$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin92103
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2014

Nice hotel

I have read so many other reviews saying this hotel was not worth going to, I must strongly disagree. I was on the 4th floor, with a partial ocean view, and our room was great. Yes, it is a bit out dated, but overall, it was really not bad. The elevator is very slow, and small. The hotel is going to through an expansion, like the rest of PV, but other than that, it is rather quiet. The only thing I didn't like is the food at their beach bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shadygrove
Business
Spotsylvania, Spotsylvania Courthouse, VA 22551, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Manage Your Expectations

Before Booking at Blue Chairs, we read all the reviews on Orbitz and Trip Advisor. To say the least we were very reluctant to book because of the reviews, but we did anyway and I am glad we did! The staff is friendly, room clean, and prices are great. Keep this in mind when you plan you visit to Puerto Vallarta. Each country is different in regard to the hospitality industry. We Americans are spoiled when it comes to our expectations-so when visiting this beautiful city and you are staying at Blue Chairs-manage your expectations. It is a great hotel with plenty of activity and great service. The only two areas that need improvement is the hotel's wifi and the beach vendors, who constantly asking you to buy their goods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swedes restaurant is a short walk from Blue Chairs . They have a fabulous menu, terrific service, and prices are terrific. Diana Tours. Diana provides a all day boat excursion that provides snorkeling, a great lunch, and fabulous sightseeing.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEEDO ON THE BEACH
Business
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

PV AND BLUE CHAIRS

BLUE CHAIRS HAD A GREAT LOCATION AND I LOVED THE SERVICE ON THE BEACH. STAFF WERE FREINDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

JOE AND JACKS FISH, ORDER THE RED SNAPPER

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
42yo in Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

A fun place, but not fancy

The hotel underwent a renovation a few years ago and it's definitely a comfortable place to stay... but no, it's not fancy so don't expect that. Instead, it's in a great location, there is always something going on, and the staff are incredibly fun and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehmetnyc009
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great location great value

It is not the most luxurious accommodations but the hotel has the best location and great view from most of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidinsac
Business
California, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Location can't be beat

The gay beach is at your doorstep & the nightlife is a short walk away. You'll never leave the area during your visit! Friendly staff and locals go to great lengths to ensure you have a good time. The rooms are "rustic" and the amenities few, but if you go without thinking it's the Ritz Carlton, you'll have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Start at La Noche around 11PM and all clubs are on the block.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP422
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2012

Great Location

This was our second trip to PV and knew the layout. Blue Chairs was our first choice because of the location. At our arrival and our departure, other guests were definitely expressing dissatisfaction but we had a good stay. The rooms are decent. Some are smaller than others. Mine had a kitchenette while my friend's was a smaller (average size) hotel room with a balconey. The two rooftop social areas were nice... one includes stripers. The beachfront is decent but too crowded. They're also realistic and have a 3-hour limit on any "guests" you may bring back to your room. Along those lines, they may be nit-picky with the charges: temporary tattoos may rub off on the towels so you have to replace those ($30). I would stay again but I wouldn't raise my mediocre expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice, rooftop dining experience at the corner or Pilatas and Amapas. Fajitia Republic was a great atmosphere but not exceptional. Sammy Tucan's is THE place to go for an American-style (unhealthy) breakfast. Check out the pastry shop across the street from it for some delicious snacks.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael G.
Business
Bloomington, IN, USA
Mar 16, 2012

About as close to perfect as you can get!

Not the Hyatt or upscale-type hotel...just perfect for what we needed...the type places we stay. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff...the staff treated you like family. The cost was just right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are people selling excursions everywhere you turn while in PV. Totally trust Erica, the concierge at Blue Chairs. She'll not steer you in the wrong direction. All our excursions were exceptional thanks to her work! Also...seek out Ricardo in the beach cafe...one of the best servers I've ever had.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer NYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Location

You really can't beat the location of this hotel. Right on the beach and with a beautiful view (although not from our room). The room was clean, but there was a mildew smell and the furniture and bedsheets have seen better days. Overall, the location and the friendly staff made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBBA53
Business
nc
Apr 21, 2012

My stay in Blue Chairs

Staff at beach and rooftop bar 5 star maid service very slack room not cleaned well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belladonas restaurant at the marina

Back to menu Return to top