$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
192 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar and John
New York, NY, USA
Sep 1, 2011

A Perfect Beach Party!

Perfect location if you are looking for beach, fun and making new friends. The staff is very helpful, professional and extremely friendly. Room and public areas are well kept. For the value, you can't ask for more. We stayed for a week at the end of August and had a terrific time in a junior suite with excellent view and service. Only problems (and they were minor ones): the room needs better lighting, a microwave and maybe a little more items in the kitchenette. But really, none of that made any difference. The reception staff (Martin, Boris, Frederick) were fun and welcoming. The waiters at the excellent beach bar and restaurant (Moises, Francisco, Pedro, etc.) and at the fun rooftop bar (David, Alberto, etc.) are excellent. Thanks to Ramona and Carlos too. The whole team does an incredible job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You can walk to the beach straight from your room, have drinks and delicious snacks; sit on a blue beach chair and relax; under a "palapa" (or under the burning sun if you prefer). You don't have to worry about bringing cash with you since you can charge it to your room (our final tab was accurate and the prices good). And your belongings are taken care of while you swim or go for a walk! Perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BearVic
Business
Los Muertos Beach, Puerto Vallarta
Jul 11, 2012

great gay vacation

hotel was right in the center of the gay beach, people there including staff members go way above and beyond to make you feel welcomed!!! Erika the Concierge and Porris the front desk girl help you with anything that you need, and go way out of there way to HELP!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

couple of blocks is all the gay clubs you need for your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Middle Aged Gay Traveler
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 3, 2012

Below Average Gay Hotel

The staff is nice enough. The location is good but there is construction in front of the hotel that does and will further interfere with the views as it progresses. I had two different rooms due to maintenance problems in the first and even the second room. Multiple requests for attention to issues in the second room were not responded to. It is my understanding from some local residents that the hotel owners are not gay friendly and do not invest any money to maintain the hotel standards. Based on my experience, it appears to true. The only thing the hotel had going for it is the location on the gay beach. I would not recommend the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

All travel by taxi in the romantic zone is 40 pasco min. Cabs will often try to overcharge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrewupover
Business
Denver, CO
May 14, 2012

Good Location, Clean

very nice location near beach, and easy access to shops, food, bars. Room was always very clean, and had good AC. The partial room view, was more than partial view which was a nice suprise. Have stayed there multiple times and always satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBBA53
Business
nc
Apr 21, 2012

My stay in Blue Chairs

Staff at beach and rooftop bar 5 star maid service very slack room not cleaned well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belladonas restaurant at the marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer NYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Location

You really can't beat the location of this hotel. Right on the beach and with a beautiful view (although not from our room). The room was clean, but there was a mildew smell and the furniture and bedsheets have seen better days. Overall, the location and the friendly staff made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael G.
Business
Bloomington, IN, USA
Mar 16, 2012

About as close to perfect as you can get!

Not the Hyatt or upscale-type hotel...just perfect for what we needed...the type places we stay. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff...the staff treated you like family. The cost was just right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are people selling excursions everywhere you turn while in PV. Totally trust Erica, the concierge at Blue Chairs. She'll not steer you in the wrong direction. All our excursions were exceptional thanks to her work! Also...seek out Ricardo in the beach cafe...one of the best servers I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travpro
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 22, 2012

Okay Stay at Blue Chairs

Accomidations were average to below average. Room view was fantastic. Hotel was experiencing elevator problems. Got stuck once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Close but not quite there

This hotel is located beachside and has a terrific view of the ocean from most every room. The staff is very friendly and attempts to be helpful but they often fall short. People often overcrowd the elevator so it is breaks each day. Essential items you take for granted (like working coffeemakers, hairdryer in your room, iron, etc.) all have to be checked out at the front desk (coffee is free the first day and not afterward?). We had some light bulbs out in our room and were told they don't have any replacements? Also you have to wear a wrist band during your entire stay and I'm still not certain why as the hotel is available to anyone until 11 p.m. because of their rooftop bar hours. All and all we met some really nice people there and enjoyed our stay. With a little more attentiveness to simple creature comforts this place could easily become competitive with the condos nearby because of the great location. Oh and the beds are very comfortable, which is not always the case at other places I've stayed in Mexico. The rooftop bar was LOUD so the ocean had to compete, but often lost that battle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LaPalapa has great food but you pay the price. For 8 pecos you can buy the brunch at Tropacana complete with juice, coffee, cereal, fruit and plenty of meat and egg selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP422
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2012

Great Location

This was our second trip to PV and knew the layout. Blue Chairs was our first choice because of the location. At our arrival and our departure, other guests were definitely expressing dissatisfaction but we had a good stay. The rooms are decent. Some are smaller than others. Mine had a kitchenette while my friend's was a smaller (average size) hotel room with a balconey. The two rooftop social areas were nice... one includes stripers. The beachfront is decent but too crowded. They're also realistic and have a 3-hour limit on any "guests" you may bring back to your room. Along those lines, they may be nit-picky with the charges: temporary tattoos may rub off on the towels so you have to replace those ($30). I would stay again but I wouldn't raise my mediocre expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice, rooftop dining experience at the corner or Pilatas and Amapas. Fajitia Republic was a great atmosphere but not exceptional. Sammy Tucan's is THE place to go for an American-style (unhealthy) breakfast. Check out the pastry shop across the street from it for some delicious snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuckyJD79
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

First time in PV.

My expectations were low after reading a lot of the reviews. As a thirty something traveling solo, I found everything to be adequate and the staff extremely friendly. I billed three food/bar transactions to my room and I was charged properly. They didn't hesitate to give me the 10% discount on room charges that was advertised as part of my package. The requirement to wear a wristband is understandable given some of the security issues they mentioned (items being stolen by visitors). It was a little funky that I couldn't show my friends my room without paying a visitor fee. There is also a fee for having someone over for the night. This seems to be a common practice at the surrounding hotels. The experience was pleasant, but after learning the area, I'd consider staying somewhere else. You don't need to be on the beach, and as a local bar owner mentioned, they seem to be riding on their reputation for being the first gay resort on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the newly opened "Si Senor" restaurant on the beach. The food was delicious and thanks to the exchange rate the prices were very low. Our server Eduardo was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top