$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 5, 2011

great location,

great location... right on the gay beach and a 10-minute walk to most of the gay nightlife and restaurants. accommodations are adequate but nothing spectacular (no fridge or minibar, not even an alarm clock), but the room was clean, there was air conditioning, a flatscreen TV, and a shower with enough room for two. **be warned: regardless of how many people are on the reservation (I was there alone and made the reservation for two), they charge what I've dubbed a "trick fee" -- meaning if you bring in "guests" they charge 200 pesos for up to three hours or 400 pesos for an overnight guest. kind of ridiculous in my opinion, but overall a good place to stay if you're looking for convenience and no frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

la noche, club manana, and paco's ranch are all within a 10 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles California
Jan 25, 2010

Great location bad service

When I arrived I was given a room that had no phone,a refrigerator that made a loud noise when it turned on, the room smelled of bug spray,the room was located in the back and very noisy. I had a whole in my bathroom wall big enough to put your head through that you can look outside. No instructions on how to use your phone or any services the hotel had to offer. I had requested a room change and that room was much better. They do not supply hair dryers nore irons. If you ask the front desk any questions on where any bars are or any gay activities there clueless. Their also straight, so is alot of the staff that works there. I would think that a gay property would hire gay people to work the front desk because they would be able to relate to the client. On the bright side, it's location is great and they do have remodeled rooms and they are very nice. Overall I give this hotel a C- or three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, and entertainment are a short distance away. Also, write on a piece of paper or save in your phone, numbers of your credit cards/debit cards in case it gets lost or stolen. It is very difficult to get any help if you do not have these numbers on you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duro Explorer
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 27, 2010

Worry Free Vacation

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The service staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't be able to write enough things about them. When I return to PV, I would stay at a different place only because I like to try out different things. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in being right on the beach and at the center of early evening gay life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetu
Business
Atlanta Ga
Feb 20, 2011

Fantastic location

We really enjoyed our beach front balcony for morning coffee and evening cocktails. Our room was on the 5th floor below the club and would hear loud music and chairs scraping across the floor until about 11:30pm. But it was a lot of fun otherwise. The room had a coffee maker but they did not have any coffee for us after the first day. we went to the local market and bought coffee for the coffee maker. The staff was great and very hospitable. They gave us beach towels every day and we spent the whole day on the beach laying out and swimming. The waiters on the beach were great and served us drinks and food quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FurryFridayz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Nice but Noisy

Noisy all day from 5pm to 11pm. Because of Events on Rooftop. Local guests are asked to pay a 200peso fee just to come up to the room. Rooms are nice and room service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into the local residential area in zona romantica and find a hole in the wall restaurant. Much cheaper and the food is excellent...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
40 something couple
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Friendly atmosphere, some problems

Well this is old town Mexico afterall, so was not expecting 4 star amenities. Called in advance to confirm room type and location and they said all was OK. When we arrived we were given a partially remodeled smallest room with no water pressure at all and entry door faced disco entry stairs. (We booked the more expensive large suite and confirmed with phone calls twice.) They did move us on day two, but would not offer a refund only credit for breakfast. Was happy with the 2nd junior suite (excellent view and remodeled and water pressure). The staff was really nice except service on beach could be challenging and slow. Wifi does not work consistently so don't count on it. No water at all for one afternoon and upper floors seem to have no water pressure. Loud party bar upstairs could be a plus or a minus depending on what you are looking for. Would change to a recommend if problems are fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Aug 23, 2008

Not what it Used to Be!

There are plenty on/near the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Restuarant on Top of the Hill overlooking the city! (Palmero de Guillero?) Great food, and view and good service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SirChadley
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 8, 2010

Good Times

The Blue Chairs Resort was everything I expected it to be... A non-stop good time. That being said, I wasn't disappointed with the service or the staff. Everyone was VERY friendly and the best part is the beach is right there. I went with three other guys for our birthdays. Most of the people about town were staying there too, so it made meeting new friends real easy. We were lucky enough to get a new room, but I heard the old ones are run down. Our neighbor's room flooded at one point, and our room's water shut off for about half a day (To the BEACH!) Would I stay again!? For the price/convenience to the gay scene in town, it can't be beat. If I go back to PV and am looking to relax (yeah right), I'd probably spring for the Abbey or the Tropicana. They are more quiet and conservative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco's Kitchen was the best place to eat in town. We didn't find it till the last day, but it was good, authentic, and cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Feb 17, 2011

Great with a couple of minor problems.

Great hotel overall... Pros: Hot water- Yes, they really had hot water and not just warm water. Bed- The bed was soft!!! View- Partial view was actually a really good view. A/C- The A/C was great! CONS: They will not bring you bath towels...You can ask till the cows come home and you will not get a towel. Toliet paper: conserve your supply..Once you use the roll in the room, just go to the store and buy a roll. I asked over and over and no paper was ever brought to my room. I was told the housekeeper will bring it up later. Water pressure: Not the greatest, but I think this is a problem in all the hotels in PV, Mexico. Wireless internet only works in the Lobby!!!!!! This was a major thing for me. They didn't lie as they do have the wireless internet, but just not in the rooms. I will stay in this hotel in the future. I was very pleased with the room, and what the hotel had to offer. I feel that these few problems are minor when I look at the big picture of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
June2014
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2014

It is what it is.

First time at this hotel. Not what I expected. Clean and in a geeat lication for what I was looking for. Staff was great, but the hotel needs a major renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top