$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
197 reviews
Home away from Home

So welcoming sweet smiles reception warm at first i felt lost untilvi walked into hotel as if they... See full review

  • Miguel T.
  • Jul 23, 2015
Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time. See full review

  • Kdcdough
  • Jan 23, 2015
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Property features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Nearby attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar and John
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Sep 1, 2011

A Perfect Beach Party!

Perfect location if you are looking for beach, fun and making new friends. The staff is very helpful, professional and extremely friendly. Room and public areas are well kept. For the value, you can't ask for more. We stayed for a week at the end of August and had a terrific time in a junior suite with excellent view and service. Only problems (and they were minor ones): the room needs better lighting, a microwave and maybe a little more items in the kitchenette. But really, none of that made any difference. The reception staff (Martin, Boris, Frederick) were fun and welcoming. The waiters at the excellent beach bar and restaurant (Moises, Francisco, Pedro, etc.) and at the fun rooftop bar (David, Alberto, etc.) are excellent. Thanks to Ramona and Carlos too. The whole team does an incredible job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You can walk to the beach straight from your room, have drinks and delicious snacks; sit on a blue beach chair and relax; under a "palapa" (or under the burning sun if you prefer). You don't have to worry about bringing cash with you since you can charge it to your room (our final tab was accurate and the prices good). And your belongings are taken care of while you swim or go for a walk! Perfect!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelstud
Canada
Mar 28, 2014

Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its main selling point but my buddy and I found the place surpassing our own and others' expectations. We had an awesome room that was always clean and the AC was amazing! The beds we super cozy and they supplied us with bottled water the entire time. The staff was helpful, appreciative and genuinely happy to have us there. Even though half the building was under construction and being renovated the noise levels weren't all that bad. If you also wanted to bring a guest over for the night, unlike other places, Blue chairs was extremely accommodating. This was my first time at Blue chairs and we'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar and John
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Aug 11, 2012

Second time and TWICE as good!

Our second holiday at the Blue Chairs and, once again, we had a great trip and a wonderful experience. Of course the location and the environment is perfect; right on the gay beach, walking distance to all the clubs and amenities ,amazing views, sunsets and, most importantly, a sense of safety and security everywhere. The convenience of fine and reasonable food and drinks served handsomely on the beach must also be mentioned. The staff, Jorge ,Erica and Boris at the front desk ,Andres and his staff on the beach, Gabriel in security and even our maid Andrea did their usual fine jobs to make our stay as perfect as possible. Make sure to catch the shows and the dancers at the rooftop bar. There is something going on every night. We visited all the cafes, clubs and restaurants and never needed even a cab due to the hotels perfect location. We look forward to our next visit ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OakLawnTraveler
Couples
Dallas, TX
Mar 4, 2009

Great place!

Great location on the gay beach! Not the ritz but clean and comfortable. Drag show on the roof is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bananacafe down the street is great!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Denver, CO
Aug 7, 2009

Week long stay

I found it to be a very nice stay. Clean rooms and recreational activities easily coordinated or scheduled right next door. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great selections.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anything Goes College Students
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2010

Excellent Value!!

We are a group of young travelers (Three 22 y.o. males) so all of the negative comments that are posted previously didn't bother us, we just wanted a great price and a great location! I have to say that the Blue Chairs is truly and excellent value! The oceanfront room was nicely remodeled with a huge shower, flat screen TV, and a great balcony. We did get a chance to see other high end hotels (such as casa cupula) which were absolutely stunning, but during the day everyone comes down to the beach in front of blue chairs anyway so why pay all that money to be inconvenienced by the location?!? The best thing about Puerto Vallarta is returning to see people you met on your previous trip. This was our second visit and we saw so many familiar faces and met so many new ones that you can't help but feel very comfortable. Plus you can't beat the weather! If I had so pick one thing that the Blue Chairs could improve upon it would be better housekeeping. When we arrived the room was completely clean and ready, but it was missing beach and bath towels. Just small things like that, which didn't bother us, but could be fixed. Also, there is minimal construction on the rear end of the hotel, so request an ocean front room if you want to be away from it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to be in the middle of the action without breaking the bank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Club Manana is the largest and most popular gay club in PV. If you like to dance and want to go where the people are you'll probably end up at Manana every night (otherwise, there are tons of cool, little martini bars all over the place). They sell a week pass to manana for 400 pesos which starts on Wednesdays. This will save you a couple 100 pesos if you plan on dancing a lot! Plus I think you get discounts at local restaurants and shops, but don't quote me on it :)

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rulis and Bobby
Couples
El paso, Texas
Oct 17, 2010

Mexico 2010

Everyone was very courteous and very helpful. Every little detail was seen and every little thing we need was tended for. Great hotel will be coming back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice pizzeria a few blocks, but can.t remember the name.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Caney
Sep 8, 2008

Excellent Location

Blue Chairs is well located for the Traveler. It is not a five star resort, but the staff is very friendly and the location is directly on the beach and rooms over look the bay. The rooms are clean and very servicable. I will stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On the nearby Olafs Altas you will find a cafe called Villasol Wonderful coffee, book exchange and light meals or pastery. Also try Apachies for more complete meals.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ericbythebay
Friends
San Francisco,Ca
May 2, 2009

Very Pleased

Hotel was wonderful and our rooms had views of Banderas Bay! I have been going to PVallarta for about 10 years and this hotel was no worse than any others I have stayed. It has beach frontage and staff was very helpful if not better than higher priced places. I have stayed here before and it is much improved. Remember if your looking for Hyatt and perfection this hotel isnt for you. Its very Mexico and ozzes with charm. Location is perfect and you can walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2009

Great Place to Stay

Spent one great week here. Great service all around, starting with getting us checked in and settled into the air-conditioned room, which was very spacious and artistically decorated. The balcony had an excellent view of the ocean and the hotel is right at the center of the main beach. Friendly bartenders at the rooftop bar, with more great views and nice dipping pool. Beside restaurant out front has great breakfast and oceanside snacks, with more friendly service. A great affordable place to stay on a vacation in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 5, 2008

GREAT HOTEL

THE HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND THE HOTEL WAS CLEAN AND INVITING, THE OCEAN VIEW ROOMS WERE PERFECT. THE ROOFTOP BAR IS A MUST AFTER RETURNING FROM THE BEACH AND THE NIGHTLY ACTIVETY CAN BE VERY FESITIVE. THE BEST DRAG SHOW I HAVE EVER SEEN! DO NOT MISS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MANY GREAT PLACES TO DINE IN PV. I LIKE TO EXPLORE DOWNTOWN JUST MINUTES FROM HOTEL AND EXPERIENCE A DIFFERENT REST. FOR BREAKFAST AND DINNER NIGHTLY. KIT KATS FOR BREAKFAST GOOD. LUNCH ALWAYS GOOD ON BEACH AT BLUE CHAIRS, MANY GREAT REST. FOR DINNER TO EXPERIENCE.

Back to menu Return to top