$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
312 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DareJunkie
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Great Location

The location to the gay beach is the best in the city. It's getting more and more gay friendly every year. We were there for 10 days, so it got to be a bit much, but very fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Inglewood
Aug 23, 2008

Great Location

Overall I was happy with my stay. The room was clean and has a rustic charm. There was no TV in the room however. The staff was very friendly. I love the location since I could easily walk anywhere in the Romantic Zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's free internet at the lobby and daily entertainment on the rooftop bar.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary O
Seattle
Feb 2, 2013

Great Beach Service

Extremely attentive waiters on the beach. Miguel y Luis were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PVRBoys
Portland, OR
Dec 10, 2010

Worth Looking Into

Have stayed here before. Our room was a junior suite with an ocean view. It was quite nice. The internet was sporadic, though, so we had to go to the lobby to connect. Beware the roof top bar plays music until after 10 PM, so if you go to bed early, you may not get much rest. However, it's great being right close to the beach (out the front door!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Coco's Kitchen for breakfast. Yum!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jul 13, 2008

Convenient comfortable hotel.

My view room at Blue Chairs had a nice king bed and a great air conditioner. The view was spectacular from the room's balcony. The room was relatively quiet and secure and was cleaned well daily. The room's furniture and amenities were not trendy or new but were maintained well enough and were clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotels guest policy is a but strict, but useful in maintaining security. I would return to this hotel on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reasonable eats, good food at the beach restaurant. Cheap drinks snacks can be bought at the convenience store in front of the hotel. Happy hour 5-7 at Apache's, 8-10 at La Noche, 10-12 at Paco Paco's.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Sep 15, 2009

Amazing Location For The Money

I read all the comments before we booked and was cautiously optimistic - what a surprise - this place was AMAZING. I guess others were expecting the Four Seasons or something for this price. Location is the best you could imagine. Right after we got there, we met some VERY friendly locals from Guadalajara who showed us around the area - there's so much here. The restaurant at Blue Chairs is SO good for the price! Eat breakfast there everyday. For something a little more gourmet, go about 4 properties down and eat at El Dorado (right on the beach.) Food is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I highly reccomend Vallarta Tours. If you want an adventure tour, Vallarta Tours is the biggest in Central America.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denco
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 17, 2013

Great place

Don't stay here if you're looking for a Marriott or Westin experience. This is a Mexican hotel and thus things are pretty laid back. The location is perfect, the rooms OK, and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a quick walk of all the major bars/clubs.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenverGuy
Denver, CO
Apr 26, 2010

Nice renovations, location and staff

This isn't a 4-star hotel but they've done some nice renovations since I was there in 2007. Rooms have new decor, new beds, new a/c units, new bathrooms. Rooms were clean, but just don't expect fancy or spotless. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Beach area is great, located just in front of the hotel, and served cold drinks and tasty food all day to your beach chair. They also look close to finishing two new rooftop decks that look really nice! It will triple the amount of space on the roof and add a second pool. Oh, the rooftop bar plays dance music from about 3 pm - 11 pm so if you want a quieter room, ask for floors 1-4. But it does shut down at night so the noise wasn't a factor for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay bars are only a short cab ride (50 pesos) or 10 minute walk and there are lots of great restaurants close by.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 8, 2008

Pleasant stay for the price

We had heard such mixed reviews of the hotel we were worried. However we found no problems and enjoyed our stay at the Blue Chairs. The only real problem was the noise that came from the rooftop bar, but that was only for a short time, from around 6-9. The location of the hotel is great, the hotel beach is nice but crowded. But that's a plus for most people because it's a great way to meet people and find out more about PV. I would recommend staying there if this is your first time in PV. Next year we will probably rent a condo though just for something different. Everything in PV is close to the hotel, the location is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from the hotel

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny -don't like cheap and dirty.
New York, NY
Nov 9, 2010

Great location for the price

While it was mostly a relaxing vacation, Blue Chairs afforded plenty of entertainment and a friendly 'home-base' for our trip. In the hotel we took in drag shows, enjoyed drinks at sunset over the pacific everyday, and even watched the go-go boys do their thing. Our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean, so that was great for private time as a couple. The gay stretch of beach is also right there if that's your thing. (I'm not one to lay out for too long). The things that could be improved are offering room service, cable television, and an ice machine on every floor. All minor. Overall this was a great hotel for it's price or otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel concierge was great, but definitely charged a mark-up for things like the canopy tour, zipline, ATV rental or even couples massage. Walk along the main street and you can find a better deal.

Back to menu Return to top