$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GreggStPete
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Mar 2, 2014

Fun Place to Stay

The staff was excellent, from the housekeeper to the manager, everyone bent over backwards to make sure we felt welcome and all our needs were met. The location was perfect, the food was adequate, nothing special. Definately worth staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurant short a short walk from the hotel along the beach...reasonable prices, great food and good entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin92103
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2014

Nice hotel

I have read so many other reviews saying this hotel was not worth going to, I must strongly disagree. I was on the 4th floor, with a partial ocean view, and our room was great. Yes, it is a bit out dated, but overall, it was really not bad. The elevator is very slow, and small. The hotel is going to through an expansion, like the rest of PV, but other than that, it is rather quiet. The only thing I didn't like is the food at their beach bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny -don't like cheap and dirty.
Business
New York, NY
Nov 9, 2010

Great location for the price

While it was mostly a relaxing vacation, Blue Chairs afforded plenty of entertainment and a friendly 'home-base' for our trip. In the hotel we took in drag shows, enjoyed drinks at sunset over the pacific everyday, and even watched the go-go boys do their thing. Our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean, so that was great for private time as a couple. The gay stretch of beach is also right there if that's your thing. (I'm not one to lay out for too long). The things that could be improved are offering room service, cable television, and an ice machine on every floor. All minor. Overall this was a great hotel for it's price or otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel concierge was great, but definitely charged a mark-up for things like the canopy tour, zipline, ATV rental or even couples massage. Walk along the main street and you can find a better deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GARTY
Business
FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA
Nov 2, 2010

Great Place to meet and greet

The hotel was clean and staff and personnel very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEN Xtopher
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 13, 2010

Great Experience

Very friendly staff, good food, on the beach, excellent air-conditioning. Convenient to great restaurants and activities. Reasonably priced food and beverages! Tip the staff heavy on the front-end of your trip and you will be treated like gold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takos Panchos, Archies Wok, and Fajita Republic were all an easy walk and excellent food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanJoseguy
Business
San Jose, CA.
Nov 9, 2010

I loved this hotel

This is admittedly my first trip to Mexico, but if this trip is the way every trip could be, I'll be going back. Blue Chairs has some quirky architecture, as did most of the places I saw in Mexico, but the rooms were well kept, clean and comfortable. We initially had a problem with our rooms air-conditioner, but we were moved and upgraded the very next day to a much nicer junior suite. I couldn't be happier with the service, amenities or the staff of the hotel and the ocean-view is the best I've ever had on any trip, anywhere. My overall rating is a 4 (only because who can live up to a 5, really?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar and beach-side restaurant were great, but let's face it, everything is more expensive at "the hotel". If you can motivate yourself to take a short walk back towards downtown, (even as short as 3 or 4 blocks) your in for a 'bunch' of real dining treat(s). The collection of dining, desert, coffee and bakery items are too large to count.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheri and Terry
Business
Santa Rosa California
Dec 4, 2010

Great time,Great staff

From check in to check out we were treated with the up most respect. What a great place for the money we spent. The rooms are very quaint and very clean. The beds are very comfortable. We would go again in a heart beat.The only complaint is the people that stand on the corner trying to get you to go to a time share presentation and they bug you every day until you go to one. The Drag show was allot of fun and they had the Gogo boys show I have to say that our buddy [...] is such a sweetie. [...] are very very wonderful they are two of the most sweet and helpful people. So was the night time guy but sorry we forgot your name.We were there from Nov.7th until Nov. 21st 2010. Thank you for the great time and the great memories. Sheri and Terry from Santa Rosa California

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brazilian steak house is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
Aug 17, 2010

A Great Stay At Blue Chairs

The majority of the time was spent on the beach, reading, consuming delicious food, and enjoying swimming in the wonderfully warm ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very helpful in making suggestions for restaurants, things to do, and other places of interest. Our flight was a little late, and they were accommodating in allowing us to check out a couple hours past "check out" time. The rooms are very nice. I was told they were recently remodeled: showers tiled in marble, and marble throughout he room, comfortable bed, great ocean view balconies, and Spanish style charm throughout. It was a wonderful stay, I'd love to go back again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the bars La Noche and Amor, about a ten to fifteen minute walk from the hotel. Also, great eats are Cafe De Olla and Fajita Republic. Dee's Coffee is also a WONDERFUL place for coffee, pastries, bagels, and sandwiches. The veggie bagel sandwich is the best!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lead Hill, Arkansas
Nov 11, 2010

Huge Improvements - Service & Rooms

Blue Chairs has recently undergone a huge change in management and made significant investment in their rooms and service. The updated rooms were clean and comfortable. Good Airconditioning system, Updated Bathroom, Flat Screen TV. The Front Desk & Concierge was friendly and helpful. Restaurant Service for breakfast was a little slow at times but the food was good. GREAT SERVICE on the Beach! If you want a great location and a clean comfortable room, Blue Chairs has improved significantly. BE SURE TO REQUEST AN UPDATED ROOM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Had the best time at La Noche for cocktails and dancing at Paco's around the corner after 11pm. Fun Crowd, Mixed Ages, Good Music, Good Shows every night of the week. Forget Manana except for Saturday - unless you like Techno Drum Beats all night long. Do Diana's Cruise as soon as you get there. Meet great people to hang with the rest of the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Nov 27, 2010

Great Location, many activities

Great location Old Town Vallarta - 15 minute walk to downtown - proximity to many restaurants and bars - Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating, Hotel was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top