$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
192 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Dec 28, 2010

Christmas in Puerto Vallarta

The location is a little out of the way of old town, but still a good location. we stayed in a suite, and the room was nice enough. the shower lacked water pressure(think a drizzly day in seattle) the balcony was amazing, the only other problem was the suite was located directly under the club, so the moving of the chairs and setting up of the club can get a little loud when your trying to nap for a night out....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 16, 2010

Blue Chairs

The location is pretty good for the beach, a little bit of a trek for the bars or downtown. The rooms were clean, but a bit aged. There really was no hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PVRBoys
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 10, 2010

Worth Looking Into

Have stayed here before. Our room was a junior suite with an ocean view. It was quite nice. The internet was sporadic, though, so we had to go to the lobby to connect. Beware the roof top bar plays music until after 10 PM, so if you go to bed early, you may not get much rest. However, it's great being right close to the beach (out the front door!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Coco's Kitchen for breakfast. Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheri and Terry
Business
Santa Rosa California
Dec 4, 2010

Great time,Great staff

From check in to check out we were treated with the up most respect. What a great place for the money we spent. The rooms are very quaint and very clean. The beds are very comfortable. We would go again in a heart beat.The only complaint is the people that stand on the corner trying to get you to go to a time share presentation and they bug you every day until you go to one. The Drag show was allot of fun and they had the Gogo boys show I have to say that our buddy [...] is such a sweetie. [...] are very very wonderful they are two of the most sweet and helpful people. So was the night time guy but sorry we forgot your name.We were there from Nov.7th until Nov. 21st 2010. Thank you for the great time and the great memories. Sheri and Terry from Santa Rosa California

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brazilian steak house is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington dc
Dec 2, 2010

Perfect vacation!!

Definitely the best place to stay in puerto Vallarta!! Friendly staff, nice rooms, great rooftop entertainment, and walk out your room and you are on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Nov 27, 2010

Great Location, many activities

Great location Old Town Vallarta - 15 minute walk to downtown - proximity to many restaurants and bars - Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating, Hotel was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dteacher
Business
Dallas, Tx
Nov 26, 2010

Great Location and Perfect Staff

This was just a quick getaway three day stay. Took a cab from the airport (less than 20.00) and as soon as we arrived the staff was attentive to every detail. Their beachfront is HUGELY popular during the midday. You can walk to the center of town, fun bars and incredible dining spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Takos Panchos (it is next door to the famous "Cafe de Olla"). The tacos are some of the best in the world. Small restaurant with just a few tables...but well worth any wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay with standards
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 22, 2010

Not all its cracked up to be

First let me start out by saying the hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. That said, the hotel is not all is is cracked up to be. 1) The picture of the room we booked and what we ended up with were not even close. 2) Our first room was on the 5th Floor and the ceiling leaked in two places. When we were later moved into a room on the third floor the air conditioner leaked onto the floor in that room as well. Even after the maintenance man repaired the AC it still dripped. 3) The elevator broke down on the second day of our stay and did not work again for the remainder of our 10 days there. 4) We awoke from napping one afternoon to find someone in our room. They stole an Ipod and ran out the door. 5) The "in room" internet did not work until the 7th day of our stay, after numerous reports to the hotel staff. 6) Housekeeping staff reminded us daily that we needed to go to the bank so that we could leave them a tip. We are accustomed to leaving a tip at the end of our hotel stays not pay as you go. 7) Repeatedly had to ask for the in room coffee, housekeeper frequently did not leave any. The location of this property is great and we enjoyed our excursions. I would caution anyone considering a booking at this hotel to NOT have much in the way of expectations of the property. Caveat Emptor. There are several properties in the same area which may bear looking into. If we had not already prepaid for our stay we would definately have moved to another hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a lot to do in Puerto Vallarta from an excursion prospective. The food is great and the shopping is varied and interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 21, 2010

Hospitable Staff

It is not easy to say anything negative about this place because the staff more than compensate for any deficiencies. They are cordial, attentive, accommodating, jovial and most importantly, helpful. The hotel underwent some renovation, but still needs some tweaking. We had an ocean front room with a nice terrace. We were a bit taken aback discovering that the latches securing the folding doors were non functional. One could easily hop over from the next terrace into ours and blow into the doors and they will swing wide open!!! Maintenace were unable to solve the problem for the entire 6 days we were there. The room is very clean and the housekeeping service was good There are always clean towels and coffee for a morning picker upper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The roof top bar provides nightly entertainment. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood and the hotel cafe is great for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hola!
Business
California
Nov 15, 2010

Fantastic Time!!

The staff, the people, the sand and the fun! What a great time and I definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top