$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill Fair and Honest
Business
Dayton, OH
Oct 24, 2010

Location was good, hotel was not

The location was great; however, the property is in desperate need of some TLC. No working elevator, hot water in our sink did not work, light in our bathroom wasn't working until the last two days. You also need to watch very carefully what gets charged to your room. Some of the staff are not as honest as they should be. Several times we had to correct what they charged us for food and beverage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great little restaurants within a short walk.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June2014
Business
USA
Jun 25, 2014

June 2014

Staff are quite helpful and the location is impossible to improve, but the hotel is run down and needs lots of improving. Constuction does not help either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAI N.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

No Hot Water

Location is great, they need to work on some basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feelngood
Business
NYC
Apr 20, 2014

Poor Facility, poor service, poor food

Dated facilities, unotrganized staff who did the minimum. King suite was large but dated. Noisy as there was construction nearby, the noise levels on stairs was excessive due to traffic going to 6 floor bar and caberet area. Felt unsafe as anyone could walk off the street and through the hotel. Staff did not appear to be bothered. There are much better options nearby for the same price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mantamar beach club is nearby with a great deal on daypasses, food and service is great.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bony1uk
Business
Los Angeles - CA
Dec 1, 2011

STAY AWAY

If you are thinking to have good nights sleep while you staying there forget it. Music until midnight and hotel construction from 8 am makes it impossible to enjoy your stay. I called the front desk 5 times and they said I have to talk to the manager but she was never there. There all plenty of cheaper and better hotels in the area. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mexican expatriate
Business
Vancouver BC
Nov 28, 2011

Mediocre service, too expensive , great location...Saw Perez Hilton!

Well....the staff is friendly but not very efficient. Took them a while to provide me with a safety box. No towels for a day and no beach towels for 2 days.Bar some time charged 1 buck more per drink...Pto vallarta is fantastic and fun for gay people all over the world.....beautiful and fllirty people for all tastes all the time...only one key for 2 guests? dumb policy....extra charge if you invite some one? like is not enough to pay 130 per night?...no breakfast offered....next time I will go to a neighbouring hotel and just go there for the bach experience....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Diana's gay cruise is fun !!!....

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D.C.H.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2013

The Decline of the Blue Chairs Hotel

We have just ended our fourth vacation at the Blue Chairs Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, and this will be our last. Over the past few years Blue Chairs Hotel has gotten progressively worse. This year was the absolute worst. The hotel is so poorly managed that there is a constant mix-up at the front desk. A year earlier, for our 2011 holiday reservations, we reserved the "Jr. Suite" which we had had in the past. We made those reservations on January 3, 2011, asking for assurances that we would get Room 301 -- the Jr. Suite. It was guaranteed. Then when arriving on December 27, 2011, we were told that there was a mix-up and the room had been given to somebody else. During that stay, Blue Chairs had charged for two more days than we were staying, but they would not reverse the charges for those unused days. Instead, they gave us a card saying that we would have a "credit" of 3,700 pesos if used within one year. When we asked to use that credit this year, I was astonished that they wanted to deny our use of that. In a word, the Blue Chairs management is dysfunctional and ineffective. The locaton of Blue Chairs is excellent, but there are many other lodging accommodations in that immediate area which are available for the same or much less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Solon0913
Business
Concord,California
Jul 3, 2013

Disaster under construction in a perfect location!

The first room was not acceptable,mold on the walls and paint bubbles on walls, musty moldy smell. The second room given to me after I complained was bigger and smelled better but the A/C did not work 80 percent of the time. I was awaken at approximate 0749 am by banging on my wall due to construction. The hotel is a disaster of noise, dirt and bad service by some of the staff. The hotel was 90 percent empty and had new rooms but none were offered. They kept us in the old rooms with old old old furniture and no working A/C. One night I slept at another place where the air worked. Found bugs in the bed, noise terrible all day from construction, dusty and no privacy since all the workers from construction would see in the room/terrace. Kenny and Miguel were the best of all the waiters and the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Jacks Fish Shack....excellent

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CALI BOYZ
Business
MONTEBELLO,CA
May 27, 2014

THE WORST HOTEL!!! TRAVELER BEWARE

SINCE ARRIVING TO BLUE CHAIRS ON MAY 20TH OUR EXPERIENCE WAS SHOCKING. THEY TOOK US TO THE ROOM AND WE WERE STUNNED THAT THE ROOM DID NOT MATCH THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE. ALOT OF SAND ON THE FLOOR, THE SHEETS WERE DIRTY, SMELLY AND STAINED. THE DOORS HAD TO BE PUSHED OPEN. THE TOILET DID NOT FLUSH. THE HOTEL WAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. IT LOOKED LIKE A WAR ZONE. THE SAFE IS AT THE RECEPTION DESK. IT IS NOT SECURE AT ALL. THE DOOR OF THE SAFE ARE MADE OF WOOD. ANYONE HAS ACCESS TO THE SAFE. NOT SECURE. THE ONLY REASON ALOT OF GAY PEOPLE LIKE THIS HOTEL IS BECAUSE ITS BEACH FRONT. THE HOTEL IS SUPER UGLY AND NASTY. YOU ARE BETTER OFF STAYING OFF THE BEACH FRONT OR RENTING A CONDO. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN EVEN IF THEY GAVE ME FREE NIGHTS. OMG WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY ABOUT OUR 5 NIGHT STAY. THE POOL IS HORRIBLE. THE RESTURANT WAS NOT SANITARY. IF YOU DONT ASK FOR THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST YOU WILL GET CHARGED. EVEN AFTER THEY SEE YOU THERE EVERYDAY. SO TO CONCLUDED THIS HOTEL WAS THE WORST PLACE IN VALLARTA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diana Cubana
Business
Glendale, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Great Beach Location - Bad Service!

The only thing we liked was that it is super close to the beach area we like. You get what you pay for....bad towel service. They take your towels & wash them, then bring them back. We got beach towels only once & had to reuse them the entire stay. Overall...not the best place to stay if you're looking for at least mediocre service. Wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1)From airport, negotiate w/taxis & pay only $20 to the hotel. 2) Negotiate with local taxis for your trip back to the airport. 3)Pack light, try to do carry-on only as most airlines now have bag check fees! Ugh! 4) Wear comfy shoes - lots of cobblestone roads

Back to menu Return to top