Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian ★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$94
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 7, 2016 Check-out: Feb 8, 2016

For Party Boys Only!!

Would recommend Tue, Aug 17, 2010
The hotel is right on the beach and is very convenient to town (although be prepared to walk up and down some very steep streets). The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. The rooms are decent - My biggest complaint was with the shower: it took at least 30 minutes to get hot (no exaggeration) and there was absolutely no water pressure - It was easier to bathe in the sink. This is not a hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet - It is a gay resort which means LOUD disco music all day and night (until at least 11:00-11:30PM) - The walls do not block out any sound.

| philadelphia Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Pleasant Surprise!

Would recommend Thu, Aug 5, 2010
From Check-in to Check-out this was a wonderful experience. This is a boutique type hotel [*] who are there to relax and feel something different while on vacation. This time of year was perfect as there was always a chair/umbrella on the beach and the servers were anxious to take care of you. You may desire sunset cocktails on the roof-top bar with entertainment to the variety of restaurants/bars/clubs within easy walking distance. The concierge, [...] can fill you in on any excursion or recommendation. We took this trip on short notice and were able to get a Junior Suite. It was all marble and granite renovated with a perfect balcony vista to the beach and bay. We slept to the sounds of the waves crashing and ( with notice card on door ) the maids never disturbed us but serviced the room while we were gone. the room also had a complete kitchen but we mainly used the Fridge and coffee maker. I recommend this hotel and their staff. This is NOT a Hilton type of experience. It's Mexico. Have Fun!

Nightlife hint

You are a short walk to several fun restaurants, bars and clubs. There are so many options that you can do no wrong with Mexican food on a beachside restaurant at or south of the hotel to a little bit more expensive fare at Marcel's ( a Swiss restaurant..great food and fun staff ) or take a $5 taxi to the Vista Grill at the top of Puerto Vallarta...a unique experience. Apache's is a great 2 for 1 extended happy hour cafe with a great mix of natives and tourists...expect music and great friendly converstaion.

| Tampa, FL. Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

The Real Truth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 13, 2010
As a single traveler in a new place no one even asked me if there was something they could do to make my stay enjoyable except to ask me if I wanted a hustler?????????? I will never go there again or recommend this to others.

| Phoenix, Arizona Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

blue chairs and the beach

Would recommend Wed, Jun 23, 2010
Great beach service AGAIN from Louis

Nightlife hint

Bar manana is a favorite but the new Pacos Ranch is getting better

| Chicago Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

The Puerto Vallarta Experience

Would recommend Sun, Jun 20, 2010
Amidst the crashing waves of the beachfront that are just footsteps from your room, you can enjoy the Puerto Vallarta experience. Sit under a palapa or umbrella sipping your favorite beverage The resort offers shows and other entertainment at NO cost. The rooms are clean as housekeeping is efficient. The staff is willing to assist at EVERY turn. You can also get a first class massage. Ready to party? The resort is a short walk or convenient cab ride to many venues. The property's amenities are worthy for either a KING or a QUEEN!

Entertainment hint

Blue Chairs offers a variety of shows of specific interest to the clientele.

| Nevada Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great value during low season

Would recommend Sat, Jun 19, 2010
Overall, our stay at the Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea was a pleasurable one. There were many positives about our trip and a few negatives. We decided to go in the middle of June which is Puerto Vallarta's low season. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly concierge ([...]) and front desk staff. However, the elevator wasn't working that day and there was some major construction going on (they are apparently adding another floor to the hotel). Several other hotels in the area were also under construction. When we entered the room we noticed a huge crane outside our balcony which was gone the following day. Since it was low season and rainy season was in a few weeks we realized this was a sensible time to renovate. However, it would have been appreciated if they would have notified us. I highly recommend using the concierge who is VERY helpful and always willing to make restaurant, excursion, and other suggestions. He will gladly make a dinner or excursion reservation for you. Make a point to utilize his knowledge and tip him accordingly at the end of your trip. He also has a great sense of humor while being professional at the same time.The third day of our stay our A/C stopped working. The front desk staff immediately upgraded us to the Junior Suite at no extra cost or trouble. I highly recommend paying the extra money to stay in the Junior Suite or better even though our Ocean Front room was comfortable.The hotel is directly behind the beach so if you like to be a "beach bunny" it's the PERFECT location. Also, it's within walking distance to all of the gay bars and restaurants. Try Vista Grill for an amazing dinner and spectacular view. Joe Jacks has excellent fish tacos. Stroll along the Malecon and be sure to go on at least one ocean excursion of some kind (sunset, beach, etc.). Almost every staff member we came across at the Blue Chairs was courteous, helpful, and friendly. It's not your typical all inclusive resort with a ton of amenities but it is a good value and experience for the price.One drawback of the beach (which is beautiful)is the constant peddling of goods from vendors. Don't be afraid to haggle with them. It can actually be fun. You will be asked on a regular basis to buy "things" so be prepared to buy something (they rely on the touristas to make a living). However, you can politely say no gracias and they eventually leave.

| St. Louis, Missouri Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

pros and cons

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 9, 2010
pros: across the street from the gay beach (chairs & umbrellas are free to anyone making purchases from the beachclub cafe though); gay and/or gay friendly staff; short walk to most things gay - though many hotels are closer to all but the beach. clean room, bottled water in the hall, beachclub cafe and rooftop bar charges could be signed to room, free beach towel service, atm in lobby, flat screen tv, nice bed/bedding, free wireless in room. [...], the concierge is EXCELLENT! cons: literally a jackhammer on the roof many days during my visit with dangerous debris falling onto terrace and hotel entrance. paid extra for a beachfront room and got a view of the tarped over roof of the bar across the street with a few inches of ocean above it. elevator in/out of service all week. very low water pressure. a guest and i were VERY embarassed and surprised to be forced to sign-in, leave ID and pay 200 pesos 'security' process for visitors to rooms - though the general public had easy access to all floors en route to and from the rooftop bar 3p-10:30p daily. some other gay and non-gay hotels had a sign-in process but not the fee.

Dining

eat where [...] tells you to eat! and only use bank affiliated ATMS.

| oklahoma city Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

10 Day Stay

Would recommend Tue, Jun 8, 2010
Blue Chairs is a great place for a beach vacation for gay travelers. Right out the front door, you're at the gay beach. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, housekeeping attentive. The wait staff at the beach and up at the rooftop bar are great. Many of the rooms have been remodeled and looked quite nice. Mine was not, but still clean and comfortable. A/C worked great. The only complaints I have would be about the construction noise from the rooftop expansion and the building next door. And the elevator seemed to be out of service regularly...sometimes with people in it.

Entertainment hint

The nightly entertainment at the Blue Sunset was great. The shows were fun and entertaining and the male dancers nice to look at.

| Fort Lauderdale Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Disgusted

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 2, 2010
I went here with my best friend for a week and was excited about the location -- that was all that was worthwhile about this place. Without a doubt, this is the worst place I have ever stayed in. Had I not booked the package prior (along with airfare), and paid less than $75/night for an oceanview room, we would have left after the first night.The staff was useless. I found used gum on my plate when I ordered lunch on the beach and there was never an apology and the waiter was hardly surprised. An unauthorized charge was made to the room, and the clerk tried to urge me to pay it anyway. He was not surprised or apologetic. The service on the beach was nonexistent. You had to actively search for waiters, and when you paid your bill, they would check their tip in front of you and make their opinion known. The floors in the room were filthy, and were not cleaned for the duration of our stay.The mattress covers were stained.The plumbing was backed up and the room smelled like [*] for most of the days. The water pressure was nonexistent. On our last day, the toilets didn't flush and there was no hot water.The air conditioner was noisy and squirted water all over me during the night. In fact, the maid put all the pillows out on the balcony to dry them off. The floors were never clean, and the toiletries were never replaced.There was construction next door.There was construction on the roof and at the pool and for the most of the time, they restricted access to the roof and the pool, except for the nightly go-go dancer/drag show they had each night. (To their credit, the drag show was great.)All of the guests that we spoke to complained about the same issues. In fact, it became an ongoing joke. My friend and I just rolled with it and laughed it off for lack of other options. But we will NEVER stay here again. If I knew there was a chance in hell in getting a refund, I would do so, but considering I was even asked to pay for services I never asked for, I won't hold my breath.The only positive is the location -- it's walking distance from everything, and the views are stunning[...]

Attractions

Definitely do a booze cruise while you're there. It was a blast. DO NOT DO the "Eco Tour"/"Canopy Tour" to El Eden...it is a scam and a complete waste of time.

| Los Angeles, CA Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Puerto Vallarta great place great people

Would not recommend Thu, May 27, 2010
WE MESSED UP......... We stayed at the Blue Chairs in Dec 2009. At that time there was loud construction going on early morning til evening. We also had a problem with the shower and air conditioner. We did end up having to change rooms. We decided to try it again when we went back in May 2010 ......big mistake. Still had remodeling going on (not quite as bad) But the worst was yet to come. The drain in the shower was messed up and the only way to keep the smell from coming into the room was to place a wet towel over the drain. It also took at least 30 minutes for the toilet to refill so it could be flushed again. Theres more..........three times during the week we were without water. I mean NO water in our room for several hours a couple times. If not for the location this place wouldn't have much

Dining

There are a lot of great eating places make sure you try a lot of different places........Freddy Tucans for breakfast( excellent service) Nacho Daddies for burritos and Margaretta Grill for the food drinks and very friendly staff.....tell [...] we said HI

| Minneapolis Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5