$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADXMatt
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 21, 2010

Location location location

Newly renovated rooms with flat screen TV, Free Internet, on the gay beach. Nightly entertainment on the roof top bar. Great view for sunset

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All your nightlife and restaurants are just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KrackerMike
Business
Raymond, NH
Feb 11, 2010

Fabulous location on gay beach.

Blue Chairs Gay Resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach. Right on the gay beach. We basically had no complains with 2 minor exceptions. During our 7 day stay, the internet service only worked for the first 3 days. It was off the remaining time and the front desk staff kept on telling us that it would be working, (later, tomorrow, by the evening). It never was, even though it was availiable in the lobby. The final minor complaint was a nasty smell that was coming from the drain in our shower. We found that as long as it was covered by a wet towel the smell wasn't bad. Other than that, we would definately recommend staying here. We will be back again. Not to be missed are the very hot go-go boys at the rooftop bar every evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Blue chairs is a restaurant called The Swedes. Best breakfast by far, served til 2pm. Great dinner's as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2011

Not a bad choice for first time in PV

Overall, I was satisfied with Blue Chairs. Very convenient location a "stones throw" away from the beach. Loved drinking margaritas and ordering food right on the beach. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The concierge can connect with you several other fun activities if you want to take a break from the beach. I went on a zip line tour, which was awesome. I also had a nice massage from the spa (very reasonable prices compared to where I am from). Room furnishings were OK. The fridge was a bit dated and my bed was extra soft, but other than that it was an OK room with a decent view of the ocean. I would suggest requesting a room on the lower floors, as the music from the happy hour can get kind of loud from the rooftop bar. This was my first trip to PV, and I fell in love with it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Awesome get-away for the price!

The guys at Blue Chairs are very nice, very helpful and went the extra mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Delfines Gemelo's for the best diving experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Jun 19, 2010

Great value during low season

Overall, our stay at the Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea was a pleasurable one. There were many positives about our trip and a few negatives. We decided to go in the middle of June which is Puerto Vallarta's low season. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly concierge ([...]) and front desk staff. However, the elevator wasn't working that day and there was some major construction going on (they are apparently adding another floor to the hotel). Several other hotels in the area were also under construction. When we entered the room we noticed a huge crane outside our balcony which was gone the following day. Since it was low season and rainy season was in a few weeks we realized this was a sensible time to renovate. However, it would have been appreciated if they would have notified us. I highly recommend using the concierge who is VERY helpful and always willing to make restaurant, excursion, and other suggestions. He will gladly make a dinner or excursion reservation for you. Make a point to utilize his knowledge and tip him accordingly at the end of your trip. He also has a great sense of humor while being professional at the same time.The third day of our stay our A/C stopped working. The front desk staff immediately upgraded us to the Junior Suite at no extra cost or trouble. I highly recommend paying the extra money to stay in the Junior Suite or better even though our Ocean Front room was comfortable.The hotel is directly behind the beach so if you like to be a "beach bunny" it's the PERFECT location. Also, it's within walking distance to all of the gay bars and restaurants. Try Vista Grill for an amazing dinner and spectacular view. Joe Jacks has excellent fish tacos. Stroll along the Malecon and be sure to go on at least one ocean excursion of some kind (sunset, beach, etc.). Almost every staff member we came across at the Blue Chairs was courteous, helpful, and friendly. It's not your typical all inclusive resort with a ton of amenities but it is a good value and experience for the price.One drawback of the beach (which is beautiful)is the constant peddling of goods from vendors. Don't be afraid to haggle with them. It can actually be fun. You will be asked on a regular basis to buy "things" so be prepared to buy something (they rely on the touristas to make a living). However, you can politely say no gracias and they eventually leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Fun and relaxing week in PV

I read some really awful reviews for Blue Chairs and was a bit hesitant, but I'm glad I took a chance and booked here. The location can't be beat, right on the ocean. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The rooms? For the price I paid, it was a great deal. My room was comfortable and clean. he king size bed was fine, I had no problem sleeping. The water in my shower was hot enough (you need to leave it run for a couple minutes first). The rooftop bar was a lot of fun. The beach was fantastic, as were the waiters who made sure we were always well taken care of. Sure, I've stayed at fancier places, with all the extra bells and whistles. But, honestly, dollar for dollar, Blue Chairs is a great value and the staff is stellar. We had a great time and hope to return soon, thank you Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We mostly ate breakfast at Blue Chairs. The food was good and the value was great. Some other places to check out, The Back Alley Steak and Chop House (2 blocks down and around the corner from Los Amigos) was outstanding. Mama Rosa's (in El Centro) has a wonderful brunch buffet, a real treat. O'Rourke's Irish Pub on Olas Atlas was a friendly bunch and nice escape from the main scene. Los Amigos was a lot of fun too! I won't return to Paco's Ranch, at the door they mark tourists (with a wristband) different than locals (with a stamp) and then charge the tourists more. Even after I checked their calendar and went during a time specifically designated for drink specials, being a tourist I wasn't given the special and paid a premium price. Not that the prices are outrageous, it's the principle. Sorry Paco, you lost a future customer and I'll be sure to tell all my friends too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 28, 2010

On the beach

room was nice, but the construction in the room next to me was very noisy. once the remodeling is done it should be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
repljg
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 20, 2011

Hot Men, Perfect Location, Great Bar

Right off, I have to say we didn't stay at the hotel, but enjoyed their services:great upper floor bar, helpful concierge, very friendly dancers, and perfect drinks. Staying their definitely when we return. WARNING on another place. Had my wallet lifted at TEASE another strip bar in the Romantic Zone BY AN EMPLOYEE. Must be newer because they're not on the maps as yet. AVOID IT; go to the Blue Chairs instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenverGuy
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 26, 2010

Nice renovations, location and staff

This isn't a 4-star hotel but they've done some nice renovations since I was there in 2007. Rooms have new decor, new beds, new a/c units, new bathrooms. Rooms were clean, but just don't expect fancy or spotless. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Beach area is great, located just in front of the hotel, and served cold drinks and tasty food all day to your beach chair. They also look close to finishing two new rooftop decks that look really nice! It will triple the amount of space on the roof and add a second pool. Oh, the rooftop bar plays dance music from about 3 pm - 11 pm so if you want a quieter room, ask for floors 1-4. But it does shut down at night so the noise wasn't a factor for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay bars are only a short cab ride (50 pesos) or 10 minute walk and there are lots of great restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 15, 2009

Amazing Location For The Money

I read all the comments before we booked and was cautiously optimistic - what a surprise - this place was AMAZING. I guess others were expecting the Four Seasons or something for this price. Location is the best you could imagine. Right after we got there, we met some VERY friendly locals from Guadalajara who showed us around the area - there's so much here. The restaurant at Blue Chairs is SO good for the price! Eat breakfast there everyday. For something a little more gourmet, go about 4 properties down and eat at El Dorado (right on the beach.) Food is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I highly reccomend Vallarta Tours. If you want an adventure tour, Vallarta Tours is the biggest in Central America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top