$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Business
Las Vegas NV
Oct 5, 2013

Great staff!!!!

The location is fabulous!!! the staff is amazing! I wish I can take every single one and bring them here to Las Vegas and work here and show the people in the hotel industry how to treat a costumer!!. however the hotel haven't change since I went there in 2008!!! the towels are so bad, the mattress and the pillows are really old! But again I will stay just for the staff and the location!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Palapa great restaurant! close to the hotel and very friendly!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 12, 2013

The best friendly staff!!!!!!!

This is my second time stay at blue chairs, and the rooms and amenities they don't change at all, they need new beds, the towels are very old and the decor really poor. But the reason I'm stay there is the staff!! Starting from Alberto at reservations, Francisco at the front desk, and every waiter!! Kenny,Miguel, Luis,etc etc!!!!! Amazing! The service is behind! they make me field part of their family I already miss them! The pick up service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La palapa restaurant, a few steps from blue chair hotel great walk from the beach. Excellent service and as a Mexican, the food was amassing!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NaeNaeNOLA
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 9, 2013

Needs Some Major Improvements

This was my third stay at Blue Chairs, and I really, really wanted to rave about it. Unfortunately, there are some significant improvements that need to happen to bring this property back up to the level it once enjoyed. Aside from the non-working elevator, the lack of water pressure in the shower, the scarcity of hot water at certain times of the day, and the need to keep a toilet plunger close at hand, the hotel is currently experiencing a lot of noise from a major construction project going on directly next door. The rooms are rather cramped and Spartan in their decor, and it is very easy to hear the goings on in adjacent rooms. Based on the dated quality of the amenities, I have to admit that this property is overpriced. You can't beat its location and proximity to the gay beach in Vallarta, but there is some much needed upkeep that seems to have been overlooked in years past that will make it harder and harder for this hotel to continue to draw discerning gay travelers as newer, more modern properties pop up in the area. This was my second visit within 2 years' time during which the elevator was out of service for most or all of my stay, and my second experience with the poor plumbing as well. On the bright side, the staff are very friendly and exceedingly helpful. The food is good, if a bit pricey. Unfortunately, I fear that this year's visit will have been my last. There are just too many better options with higher quality amenities and comparable pricing to continue my love affair with the Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't limit yourself to the handful of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. There are some great places to eat just a few blocks away from the beach in town.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uoftexgreg95
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 4, 2013

Not the lap of luxury, but a fun place to stay

This was the first time I had vacationed alone so I wanted to pick a gay hotel to meet like minded people. I thought the staff was nice but at times a little over bearing. When informing me of my total tab for the beach and bar areas one day, one of the front desk people informed me that I "drank alot". I informed him that his staff "drank alot too" and it was on MY tab. Other than that, the staff was nice and friendly. The beach area was fun and I met a ton of fun people. The bar and grill staff at both the beach bar and upstairs bar are super nice. The room are big, but a bit dated. I wouldn't call them comfortable but there okay. The furniture is pretty rickety in the rooms but the wifi worked which was important to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Solon0913
Business
Concord,California
Jul 3, 2013

Disaster under construction in a perfect location!

The first room was not acceptable,mold on the walls and paint bubbles on walls, musty moldy smell. The second room given to me after I complained was bigger and smelled better but the A/C did not work 80 percent of the time. I was awaken at approximate 0749 am by banging on my wall due to construction. The hotel is a disaster of noise, dirt and bad service by some of the staff. The hotel was 90 percent empty and had new rooms but none were offered. They kept us in the old rooms with old old old furniture and no working A/C. One night I slept at another place where the air worked. Found bugs in the bed, noise terrible all day from construction, dusty and no privacy since all the workers from construction would see in the room/terrace. Kenny and Miguel were the best of all the waiters and the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack....excellent

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weeza
Business
MO
Apr 10, 2013

Poorly maintained hotel on a great beach

Hotel is rundown and dirty. The interior and exterior has been neglected. The basic amenities were missing or broken. The view is great. The beach area is great with good service from the beach bar staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
We Love PV
Business
Idaho
Mar 24, 2013

Location, location nothing special otherwise

The hotel is in a great location, nothing to write home about, construction begins next door around 8am and banging all day. Andre the bar manager upstairs was beyond amazing. He gave us the best service in PV all while managing his staff and the entertainment. Give that man a raise. This was our third time but probably our last for Blue Chairs. Condos seem to be a better value and are really close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack for Dinner, 5 pepper steak was amazing. The Swedes for breakfast. Dee's for morning coffee.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wheeldon77
Business
San Diego
Mar 24, 2013

Fun Spot

over all it is a great bang for your buck. the location is the best in PV for a gay get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

lots of fun in the Hotel and on the beach.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boofagin
Business
Pfugerville Texas
Mar 20, 2013

Location, staff, and price

The reasons why you would stay at Blue Chairs are location, staff, and price. My partner and I had a fantastic time at Blue Chairs and would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zanate

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CurtO
Business
Chicago IL
Mar 19, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews!

My partner and I have been to PV several times and never stayed at the Blue Chairs until this trip. When we left, we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else! The staff is amazing (special thanks to Erika & Alfredo) And the waiters at the beach are great (thanks Fransisco & Luis). We had a bit of a medical emergency while on vacation and the staff directed us to the closest emergency room ( Med Assist on Insurgente) and when my partner was admitted overnight, the Blue chairs had flowers sent (delivered by Erika from the desk) It meant a lot to him! After the hospital stay they were asking how he was feeling and if they could do anything. NOW...this is not a marriott, it's a hotel in the old part of town, so don't expect a chocolate on your pillow every night, but it was clean, comfortable, we had hot water every day (contrary to the reviews we read) The elevator is definetly old and could probably be replaced, but it worked and we often took the stairs anyway. Overall, a great experience and would definetly come back......see ya next year BC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top