$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada
Jun 20, 2010

The Puerto Vallarta Experience

Amidst the crashing waves of the beachfront that are just footsteps from your room, you can enjoy the Puerto Vallarta experience. Sit under a palapa or umbrella sipping your favorite beverage The resort offers shows and other entertainment at NO cost. The rooms are clean as housekeeping is efficient. The staff is willing to assist at EVERY turn. You can also get a first class massage. Ready to party? The resort is a short walk or convenient cab ride to many venues. The property's amenities are worthy for either a KING or a QUEEN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Blue Chairs offers a variety of shows of specific interest to the clientele.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cwbyrandy
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 3, 2009

Great Location and price

I had a good time while at this hotel and the location was exceptional. What I did have issues with is I reserved a room with a small kitchette but I didn't get this room. Also, one window did not have a curtain to cover it so I had to use a towel from the room to cover the window. My room wasn't cleaned the first day and a half due to the staff entering me into the wrong room in their computer. This was showing the room I was in as empty and not needing service. Other than these issues, the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KrackerMike
Business
Raymond, NH
Feb 11, 2010

Fabulous location on gay beach.

Blue Chairs Gay Resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach. Right on the gay beach. We basically had no complains with 2 minor exceptions. During our 7 day stay, the internet service only worked for the first 3 days. It was off the remaining time and the front desk staff kept on telling us that it would be working, (later, tomorrow, by the evening). It never was, even though it was availiable in the lobby. The final minor complaint was a nasty smell that was coming from the drain in our shower. We found that as long as it was covered by a wet towel the smell wasn't bad. Other than that, we would definately recommend staying here. We will be back again. Not to be missed are the very hot go-go boys at the rooftop bar every evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Blue chairs is a restaurant called The Swedes. Best breakfast by far, served til 2pm. Great dinner's as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2011

Not a bad choice for first time in PV

Overall, I was satisfied with Blue Chairs. Very convenient location a "stones throw" away from the beach. Loved drinking margaritas and ordering food right on the beach. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The concierge can connect with you several other fun activities if you want to take a break from the beach. I went on a zip line tour, which was awesome. I also had a nice massage from the spa (very reasonable prices compared to where I am from). Room furnishings were OK. The fridge was a bit dated and my bed was extra soft, but other than that it was an OK room with a decent view of the ocean. I would suggest requesting a room on the lower floors, as the music from the happy hour can get kind of loud from the rooftop bar. This was my first trip to PV, and I fell in love with it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Awesome get-away for the price!

The guys at Blue Chairs are very nice, very helpful and went the extra mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Delfines Gemelo's for the best diving experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Fun and relaxing week in PV

I read some really awful reviews for Blue Chairs and was a bit hesitant, but I'm glad I took a chance and booked here. The location can't be beat, right on the ocean. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The rooms? For the price I paid, it was a great deal. My room was comfortable and clean. he king size bed was fine, I had no problem sleeping. The water in my shower was hot enough (you need to leave it run for a couple minutes first). The rooftop bar was a lot of fun. The beach was fantastic, as were the waiters who made sure we were always well taken care of. Sure, I've stayed at fancier places, with all the extra bells and whistles. But, honestly, dollar for dollar, Blue Chairs is a great value and the staff is stellar. We had a great time and hope to return soon, thank you Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We mostly ate breakfast at Blue Chairs. The food was good and the value was great. Some other places to check out, The Back Alley Steak and Chop House (2 blocks down and around the corner from Los Amigos) was outstanding. Mama Rosa's (in El Centro) has a wonderful brunch buffet, a real treat. O'Rourke's Irish Pub on Olas Atlas was a friendly bunch and nice escape from the main scene. Los Amigos was a lot of fun too! I won't return to Paco's Ranch, at the door they mark tourists (with a wristband) different than locals (with a stamp) and then charge the tourists more. Even after I checked their calendar and went during a time specifically designated for drink specials, being a tourist I wasn't given the special and paid a premium price. Not that the prices are outrageous, it's the principle. Sorry Paco, you lost a future customer and I'll be sure to tell all my friends too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 28, 2010

On the beach

room was nice, but the construction in the room next to me was very noisy. once the remodeling is done it should be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 29, 2010

Great Location! Comfy Bed!

great location, very convenient - you can sign your bills to the room both at the beach club during your sunning on the beach daytime and the rooftop bar for the sunset tea dance - so you don't have to worry about looking out for your credit cards or cash. Also have a spa facility on site. rooms are large, king size bed with shower only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a couple, try to book the "Romantic Dinner" at La Palapa. It doesn't come cheap approx. 250 US. but you get a seperate table far away form the restaurant on the beach, with a walkway cover with petals. One table for dinner and another one with two lounge chair to relax after dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lonelyplanet
Business
New York, NY
Dec 29, 2010

great location

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It's right off the gay section of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daku
Business
San Diego
Aug 26, 2010

Great Value

This was a great hotel for the money. The rooms and bathrooms are very very clean. Nicely decorated with stone floors and countertops. Amazing location right on the beach. My only complaint is that the room had a noticeable musty odor (only reason this is a 4 star rating rather than 5 stars). The workers are extremely nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top