$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

Good Location

Nice staff and great view; right on the beach. The bed was comfortable and the maid kept the room clean. The sheets were unchanged for the entire seven nights, but the towels were changed daily. I paid extra for a kitchenette but the old gas stove had no knob for the oven. Matches were not provided to light the old gas stove either. There was a tiny saucepan and a small fry pan in the oven. The refrigerator had only one shelf. The kitchen sink leaked and I had to keep the bath mat on the floor in front of it to keep the floor from pooling with water. The sliding glass door did not lock. Everything inside the room is old, chipped, pushed back together crudely, and generally unappealing from a finished and aesthetic point of view. Prices for everything went down about five blocks away from the beach. The weather was beautiful and every day was perfect. The hotel restaurant was good. Anthropology (Club) also has a good show. The hotel is proud of their drag shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Supermercado (supermarket), I think the name is Riso is worth the walk. There are taxis all around as well. You should agree on the price for the ride before you get in though. Do all your money exchanging at the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bar & Beach Fly with a Brain
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 24, 2010

Gay Centerville MX

Although the previous reviews were a little confusing. Here is the Feb 2010 review. Fab rooms (marble floors and bathrooms). Cute kitchnette (could have stayed long term in the Junior Suite). Junior Suite is overhanging the beach with your own balcony. If you wish to meet people, this is "the" cental location in front of the "historical" gay "blue chairs" I cased the area and Abbey Hotel ( 2 minutes away) is another social option but Blue Chairs has got the beach in front of it, bar on the roof with shows, and very good food for the lazy traveler. No place is perfect but if wish for activity and don't mind a little noise from that, great first trip pick. All bars are quick walk away. (Don't stay outside of Romantic Zone of Puerto Vallarta). This is the fun, cute, cobble stone road area that is flaming gay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diana's Cruises is the best fun all you can drink, sun, eat and snorkel. You'll find it in PV.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Mar 31, 2010

Great hospitality, comfort and view

We enjoyed the friendly, attentive staff. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a great ocean front balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wesley
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Excellent Choice!

The hotel is remodeled and was very nice! The staff is very helpful and accomadating. The hotel is directly on the beach and has a restaurant that will bring you food and drinks all day while you enjoy the sun on the beach. My friends and I had an excellent time and would go back anytime. Highly recommended!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night life doesn't get started until midnight, so make sure to have a late dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shadygrove
Business
Spotsylvania, Spotsylvania Courthouse, VA 22551, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Manage Your Expectations

Before Booking at Blue Chairs, we read all the reviews on Orbitz and Trip Advisor. To say the least we were very reluctant to book because of the reviews, but we did anyway and I am glad we did! The staff is friendly, room clean, and prices are great. Keep this in mind when you plan you visit to Puerto Vallarta. Each country is different in regard to the hospitality industry. We Americans are spoiled when it comes to our expectations-so when visiting this beautiful city and you are staying at Blue Chairs-manage your expectations. It is a great hotel with plenty of activity and great service. The only two areas that need improvement is the hotel's wifi and the beach vendors, who constantly asking you to buy their goods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swedes restaurant is a short walk from Blue Chairs . They have a fabulous menu, terrific service, and prices are terrific. Diana Tours. Diana provides a all day boat excursion that provides snorkeling, a great lunch, and fabulous sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEEDO ON THE BEACH
Business
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

PV AND BLUE CHAIRS

BLUE CHAIRS HAD A GREAT LOCATION AND I LOVED THE SERVICE ON THE BEACH. STAFF WERE FREINDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

JOE AND JACKS FISH, ORDER THE RED SNAPPER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
42yo in Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

A fun place, but not fancy

The hotel underwent a renovation a few years ago and it's definitely a comfortable place to stay... but no, it's not fancy so don't expect that. Instead, it's in a great location, there is always something going on, and the staff are incredibly fun and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehmetnyc009
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great location great value

It is not the most luxurious accommodations but the hotel has the best location and great view from most of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidinsac
Business
California, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Location can't be beat

The gay beach is at your doorstep & the nightlife is a short walk away. You'll never leave the area during your visit! Friendly staff and locals go to great lengths to ensure you have a good time. The rooms are "rustic" and the amenities few, but if you go without thinking it's the Ritz Carlton, you'll have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Start at La Noche around 11PM and all clubs are on the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP422
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2012

Great Location

This was our second trip to PV and knew the layout. Blue Chairs was our first choice because of the location. At our arrival and our departure, other guests were definitely expressing dissatisfaction but we had a good stay. The rooms are decent. Some are smaller than others. Mine had a kitchenette while my friend's was a smaller (average size) hotel room with a balconey. The two rooftop social areas were nice... one includes stripers. The beachfront is decent but too crowded. They're also realistic and have a 3-hour limit on any "guests" you may bring back to your room. Along those lines, they may be nit-picky with the charges: temporary tattoos may rub off on the towels so you have to replace those ($30). I would stay again but I wouldn't raise my mediocre expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice, rooftop dining experience at the corner or Pilatas and Amapas. Fajitia Republic was a great atmosphere but not exceptional. Sammy Tucan's is THE place to go for an American-style (unhealthy) breakfast. Check out the pastry shop across the street from it for some delicious snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top