$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
191 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP422
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2012

Great Location

This was our second trip to PV and knew the layout. Blue Chairs was our first choice because of the location. At our arrival and our departure, other guests were definitely expressing dissatisfaction but we had a good stay. The rooms are decent. Some are smaller than others. Mine had a kitchenette while my friend's was a smaller (average size) hotel room with a balconey. The two rooftop social areas were nice... one includes stripers. The beachfront is decent but too crowded. They're also realistic and have a 3-hour limit on any "guests" you may bring back to your room. Along those lines, they may be nit-picky with the charges: temporary tattoos may rub off on the towels so you have to replace those ($30). I would stay again but I wouldn't raise my mediocre expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice, rooftop dining experience at the corner or Pilatas and Amapas. Fajitia Republic was a great atmosphere but not exceptional. Sammy Tucan's is THE place to go for an American-style (unhealthy) breakfast. Check out the pastry shop across the street from it for some delicious snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Gordo Americano
DC
Mar 3, 2009

Comfy beds and the sound of ocean waves

We got in late but were greeted by the lovely "miss" [...] who got us checked-in with a smile and helpful hints. Right away we knew we would feel comfortable and welcomed at this place. I was traveling with my Mexican boyfriend. The room had a "partial" ocean view which is what we paid for and was quite acceptable. The TV remote did not work and while i was in the bathroom my boyfriend was brave enough to use his finger to fiddle with the controls on the TV and get it working. We were promised a remote twice but one never came. I had read something similar in a review prior to going so it did not surprise me. We are easy-going and in love so we did not really care. The bed(s) were comfy and we ended up turning off the a/c and opening the sliding door to the balcony to hear the ocean waves lull us to sleep. The shower had ample hot water and the soap and shampoo provided were nice. The hotel is kind of at the end of the line so you might have to walk a few blocks to get to restaurants etc but the streets are cobblestones and charming so that is actually quite nice. We got there late so the pool/roof were not open which was a bummer. They were very nice and held our bags the next day as we strolled around PV after check-out. We paid about $90 for our room which was a little steep for me in terms of Mexican hotels but it was the high season and it could be considered a "specialty" hotel. Anytime you have a "gay friendly" place you know you are going to pay more for that convenience. The Mercurio which I had stayed at before was actually running a bit more which is why I booked at the Blue Chairs. All in all a decent value. A few words about Puerto Vallarta...it is beautiful and the Mexican people are wonderful. Don't buy into the hype about Mexico being dangerous. It is no more dangerous than the US...much less so in most places. Go to Vayans Cafe for a great ( and big) frozen coffee drink and good breakfast. Viva Mexico....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Tacos there is a place not too far called something like Paco's and they are open quite late. For breakfast or a break try Vayans which is also and internet cafe inside and has seating outside...very nice and cute waitstaff and good food with really good frapaccino and other frozen drinks in huge sizes for about $3. There are OXXO ( like 7-11) stores on every corner in PV so you are never far from a cool drink and a place to cool off if you get heated. PV is very safe...don't be afraid to wander around and take a local bus. There are lots of great places to eat. Don't be afraid to get off the beaten path a little

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinny Dog Red
Seattle, WA
Jun 1, 2011

Safe, Friendly, Fun by The Sea

My first time to Puerto Vallarta and a memorable one! I was looking for a warm, sunny and active beach area with great photography potential. I had a number of places to choose from and for the price and location right on the beach, I think I made the best choice for me. I also wanted to be right in the middle of a gay male community and hey, I made new friends and found interesting, fun conversation every day. The hotel staff was always helpful, friendly and took an interest in me. During the evening, there was always some type of entertainment up on the roof with travelers and locals having a good time. I had room 309 which had a good view across a court yard and looked over the south end of the beach and mountains. This is the first time that I have actually had a hi-speed, wireless internet connection in a hotel room; Very nice to have! I will add that other travelers reported less though. I always had good, solid water pressure and HOT water for my showers. Maid service was excellent and never interfered with my running in, around and about. Now for the beach side cafe and bar area. The food was pretty good and a good selection. The dining area and beach was very nice and I ate there everyday. The wait staff needs some work. A few of the waiters were friendly and knew more than the basics of serving food and drink. However, the rest seemed to be at the front of their careers and I'm not sure if they're gonna make it. Service is mostly good enough but the thing I absolutely hated was being continuously bothered by the beach venders. It was so overwhelming at times I could only stand to stay out there for one drink than I had to get up and get out of there. Blue Chairs needs to reconsider this activity because there are businesses on down the beach that have big signs up letting the Venders know they're not to bother the guests. At the time of my departure the front desk was prompt with my check-out and was most helpful and interested in my stay. I had a short wait for my service to the airport and the hotel lobby was a pleasant place to wait and visit with other travelers. The Lobby host was very attentive and helpful with my bags and getting me safely on my way. Thanks for everything guys! Yes, I will absolutely stay at the Blue Chairs by the Sea again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KrackerMike
Raymond, NH
Feb 11, 2010

Fabulous location on gay beach.

Blue Chairs Gay Resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach. Right on the gay beach. We basically had no complains with 2 minor exceptions. During our 7 day stay, the internet service only worked for the first 3 days. It was off the remaining time and the front desk staff kept on telling us that it would be working, (later, tomorrow, by the evening). It never was, even though it was availiable in the lobby. The final minor complaint was a nasty smell that was coming from the drain in our shower. We found that as long as it was covered by a wet towel the smell wasn't bad. Other than that, we would definately recommend staying here. We will be back again. Not to be missed are the very hot go-go boys at the rooftop bar every evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Blue chairs is a restaurant called The Swedes. Best breakfast by far, served til 2pm. Great dinner's as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jul 13, 2008

Convenient comfortable hotel.

My view room at Blue Chairs had a nice king bed and a great air conditioner. The view was spectacular from the room's balcony. The room was relatively quiet and secure and was cleaned well daily. The room's furniture and amenities were not trendy or new but were maintained well enough and were clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotels guest policy is a but strict, but useful in maintaining security. I would return to this hotel on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reasonable eats, good food at the beach restaurant. Cheap drinks snacks can be bought at the convenience store in front of the hotel. Happy hour 5-7 at Apache's, 8-10 at La Noche, 10-12 at Paco Paco's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 19, 2011

Not a bad choice for first time in PV

Overall, I was satisfied with Blue Chairs. Very convenient location a "stones throw" away from the beach. Loved drinking margaritas and ordering food right on the beach. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The concierge can connect with you several other fun activities if you want to take a break from the beach. I went on a zip line tour, which was awesome. I also had a nice massage from the spa (very reasonable prices compared to where I am from). Room furnishings were OK. The fridge was a bit dated and my bed was extra soft, but other than that it was an OK room with a decent view of the ocean. I would suggest requesting a room on the lower floors, as the music from the happy hour can get kind of loud from the rooftop bar. This was my first trip to PV, and I fell in love with it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael G.
Bloomington, IN, USA
Mar 16, 2012

About as close to perfect as you can get!

Not the Hyatt or upscale-type hotel...just perfect for what we needed...the type places we stay. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff...the staff treated you like family. The cost was just right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are people selling excursions everywhere you turn while in PV. Totally trust Erica, the concierge at Blue Chairs. She'll not steer you in the wrong direction. All our excursions were exceptional thanks to her work! Also...seek out Ricardo in the beach cafe...one of the best servers I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer NYC
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Location

You really can't beat the location of this hotel. Right on the beach and with a beautiful view (although not from our room). The room was clean, but there was a mildew smell and the furniture and bedsheets have seen better days. Overall, the location and the friendly staff made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBBA53
nc
Apr 21, 2012

My stay in Blue Chairs

Staff at beach and rooftop bar 5 star maid service very slack room not cleaned well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belladonas restaurant at the marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cwbyrandy
Dallas, TX
Mar 3, 2009

Great Location and price

I had a good time while at this hotel and the location was exceptional. What I did have issues with is I reserved a room with a small kitchette but I didn't get this room. Also, one window did not have a curtain to cover it so I had to use a towel from the room to cover the window. My room wasn't cleaned the first day and a half due to the staff entering me into the wrong room in their computer. This was showing the room I was in as empty and not needing service. Other than these issues, the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search