.The hotel is directly behind the beach so if you like to be a "beach bunny" it's the PERFECT location. Also, it's within walking distance to all of the gay bars and restaurants. Try Vista Grill for an amazing dinner and spectacular view. Joe Jacks has excellent fish tacos. Stroll along the Malecon and be sure to go on at least one ocean excursion of some kind (sunset, beach, etc.). Almost every staff member we came across at the Blue Chairs was courteous, helpful, and friendly. It's not your typical all inclusive resort with a ton of amenities but it is a good value and experience for the price.One drawback of the beach (which is beautiful)is the constant peddling of goods from vendors. Don't be afraid to haggle with them. It can actually be fun. You will be asked on a regular basis to buy "things" so be prepared to buy something (they rely on the touristas to make a living). However, you can politely say no gracias and they eventually leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
repljg
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 20, 2011

Hot Men, Perfect Location, Great Bar

Right off, I have to say we didn't stay at the hotel, but enjoyed their services:great upper floor bar, helpful concierge, very friendly dancers, and perfect drinks. Staying their definitely when we return. WARNING on another place. Had my wallet lifted at TEASE another strip bar in the Romantic Zone BY AN EMPLOYEE. Must be newer because they're not on the maps as yet. AVOID IT; go to the Blue Chairs instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenverGuy
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 26, 2010

Nice renovations, location and staff

This isn't a 4-star hotel but they've done some nice renovations since I was there in 2007. Rooms have new decor, new beds, new a/c units, new bathrooms. Rooms were clean, but just don't expect fancy or spotless. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Beach area is great, located just in front of the hotel, and served cold drinks and tasty food all day to your beach chair. They also look close to finishing two new rooftop decks that look really nice! It will triple the amount of space on the roof and add a second pool. Oh, the rooftop bar plays dance music from about 3 pm - 11 pm so if you want a quieter room, ask for floors 1-4. But it does shut down at night so the noise wasn't a factor for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay bars are only a short cab ride (50 pesos) or 10 minute walk and there are lots of great restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top