$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
191 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelstud
Business
Canada
Mar 28, 2014

Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its main selling point but my buddy and I found the place surpassing our own and others' expectations. We had an awesome room that was always clean and the AC was amazing! The beds we super cozy and they supplied us with bottled water the entire time. The staff was helpful, appreciative and genuinely happy to have us there. Even though half the building was under construction and being renovated the noise levels weren't all that bad. If you also wanted to bring a guest over for the night, unlike other places, Blue chairs was extremely accommodating. This was my first time at Blue chairs and we'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoopyAppleBrain
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

My stay at the Blue Chairs

I was surprised at the check in. I told them my name, signed the papers for the keys and I was shown to my room by a security person. It was as simple as that. The roof top cafe and bar prepared the meals and drinks we had there even in between the normal eating hours with no problems at all. The room was clean and kept that way. If we asked for anything, we got it. I spent the evenings and nights at clubs and arrived at my room very late, or very early in the morning and with a posted sign, do not disturb everything was just fine. There were no problems at all the location was just across the street from the beach with a restaurant in between that served us on the beach with drinks or food, which ever we happened to want or need. All the restaurants, clubs, and shops were within walking distance of the Hotel, also. The staff was very friendly. I would and possibly will stay there again in the future. I would give the Blue Chairs by the Sea a definate, thumbs up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping, dining, and dance clubs are within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 19, 2008

Very frendly and helpfull

The blue chairs hotel give me the satisfaction that ,I was'nt expecting with the very frendly staff and clean room on time close to the beach,and the service in there was also great with all the staff I'm going back this next February just because I had a great vacation,also is close to everything in walking distance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk distance to differnt restaurants and bars all kinds of bussines around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chitown traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2010

Great location, great value

had a great time and location was perfect. had a couple mishaps at check-in w/ room a/c not working and toilet not working, but fortunately was able to be moved to different room after a bit back and forth

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar and John
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 11, 2012

Second time and TWICE as good!

Our second holiday at the Blue Chairs and, once again, we had a great trip and a wonderful experience. Of course the location and the environment is perfect; right on the gay beach, walking distance to all the clubs and amenities ,amazing views, sunsets and, most importantly, a sense of safety and security everywhere. The convenience of fine and reasonable food and drinks served handsomely on the beach must also be mentioned. The staff, Jorge ,Erica and Boris at the front desk ,Andres and his staff on the beach, Gabriel in security and even our maid Andrea did their usual fine jobs to make our stay as perfect as possible. Make sure to catch the shows and the dancers at the rooftop bar. There is something going on every night. We visited all the cafes, clubs and restaurants and never needed even a cab due to the hotels perfect location. We look forward to our next visit ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OakLawnTraveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 4, 2009

Great place!

Great location on the gay beach! Not the ritz but clean and comfortable. Drag show on the roof is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bananacafe down the street is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 7, 2009

Week long stay

I found it to be a very nice stay. Clean rooms and recreational activities easily coordinated or scheduled right next door. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anything Goes College Students
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2010

Excellent Value!!

We are a group of young travelers (Three 22 y.o. males) so all of the negative comments that are posted previously didn't bother us, we just wanted a great price and a great location! I have to say that the Blue Chairs is truly and excellent value! The oceanfront room was nicely remodeled with a huge shower, flat screen TV, and a great balcony. We did get a chance to see other high end hotels (such as casa cupula) which were absolutely stunning, but during the day everyone comes down to the beach in front of blue chairs anyway so why pay all that money to be inconvenienced by the location?!? The best thing about Puerto Vallarta is returning to see people you met on your previous trip. This was our second visit and we saw so many familiar faces and met so many new ones that you can't help but feel very comfortable. Plus you can't beat the weather! If I had so pick one thing that the Blue Chairs could improve upon it would be better housekeeping. When we arrived the room was completely clean and ready, but it was missing beach and bath towels. Just small things like that, which didn't bother us, but could be fixed. Also, there is minimal construction on the rear end of the hotel, so request an ocean front room if you want to be away from it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to be in the middle of the action without breaking the bank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Club Manana is the largest and most popular gay club in PV. If you like to dance and want to go where the people are you'll probably end up at Manana every night (otherwise, there are tons of cool, little martini bars all over the place). They sell a week pass to manana for 400 pesos which starts on Wednesdays. This will save you a couple 100 pesos if you plan on dancing a lot! Plus I think you get discounts at local restaurants and shops, but don't quote me on it :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rulis and Bobby
Business
El paso, Texas
Oct 17, 2010

Mexico 2010

Everyone was very courteous and very helpful. Every little detail was seen and every little thing we need was tended for. Great hotel will be coming back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice pizzeria a few blocks, but can.t remember the name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Caney
Sep 8, 2008

Excellent Location

Blue Chairs is well located for the Traveler. It is not a five star resort, but the staff is very friendly and the location is directly on the beach and rooms over look the bay. The rooms are clean and very servicable. I will stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On the nearby Olafs Altas you will find a cafe called Villasol Wonderful coffee, book exchange and light meals or pastery. Also try Apachies for more complete meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top