$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar and John
New York, NY, USA
Aug 11, 2012

Second time and TWICE as good!

Our second holiday at the Blue Chairs and, once again, we had a great trip and a wonderful experience. Of course the location and the environment is perfect; right on the gay beach, walking distance to all the clubs and amenities ,amazing views, sunsets and, most importantly, a sense of safety and security everywhere. The convenience of fine and reasonable food and drinks served handsomely on the beach must also be mentioned. The staff, Jorge ,Erica and Boris at the front desk ,Andres and his staff on the beach, Gabriel in security and even our maid Andrea did their usual fine jobs to make our stay as perfect as possible. Make sure to catch the shows and the dancers at the rooftop bar. There is something going on every night. We visited all the cafes, clubs and restaurants and never needed even a cab due to the hotels perfect location. We look forward to our next visit ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbury80
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 18, 2014

A great vacation.

Blue Chairs was under construction when I visited, so a few of the amenities were missing. There were some minor scratches on one wall of the room, but otherwise things were in good shape. The staff were amazing. They truly went out of their way to make sure I had a good time. The concierge and I were on a first name basis after the first day and she took care of me. Also, when I inadvertently dropped my wallet in the cab on the way to the airport, she coordinated with the cab driver to have it brought back to the hotel and sent to me. Truly outstanding service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GreggStPete
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Mar 2, 2014

Fun Place to Stay

The staff was excellent, from the housekeeper to the manager, everyone bent over backwards to make sure we felt welcome and all our needs were met. The location was perfect, the food was adequate, nothing special. Definately worth staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurant short a short walk from the hotel along the beach...reasonable prices, great food and good entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin92103
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2014

Nice hotel

I have read so many other reviews saying this hotel was not worth going to, I must strongly disagree. I was on the 4th floor, with a partial ocean view, and our room was great. Yes, it is a bit out dated, but overall, it was really not bad. The elevator is very slow, and small. The hotel is going to through an expansion, like the rest of PV, but other than that, it is rather quiet. The only thing I didn't like is the food at their beach bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

Good Location

Nice staff and great view; right on the beach. The bed was comfortable and the maid kept the room clean. The sheets were unchanged for the entire seven nights, but the towels were changed daily. I paid extra for a kitchenette but the old gas stove had no knob for the oven. Matches were not provided to light the old gas stove either. There was a tiny saucepan and a small fry pan in the oven. The refrigerator had only one shelf. The kitchen sink leaked and I had to keep the bath mat on the floor in front of it to keep the floor from pooling with water. The sliding glass door did not lock. Everything inside the room is old, chipped, pushed back together crudely, and generally unappealing from a finished and aesthetic point of view. Prices for everything went down about five blocks away from the beach. The weather was beautiful and every day was perfect. The hotel restaurant was good. Anthropology (Club) also has a good show. The hotel is proud of their drag shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Supermercado (supermarket), I think the name is Riso is worth the walk. There are taxis all around as well. You should agree on the price for the ride before you get in though. Do all your money exchanging at the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bar & Beach Fly with a Brain
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 24, 2010

Gay Centerville MX

Although the previous reviews were a little confusing. Here is the Feb 2010 review. Fab rooms (marble floors and bathrooms). Cute kitchnette (could have stayed long term in the Junior Suite). Junior Suite is overhanging the beach with your own balcony. If you wish to meet people, this is "the" cental location in front of the "historical" gay "blue chairs" I cased the area and Abbey Hotel ( 2 minutes away) is another social option but Blue Chairs has got the beach in front of it, bar on the roof with shows, and very good food for the lazy traveler. No place is perfect but if wish for activity and don't mind a little noise from that, great first trip pick. All bars are quick walk away. (Don't stay outside of Romantic Zone of Puerto Vallarta). This is the fun, cute, cobble stone road area that is flaming gay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diana's Cruises is the best fun all you can drink, sun, eat and snorkel. You'll find it in PV.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Mar 31, 2010

Great hospitality, comfort and view

We enjoyed the friendly, attentive staff. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a great ocean front balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wesley
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Excellent Choice!

The hotel is remodeled and was very nice! The staff is very helpful and accomadating. The hotel is directly on the beach and has a restaurant that will bring you food and drinks all day while you enjoy the sun on the beach. My friends and I had an excellent time and would go back anytime. Highly recommended!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night life doesn't get started until midnight, so make sure to have a late dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shadygrove
Business
Spotsylvania, Spotsylvania Courthouse, VA 22551, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Manage Your Expectations

Before Booking at Blue Chairs, we read all the reviews on Orbitz and Trip Advisor. To say the least we were very reluctant to book because of the reviews, but we did anyway and I am glad we did! The staff is friendly, room clean, and prices are great. Keep this in mind when you plan you visit to Puerto Vallarta. Each country is different in regard to the hospitality industry. We Americans are spoiled when it comes to our expectations-so when visiting this beautiful city and you are staying at Blue Chairs-manage your expectations. It is a great hotel with plenty of activity and great service. The only two areas that need improvement is the hotel's wifi and the beach vendors, who constantly asking you to buy their goods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swedes restaurant is a short walk from Blue Chairs . They have a fabulous menu, terrific service, and prices are terrific. Diana Tours. Diana provides a all day boat excursion that provides snorkeling, a great lunch, and fabulous sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEEDO ON THE BEACH
Business
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

PV AND BLUE CHAIRS

BLUE CHAIRS HAD A GREAT LOCATION AND I LOVED THE SERVICE ON THE BEACH. STAFF WERE FREINDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

JOE AND JACKS FISH, ORDER THE RED SNAPPER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
42yo in Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

A fun place, but not fancy

The hotel underwent a renovation a few years ago and it's definitely a comfortable place to stay... but no, it's not fancy so don't expect that. Instead, it's in a great location, there is always something going on, and the staff are incredibly fun and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top