$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay and lesbian beach resort located in front of the ocean
. Hotel Blue Chairs is located on the beachfront in the "Romantic Zone" of Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico. Just a few short blocks from the center of town and entertainment.
This beachfront hotel is a few steps from restaurants, bars, shops and some of the most popular night clubs of Vallarta. When you stay at Blue Chairs you will be in the heart of gay zone and in a traditional elegant Mexican hotel. Blue Chairs Hotel is incomparable to any other local gay hotel. Our hotel is ideal and known throughout the world. We are the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access and with deluxe services at reasonable cost.
We invite you to come met us, we are sure that you will return!

All rooms come with the following amenities:
Room Service, Towels & Beach Towels, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Shampoo and Soap, Daily Maid service.

Hotel Blue Chairs Facilities
40 Unit Beach Front Resort, Memory Foam Brand Mattresses in rooms, Gay Beach Club, Rooftop Blue Sunset Restaurant & Bar, Blue Moon Salon (you can rent it for special occasions), Rooftop Pool with Loungers, Blue Chairs Logo Boutique, Front Desk Safes are available, Concierge Services, SPA Services, Cab service, Room Service, Wireless Internet Service (Wi Fi), Elevator, 24 hour Security service, Located in the heart of Gay Puerto Vallarta, Walking distance to Vallarta's Gay Bars, Gay Night Clubs and great shopping.
*18 and over only, no pets allowed.

Blue Chairs Spa
An oasis far from the daily thing. It imagines body and mind smoothly moving to a relaxed rate. Stress surrenders, the balance recovers and the energy renews.
Our mission is to contribute to its health and well-being when offering to him warm, safe, clean and beautiful the surroundings, relaxing experience like no other, dedicated to balance the body and to harmonize its mind and soul.
We have therapists certificates to offer a service to him of totally professional quality and Renew and indulge your mind, body, and soul with one of our Spa treatments, including massages facials and body treatments.
Let us become your personal refuge for total relaxation!

Blue Chairs Restaurant & Bar daily menus, feature breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving daily fresh meats, fruits and vegetables. Deliciously prepare using only the freshest ingredients; Chef Raulblends fresh seafood with regional fruits and spices to create great dishes.
Enjoy the relaxing surroundings by the perfect setting for a sunny afternoon at los Muertos Beach.
The place to meet!!! in Gay Paradise Puerto Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hecda1
Business
dyer, IN
Aug 15, 2014

First time in Vallarta and Bad hotel choice

I'm writing because of our recent trip we took to Puerto Vallarta Mexico. I was very displeased with the entire stay, because of the construction that was going on everyday and very early in the morning. Our room was dusty, and shower rods were on the floor, and the hotel towels smelled. Construction workers were banging on the walls and were on our balcony yelling waking us up early morning. Aside from this issue the staff was very pleasant all around. But in the future if we had known that the hotel was in the middle of a renovation, we would have booked elsewhere. Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Paco's Ranch..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Solon0913
Business
Concord,California
Jul 3, 2013

Disaster under construction in a perfect location!

The first room was not acceptable,mold on the walls and paint bubbles on walls, musty moldy smell. The second room given to me after I complained was bigger and smelled better but the A/C did not work 80 percent of the time. I was awaken at approximate 0749 am by banging on my wall due to construction. The hotel is a disaster of noise, dirt and bad service by some of the staff. The hotel was 90 percent empty and had new rooms but none were offered. They kept us in the old rooms with old old old furniture and no working A/C. One night I slept at another place where the air worked. Found bugs in the bed, noise terrible all day from construction, dusty and no privacy since all the workers from construction would see in the room/terrace. Kenny and Miguel were the best of all the waiters and the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack....excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wheeldon77
Business
San Diego
Mar 24, 2013

Fun Spot

over all it is a great bang for your buck. the location is the best in PV for a gay get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

lots of fun in the Hotel and on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Salvador
Business
Dallas
Dec 31, 2012

Party Warning!

The too loud music from the bar housed in the hotel was an intrusion on any any attempts to get early and restful sleep or to experience any quiet moments with the sounds of the ocean at night. I had to wait until the bar closed and the music was silenced before strolling and appreciating the night magic along the the beach @ at night for those special moments we yearn and search for when one is on vacation. A notification that the bar closed a 11pm would have been greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBBA53
Business
nc
Apr 21, 2012

My stay in Blue Chairs

Staff at beach and rooftop bar 5 star maid service very slack room not cleaned well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belladonas restaurant at the marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuckyJD79
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

First time in PV.

My expectations were low after reading a lot of the reviews. As a thirty something traveling solo, I found everything to be adequate and the staff extremely friendly. I billed three food/bar transactions to my room and I was charged properly. They didn't hesitate to give me the 10% discount on room charges that was advertised as part of my package. The requirement to wear a wristband is understandable given some of the security issues they mentioned (items being stolen by visitors). It was a little funky that I couldn't show my friends my room without paying a visitor fee. There is also a fee for having someone over for the night. This seems to be a common practice at the surrounding hotels. The experience was pleasant, but after learning the area, I'd consider staying somewhere else. You don't need to be on the beach, and as a local bar owner mentioned, they seem to be riding on their reputation for being the first gay resort on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the newly opened "Si Senor" restaurant on the beach. The food was delicious and thanks to the exchange rate the prices were very low. Our server Eduardo was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr K
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 14, 2011

Great location

The drawing card is the location---practically on the beach. With the patio door open you can hear the sound of the ocean waves and feel the breeze blowing gently. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable. It takes a while for the water to heat up in the shower but once it gets hot its ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant(s) is tasty. Overall, a decent value. I would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2011

WARNING! THEY STOLE FROM MY ROOM

Hands down the worst experience of my life. Very precious stuff was stolen from my room. Cash and my engagement ring. When I whent to report it to the staff, they did not help me what so ever and then they implied that I was lying. When I asked for the general manager, [...], the staff stated that he was not coming because he was extremely busy. The next thing they told me was to go to the police station but they did not even offer me an addres nor assistance on how to get there. I waited for the manager for close to two hours and when he came down he was extremely annoyed, aggressive, and confrontational. This was the last thing I was expecting. When I asked him if he had found anything about shad had been stolen from me he said that it was none of the staff. I was the only one in the room and no one but me and there staff had access to the room so it was either me or my stuff mysteriously disappeared from the room. Draw your own conclusion but it does not take a roket scientist to figure out how the stuff disappeared. If you are planning on staying there my advise is that you don't and run away from these place as fast as you can and don't look back and spread the word so this does not happen to someone else. I filed a report with the police station, the us embassy, proffeco, and have an interview with a newspaper to publish my experience. I had booked the hotel for 5 nights but only stayed there for two and they did not even offer to refund my money. I went back in two different occasions to look for the manager and they finally told me that he was on vacation for the next 6 days. How convenient. This just makes me more suspicious. I will keep posting until management gives me an answer. Thank you for reading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 5, 2011

great location,

great location... right on the gay beach and a 10-minute walk to most of the gay nightlife and restaurants. accommodations are adequate but nothing spectacular (no fridge or minibar, not even an alarm clock), but the room was clean, there was air conditioning, a flatscreen TV, and a shower with enough room for two. **be warned: regardless of how many people are on the reservation (I was there alone and made the reservation for two), they charge what I've dubbed a "trick fee" -- meaning if you bring in "guests" they charge 200 pesos for up to three hours or 400 pesos for an overnight guest. kind of ridiculous in my opinion, but overall a good place to stay if you're looking for convenience and no frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

la noche, club manana, and paco's ranch are all within a 10 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinny Dog Red
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 1, 2011

Safe, Friendly, Fun by The Sea

My first time to Puerto Vallarta and a memorable one! I was looking for a warm, sunny and active beach area with great photography potential. I had a number of places to choose from and for the price and location right on the beach, I think I made the best choice for me. I also wanted to be right in the middle of a gay male community and hey, I made new friends and found interesting, fun conversation every day. The hotel staff was always helpful, friendly and took an interest in me. During the evening, there was always some type of entertainment up on the roof with travelers and locals having a good time. I had room 309 which had a good view across a court yard and looked over the south end of the beach and mountains. This is the first time that I have actually had a hi-speed, wireless internet connection in a hotel room; Very nice to have! I will add that other travelers reported less though. I always had good, solid water pressure and HOT water for my showers. Maid service was excellent and never interfered with my running in, around and about. Now for the beach side cafe and bar area. The food was pretty good and a good selection. The dining area and beach was very nice and I ate there everyday. The wait staff needs some work. A few of the waiters were friendly and knew more than the basics of serving food and drink. However, the rest seemed to be at the front of their careers and I'm not sure if they're gonna make it. Service is mostly good enough but the thing I absolutely hated was being continuously bothered by the beach venders. It was so overwhelming at times I could only stand to stay out there for one drink than I had to get up and get out of there. Blue Chairs needs to reconsider this activity because there are businesses on down the beach that have big signs up letting the Venders know they're not to bother the guests. At the time of my departure the front desk was prompt with my check-out and was most helpful and interested in my stay. I had a short wait for my service to the airport and the hotel lobby was a pleasant place to wait and visit with other travelers. The Lobby host was very attentive and helpful with my bags and getting me safely on my way. Thanks for everything guys! Yes, I will absolutely stay at the Blue Chairs by the Sea again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top