Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview

3.1/5

Overall score

67%

Would recommend

Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerrbear1
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 15, 2013

LGBT vacation

The staff at the hotel was very nice. There were many problems - 1) Only one key for 2 of us and it took 4 days for us to get a second copy that worked. 2) Argument over room selection occurred- we had an email from reservations that we could have 2 double beds but upon arrival there was an argument about giving us a single King size bed. 3) Original room was musty. 4) The room we stayed in looked like the door had been busted in with 4 door jams needed to keep shut. Proximity to the beach was great. The happy hour on the 6th floor fantastic. The place looks like its undergoing major expansion so the problems may be temporary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D.C.H.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2013

The Decline of the Blue Chairs Hotel

We have just ended our fourth vacation at the Blue Chairs Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, and this will be our last. Over the past few years Blue Chairs Hotel has gotten progressively worse. This year was the absolute worst. The hotel is so poorly managed that there is a constant mix-up at the front desk. A year earlier, for our 2011 holiday reservations, we reserved the "Jr. Suite" which we had had in the past. We made those reservations on January 3, 2011, asking for assurances that we would get Room 301 -- the Jr. Suite. It was guaranteed. Then when arriving on December 27, 2011, we were told that there was a mix-up and the room had been given to somebody else. During that stay, Blue Chairs had charged for two more days than we were staying, but they would not reverse the charges for those unused days. Instead, they gave us a card saying that we would have a "credit" of 3,700 pesos if used within one year. When we asked to use that credit this year, I was astonished that they wanted to deny our use of that. In a word, the Blue Chairs management is dysfunctional and ineffective. The locaton of Blue Chairs is excellent, but there are many other lodging accommodations in that immediate area which are available for the same or much less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Salvador
Business
Dallas
Dec 31, 2012

Party Warning!

The too loud music from the bar housed in the hotel was an intrusion on any any attempts to get early and restful sleep or to experience any quiet moments with the sounds of the ocean at night. I had to wait until the bar closed and the music was silenced before strolling and appreciating the night magic along the the beach @ at night for those special moments we yearn and search for when one is on vacation. A notification that the bar closed a 11pm would have been greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big JM
Business
Chicago
Dec 17, 2012

Great location and gay all the way!

The hotel was OK. Staff is amazing. Everything is an extra charge.....even coffee. Location is great, can be a bit noisey with the construction around and the dance bar on the roof. The location is great and the gay beach was fantastic. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich K.
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Great deal for the money and very friendly staff.

This was my partners fourth time and my first time in PV. Overall, I had a wonderful experience at Blue Chairs and in PV. I was a bit cautious at times after reading some of the negative reviews, none of which I experienced on this trip. Amenities: 3: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, television, and free WiFi were nice to have. WiFi worked about 80% of the time and was FREE so I really had no complaints. Beachside dining and bar were very convenient and relaxing. We had breakfast at the beachside bar the entire time. We were able to charge everything to the room and got a 10% discount at checkout for putting a 1200 pesos credit card payment down for use at the hotel. Location 5: It doesn't get any better than this........REALLY!!! We had a beach front view in the Romantic zone right across from the gay beach. Need I say more? Blue Chairs has there own section with friendly staff available to meet your needs. Room comfort and cleanliness 3: Average. Our room was clean. Housekeepers were friendly and did a good job with keeping us stalked with towels and toiletries. The only downfall is that a piece of drywall with access to the pipes was cut out behind our bathroom door. Showers were clean and water pressure was good but lacked holders for our toiletries. Tip the house keepers daily (20-30 pesos) as they change everyday. I learned this was customary in Mexico as opposed to waiting until your last day in US hotels. Staff: Staff are super friendly and always asking you if you need anything. They always greeted us with a smile when we came and went. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Andre manages the beachside bar and dining and does a wonderful job of making sure you are taken care of. His staff work hard. If you want to book a tour, I recommend that you go through the concierge, Erika. She will hook you up with reliable and safe tours. Just make sure you have your receipt/voucher for your tour. You do NOT want to arrive without it. Value: Blue Chairs is a 2-3 star hotel so I feel we got a good deal for what we paid. It's not a 4 or 5 star hotel but it served it's purpose for us. We wanted a gay, beachside hotel with friendly staff and a bed to sleep in and that's exactly what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Frida's and La Palapa restaurant/bar were great. Hot Frida's has been open for a year now and is a very casual place. It's a popular local hang out with friendly staff, good drinks, and great American bar food. La Palapa is right on the beach and has great food and drinks. They are more expensive than some of the other restaurants but you definitely get what you pay for. Great food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar and John
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 11, 2012

Second time and TWICE as good!

Our second holiday at the Blue Chairs and, once again, we had a great trip and a wonderful experience. Of course the location and the environment is perfect; right on the gay beach, walking distance to all the clubs and amenities ,amazing views, sunsets and, most importantly, a sense of safety and security everywhere. The convenience of fine and reasonable food and drinks served handsomely on the beach must also be mentioned. The staff, Jorge ,Erica and Boris at the front desk ,Andres and his staff on the beach, Gabriel in security and even our maid Andrea did their usual fine jobs to make our stay as perfect as possible. Make sure to catch the shows and the dancers at the rooftop bar. There is something going on every night. We visited all the cafes, clubs and restaurants and never needed even a cab due to the hotels perfect location. We look forward to our next visit ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BearVic
Business
Los Muertos Beach, Puerto Vallarta
Jul 11, 2012

great gay vacation

hotel was right in the center of the gay beach, people there including staff members go way above and beyond to make you feel welcomed!!! Erika the Concierge and Porris the front desk girl help you with anything that you need, and go way out of there way to HELP!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

couple of blocks is all the gay clubs you need for your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Middle Aged Gay Traveler
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 3, 2012

Below Average Gay Hotel

The staff is nice enough. The location is good but there is construction in front of the hotel that does and will further interfere with the views as it progresses. I had two different rooms due to maintenance problems in the first and even the second room. Multiple requests for attention to issues in the second room were not responded to. It is my understanding from some local residents that the hotel owners are not gay friendly and do not invest any money to maintain the hotel standards. Based on my experience, it appears to true. The only thing the hotel had going for it is the location on the gay beach. I would not recommend the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

All travel by taxi in the romantic zone is 40 pasco min. Cabs will often try to overcharge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrewupover
Business
Denver, CO
May 14, 2012

Good Location, Clean

very nice location near beach, and easy access to shops, food, bars. Room was always very clean, and had good AC. The partial room view, was more than partial view which was a nice suprise. Have stayed there multiple times and always satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBBA53
Business
nc
Apr 21, 2012

My stay in Blue Chairs

Staff at beach and rooftop bar 5 star maid service very slack room not cleaned well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belladonas restaurant at the marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top