$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuckyJD79
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

First time in PV.

My expectations were low after reading a lot of the reviews. As a thirty something traveling solo, I found everything to be adequate and the staff extremely friendly. I billed three food/bar transactions to my room and I was charged properly. They didn't hesitate to give me the 10% discount on room charges that was advertised as part of my package. The requirement to wear a wristband is understandable given some of the security issues they mentioned (items being stolen by visitors). It was a little funky that I couldn't show my friends my room without paying a visitor fee. There is also a fee for having someone over for the night. This seems to be a common practice at the surrounding hotels. The experience was pleasant, but after learning the area, I'd consider staying somewhere else. You don't need to be on the beach, and as a local bar owner mentioned, they seem to be riding on their reputation for being the first gay resort on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the newly opened "Si Senor" restaurant on the beach. The food was delicious and thanks to the exchange rate the prices were very low. Our server Eduardo was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Close but not quite there

This hotel is located beachside and has a terrific view of the ocean from most every room. The staff is very friendly and attempts to be helpful but they often fall short. People often overcrowd the elevator so it is breaks each day. Essential items you take for granted (like working coffeemakers, hairdryer in your room, iron, etc.) all have to be checked out at the front desk (coffee is free the first day and not afterward?). We had some light bulbs out in our room and were told they don't have any replacements? Also you have to wear a wrist band during your entire stay and I'm still not certain why as the hotel is available to anyone until 11 p.m. because of their rooftop bar hours. All and all we met some really nice people there and enjoyed our stay. With a little more attentiveness to simple creature comforts this place could easily become competitive with the condos nearby because of the great location. Oh and the beds are very comfortable, which is not always the case at other places I've stayed in Mexico. The rooftop bar was LOUD so the ocean had to compete, but often lost that battle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LaPalapa has great food but you pay the price. For 8 pecos you can buy the brunch at Tropacana complete with juice, coffee, cereal, fruit and plenty of meat and egg selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big JM
Business
Chicago
Dec 17, 2012

Great location and gay all the way!

The hotel was OK. Staff is amazing. Everything is an extra charge.....even coffee. Location is great, can be a bit noisey with the construction around and the dance bar on the roof. The location is great and the gay beach was fantastic. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Salvador
Business
Dallas
Dec 31, 2012

Party Warning!

The too loud music from the bar housed in the hotel was an intrusion on any any attempts to get early and restful sleep or to experience any quiet moments with the sounds of the ocean at night. I had to wait until the bar closed and the music was silenced before strolling and appreciating the night magic along the the beach @ at night for those special moments we yearn and search for when one is on vacation. A notification that the bar closed a 11pm would have been greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve O Mexico
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 17, 2013

Overall Good Experience - Great for first time visitors

The hotel was right on the beach, so that was THE major benefit of the hotel. The Romantic Zone in PV is pretty compact and that made thelocation "at the end of the town" OK. We had a jr suite with "ocean view", but since it was on the second floor, you could only see the ocean from part of the balcony (the blue chairs restaurant was in front of our room so we were slightly obstructed). We still enjoyed the room - it was one of the updated rooms - I guess all are not. It is a bit noisy with the construction on the adjacent property (which I understand has been going on for over 4 years), but nothing that was too inconvenient. The AC worked fine and if the noise did get too loud, we closed the patio door, turned on the AC and the TV and all was good. Above all, the staff is excellent, Erica's happy attitude and Alex's friendly smile were great and our check in host (sorry - forgot his name) was very friendly and accomidating. - we felt very welcome. Our room was cleaned very nicely every day. Overall a very good experience. Not the cheepest place in town, but they get it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boofagin
Business
Pfugerville Texas
Mar 20, 2013

Location, staff, and price

The reasons why you would stay at Blue Chairs are location, staff, and price. My partner and I had a fantastic time at Blue Chairs and would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zanate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wheeldon77
Business
San Diego
Mar 24, 2013

Fun Spot

over all it is a great bang for your buck. the location is the best in PV for a gay get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

lots of fun in the Hotel and on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uoftexgreg95
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 4, 2013

Not the lap of luxury, but a fun place to stay

This was the first time I had vacationed alone so I wanted to pick a gay hotel to meet like minded people. I thought the staff was nice but at times a little over bearing. When informing me of my total tab for the beach and bar areas one day, one of the front desk people informed me that I "drank alot". I informed him that his staff "drank alot too" and it was on MY tab. Other than that, the staff was nice and friendly. The beach area was fun and I met a ton of fun people. The bar and grill staff at both the beach bar and upstairs bar are super nice. The room are big, but a bit dated. I wouldn't call them comfortable but there okay. The furniture is pretty rickety in the rooms but the wifi worked which was important to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 12, 2013

The best friendly staff!!!!!!!

This is my second time stay at blue chairs, and the rooms and amenities they don't change at all, they need new beds, the towels are very old and the decor really poor. But the reason I'm stay there is the staff!! Starting from Alberto at reservations, Francisco at the front desk, and every waiter!! Kenny,Miguel, Luis,etc etc!!!!! Amazing! The service is behind! they make me field part of their family I already miss them! The pick up service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La palapa restaurant, a few steps from blue chair hotel great walk from the beach. Excellent service and as a Mexican, the food was amassing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos sfpapi
Business
San Francisco California
Feb 4, 2014

Better than I expected

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and I was never impressed. The reason I decided to stay this time was because of location to the beach. I must say that they have improved the rooms, specially the one I stayed # 204 with double beds and partial ocean view even though I paid for a ocean front room, it's always a battle to try to get what you pay for in PV. As nice as the newly renovated room was, their workmen ship and attentions to detail is lacking such as the dresser drawer handles kept coming off because of lack of screws, bead spreads were different colors and types on each of the beds. The bathroom was very nice and clean but the way the door opened into it, you had to walk into the shower in order to get to the toilet because the door got in the way..... very strange, whom ever designed it was high on something. The room was very clean. I do have to say that they are really doing great renovations that this hotel has in need of for a very long time, hopefully they will address some of the things i mentioned in order for them to reach a three or four star rating. A new pool is in the process of being finished and from the looks of it looks like it will be a great one. The in room internet worked great!! and it was free a big ++++ I hope that hotel renovations are finished when I return next year because I plan to stay there again. Keep up the good work. Carlos Rosales

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top