$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
192 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidinsac
Business
California, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Location can't be beat

The gay beach is at your doorstep & the nightlife is a short walk away. You'll never leave the area during your visit! Friendly staff and locals go to great lengths to ensure you have a good time. The rooms are "rustic" and the amenities few, but if you go without thinking it's the Ritz Carlton, you'll have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Start at La Noche around 11PM and all clubs are on the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP422
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2012

Great Location

This was our second trip to PV and knew the layout. Blue Chairs was our first choice because of the location. At our arrival and our departure, other guests were definitely expressing dissatisfaction but we had a good stay. The rooms are decent. Some are smaller than others. Mine had a kitchenette while my friend's was a smaller (average size) hotel room with a balconey. The two rooftop social areas were nice... one includes stripers. The beachfront is decent but too crowded. They're also realistic and have a 3-hour limit on any "guests" you may bring back to your room. Along those lines, they may be nit-picky with the charges: temporary tattoos may rub off on the towels so you have to replace those ($30). I would stay again but I wouldn't raise my mediocre expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice, rooftop dining experience at the corner or Pilatas and Amapas. Fajitia Republic was a great atmosphere but not exceptional. Sammy Tucan's is THE place to go for an American-style (unhealthy) breakfast. Check out the pastry shop across the street from it for some delicious snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael G.
Business
Bloomington, IN, USA
Mar 16, 2012

About as close to perfect as you can get!

Not the Hyatt or upscale-type hotel...just perfect for what we needed...the type places we stay. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff...the staff treated you like family. The cost was just right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are people selling excursions everywhere you turn while in PV. Totally trust Erica, the concierge at Blue Chairs. She'll not steer you in the wrong direction. All our excursions were exceptional thanks to her work! Also...seek out Ricardo in the beach cafe...one of the best servers I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer NYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Location

You really can't beat the location of this hotel. Right on the beach and with a beautiful view (although not from our room). The room was clean, but there was a mildew smell and the furniture and bedsheets have seen better days. Overall, the location and the friendly staff made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBBA53
Business
nc
Apr 21, 2012

My stay in Blue Chairs

Staff at beach and rooftop bar 5 star maid service very slack room not cleaned well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belladonas restaurant at the marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrewupover
Business
Denver, CO
May 14, 2012

Good Location, Clean

very nice location near beach, and easy access to shops, food, bars. Room was always very clean, and had good AC. The partial room view, was more than partial view which was a nice suprise. Have stayed there multiple times and always satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BearVic
Business
Los Muertos Beach, Puerto Vallarta
Jul 11, 2012

great gay vacation

hotel was right in the center of the gay beach, people there including staff members go way above and beyond to make you feel welcomed!!! Erika the Concierge and Porris the front desk girl help you with anything that you need, and go way out of there way to HELP!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

couple of blocks is all the gay clubs you need for your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich K.
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Great deal for the money and very friendly staff.

This was my partners fourth time and my first time in PV. Overall, I had a wonderful experience at Blue Chairs and in PV. I was a bit cautious at times after reading some of the negative reviews, none of which I experienced on this trip. Amenities: 3: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, television, and free WiFi were nice to have. WiFi worked about 80% of the time and was FREE so I really had no complaints. Beachside dining and bar were very convenient and relaxing. We had breakfast at the beachside bar the entire time. We were able to charge everything to the room and got a 10% discount at checkout for putting a 1200 pesos credit card payment down for use at the hotel. Location 5: It doesn't get any better than this........REALLY!!! We had a beach front view in the Romantic zone right across from the gay beach. Need I say more? Blue Chairs has there own section with friendly staff available to meet your needs. Room comfort and cleanliness 3: Average. Our room was clean. Housekeepers were friendly and did a good job with keeping us stalked with towels and toiletries. The only downfall is that a piece of drywall with access to the pipes was cut out behind our bathroom door. Showers were clean and water pressure was good but lacked holders for our toiletries. Tip the house keepers daily (20-30 pesos) as they change everyday. I learned this was customary in Mexico as opposed to waiting until your last day in US hotels. Staff: Staff are super friendly and always asking you if you need anything. They always greeted us with a smile when we came and went. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Andre manages the beachside bar and dining and does a wonderful job of making sure you are taken care of. His staff work hard. If you want to book a tour, I recommend that you go through the concierge, Erika. She will hook you up with reliable and safe tours. Just make sure you have your receipt/voucher for your tour. You do NOT want to arrive without it. Value: Blue Chairs is a 2-3 star hotel so I feel we got a good deal for what we paid. It's not a 4 or 5 star hotel but it served it's purpose for us. We wanted a gay, beachside hotel with friendly staff and a bed to sleep in and that's exactly what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Frida's and La Palapa restaurant/bar were great. Hot Frida's has been open for a year now and is a very casual place. It's a popular local hang out with friendly staff, good drinks, and great American bar food. La Palapa is right on the beach and has great food and drinks. They are more expensive than some of the other restaurants but you definitely get what you pay for. Great food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary O
Business
Seattle
Feb 2, 2013

Great Beach Service

Extremely attentive waiters on the beach. Miguel y Luis were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CurtO
Business
Chicago IL
Mar 19, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews!

My partner and I have been to PV several times and never stayed at the Blue Chairs until this trip. When we left, we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else! The staff is amazing (special thanks to Erika & Alfredo) And the waiters at the beach are great (thanks Fransisco & Luis). We had a bit of a medical emergency while on vacation and the staff directed us to the closest emergency room ( Med Assist on Insurgente) and when my partner was admitted overnight, the Blue chairs had flowers sent (delivered by Erika from the desk) It meant a lot to him! After the hospital stay they were asking how he was feeling and if they could do anything. NOW...this is not a marriott, it's a hotel in the old part of town, so don't expect a chocolate on your pillow every night, but it was clean, comfortable, we had hot water every day (contrary to the reviews we read) The elevator is definetly old and could probably be replaced, but it worked and we often took the stairs anyway. Overall, a great experience and would definetly come back......see ya next year BC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top