$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not a Princess, I swear...
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 16, 2010

Constant Remodeling to Something Better?

Blue Chairs is the best of what's around in PVR for the gays. Not sketchy, beach side, ocean view rooms are the best - even partial views. (Note: rare to find lesbian couples here) That said it's improving each time we stay there, nicer rooms, rainfall overhead marble showers, flat-screen tvs, but this time while dirt cheap you can tell it's a work in process. We lost WiFi for 3 days of 7; lost power for 5 hours one day and water another. Now the jack-hammering is not only in the hotel but nearby too, but would mercifully start around 12 p.m. Pluses: The "Blue Chairs Resort" is on the beach with decent service and moderately priced menu (super cheap to U.S. prices, Coronas 40 pesos, Margs 50-70 pesos, grilled sandwiches 140 pesos). It's literally 25 feet away. Word to the wise, you are on a beach so unless you eat fast get your salsas on the side. Also, there's a range of beach goers. Mostly gay, some young, some old, but all pretty fun and in various states of Speedo. Also, the higher floors will be closer to the roof top bar, which is great for sunsets and their raucous 3x/week drag show. Booming music stops around 12 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

After dinner, the clubby places to hit (in order starting after 9:00 p.m. or 10:00 p.m.): Le Noces, Manana, taco lady. Other options: Paco Paco, Los Amigos. And, unless you like tourist traps, you can skip the straight parts of PV.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Jul 28, 2011

Busted

We paid the higher price for a ocean view king size bed room [...]. We got 2 double beds on the first floor behind the 2 story restaurant without a view. After complaining we were told we had to pay a daily upgrade charge to get a ocean view room with a king bed, so we reluctantly did it when arguing did no good. Elevator broke down on a daily basis, once with us in it for 30 minutes in pitch darkness until they pried the doors open. Toilets stopped up, beds were uncomfortable. The only positive was the location across from the beach and walking distance to restaurants and bars. Hotel is run down and busted in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sfboy94103
Business
San Francisco
Jul 9, 2009

Not great, but cheap

The hotel is located within steps of the gay beach. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the downtown bars/clubs. They were remodeling the hotel so it can be noisy at times and the music from the roofdeck bar can also be noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just steps from the "gay beach. It has a somewhat lively roofdeck overlooking the Pacific. Great for happy hour.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 18, 2010

Great location, but it could be better

Right at the gay beach, they have a rooftop bar with shows every night. All the nightclubs and bars are within walking distance, which makes it a very convenient location overall. Now the thing about it is the fact not all rooms are updated, they are more on the shabby side. And the service is uneven, towels may be missing from the room, specials may be quotes in different print materials differently. No safe boxes in the room, but they do have some wooden lockers by the front desk, not the safest place for your passports, but we didn't have a problem. Staff is very friendly and try their best to serve the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fish Shack. A great place for fish tacos, super friendly staff and mojitos are 2x1 noon-5. Tapas Barcelona is a long walk, or a cab ride but it's well worth it.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Over the Hard Part
Business
Houston, Tx
Mar 5, 2009

Located Nicely - Poorly equiped

This hotel is not for you if you're looking for any pampering at all. The service staff is nice/accomodating, but this place is rough around the edges. The beach is terribly small, the pool is not really a pool, and the rooms are very badly out-dated. The scene is right for lgbt, but I would have rather visted this place once and stayed at a much finer hotel. I'm used to Mexico and have traveled here often, but this hotel will not be part of any future plans. Although you will be proximate to the "GLBT area" of PV, you will no doubt miss having a pool. I would have rather stayed at straight accomodations with a bigger beach, a tiki bar, a swim-up bar, and a large refreshing pool. You will not find this at the Blue Chairs. You will find a very nice staff who are willing to help you get what you need. You will find a great neighborhood full of fun bars and clubs, but you will not find creature comforts for the more experienced traveler. Be careful and be ready when booking at the Blue Chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Puerto Vallarta
Business
Minneapolis
May 27, 2010

Puerto Vallarta great place great people

WE MESSED UP......... We stayed at the Blue Chairs in Dec 2009. At that time there was loud construction going on early morning til evening. We also had a problem with the shower and air conditioner. We did end up having to change rooms. We decided to try it again when we went back in May 2010 ......big mistake. Still had remodeling going on (not quite as bad) But the worst was yet to come. The drain in the shower was messed up and the only way to keep the smell from coming into the room was to place a wet towel over the drain. It also took at least 30 minutes for the toilet to refill so it could be flushed again. Theres more..........three times during the week we were without water. I mean NO water in our room for several hours a couple times. If not for the location this place wouldn't have much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of great eating places make sure you try a lot of different places........Freddy Tucans for breakfast( excellent service) Nacho Daddies for burritos and Margaretta Grill for the food drinks and very friendly staff.....tell [...] we said HI

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Virgo68
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 2, 2010

BeefDip 2010

This was not worth $120.00 per night. They had no iron for my going out clothes. The restaurant nickel and dimes you for food and drinks, the chairs on the hotel beach go to the ones who pay for them, not for the guest of the hotel! I'll be staying at the Tropicana next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't do the para-sailing ride with the white boat, choose the brown boat!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 18, 2010

Definitely needs some TLC

The location was great and loved the beach service there. Unfortunately, the staff was less than friendly. Each morning there was construction going on one floor up that woke me before 8AM with jackhammering. Stucco was falling onto my balcony and a film of construction dust covered everything in my room. Spent a day without water, no WiFi as promised and everything was just run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
michaelbythebay
Business
san francisco, ca
Sep 26, 2010

didnt hate it.. didnt love it

the hotel was in the heart of eveything and very close to the ocean. the staff was friendly and helpful.. however, the rooms were kind of run down.. had to ask for towels and other bathroom ammenities on several occasions. when leaving the hotel, we were charged a fee of 300 pesos for an accident that could have been easily taken care of in the laundry. that we felt was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

other nightlife than the hotel was a bit of a walk

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cezdent
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Mar 15, 2011

Disappointed

The hotel would have been okay if it wasn't for one completely unacceptable thing. You are a prisoner in your own hotel room. They CHARGE for bringing friends over....unbelivable. It'd be justified if it was "all-inclusive" but it's not. For that reason, I will never go to that place again. Also, the beach front restaurant is very sloppy, there isn't any management in place. Certain individual staff were very nice and tried to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of beach activities close by

Back to menu Return to top