$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 12, 2013

The best friendly staff!!!!!!!

This is my second time stay at blue chairs, and the rooms and amenities they don't change at all, they need new beds, the towels are very old and the decor really poor. But the reason I'm stay there is the staff!! Starting from Alberto at reservations, Francisco at the front desk, and every waiter!! Kenny,Miguel, Luis,etc etc!!!!! Amazing! The service is behind! they make me field part of their family I already miss them! The pick up service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La palapa restaurant, a few steps from blue chair hotel great walk from the beach. Excellent service and as a Mexican, the food was amassing!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 10, 2010

Great Location for the Gay Traveller

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr K
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 14, 2011

Great location

The drawing card is the location---practically on the beach. With the patio door open you can hear the sound of the ocean waves and feel the breeze blowing gently. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable. It takes a while for the water to heat up in the shower but once it gets hot its ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant(s) is tasty. Overall, a decent value. I would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles California
Jan 25, 2010

Great location bad service

When I arrived I was given a room that had no phone,a refrigerator that made a loud noise when it turned on, the room smelled of bug spray,the room was located in the back and very noisy. I had a whole in my bathroom wall big enough to put your head through that you can look outside. No instructions on how to use your phone or any services the hotel had to offer. I had requested a room change and that room was much better. They do not supply hair dryers nore irons. If you ask the front desk any questions on where any bars are or any gay activities there clueless. Their also straight, so is alot of the staff that works there. I would think that a gay property would hire gay people to work the front desk because they would be able to relate to the client. On the bright side, it's location is great and they do have remodeled rooms and they are very nice. Overall I give this hotel a C- or three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, and entertainment are a short distance away. Also, write on a piece of paper or save in your phone, numbers of your credit cards/debit cards in case it gets lost or stolen. It is very difficult to get any help if you do not have these numbers on you.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duro Explorer
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 27, 2010

Worry Free Vacation

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The service staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't be able to write enough things about them. When I return to PV, I would stay at a different place only because I like to try out different things. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in being right on the beach and at the center of early evening gay life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 7, 2010

Fun time, great people, good location

From the moment we arrived the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. We made many friends with the staff while we were there. The location is great. The only issue was the room. While I do understand they were in the process of trying to upgrade, there is still a long way to go. And just one other thing that rubbed me the wrong way was that they wanted to charge you for the cheap coffee and sugar that you find next to the mini-drip coffee maker in your room. Come on guys! From what I know now, I could have gotten a lot more for the same price at nice places in the same area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Mar 18, 2010

Close to the beach and nice staff

Overall, it was a great stay. Our room was ready at check-in. Our room was recently remodeled and had nice marble floors. It also had a private balcony with bay views. We spent most days at the beach, a short walk from the Hotel. In the evenings, we walked to dinner in the old town. This was very similar to another vacation we spent in Puerto Vallarta in 2009.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kelvin8r
Business
oklahoma city
Jun 9, 2010

pros and cons

pros: across the street from the gay beach (chairs & umbrellas are free to anyone making purchases from the beachclub cafe though); gay and/or gay friendly staff; short walk to most things gay - though many hotels are closer to all but the beach. clean room, bottled water in the hall, beachclub cafe and rooftop bar charges could be signed to room, free beach towel service, atm in lobby, flat screen tv, nice bed/bedding, free wireless in room. [...], the concierge is EXCELLENT! cons: literally a jackhammer on the roof many days during my visit with dangerous debris falling onto terrace and hotel entrance. paid extra for a beachfront room and got a view of the tarped over roof of the bar across the street with a few inches of ocean above it. elevator in/out of service all week. very low water pressure. a guest and i were VERY embarassed and surprised to be forced to sign-in, leave ID and pay 200 pesos 'security' process for visitors to rooms - though the general public had easy access to all floors en route to and from the rooftop bar 3p-10:30p daily. some other gay and non-gay hotels had a sign-in process but not the fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat where [...] tells you to eat! and only use bank affiliated ATMS.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Great location

The hotel is been remodel so is quite noisy starting really early in the morning so if you go for a night out be ready to wake-up really early bc you will not be able to sleep with all that noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bars are open until early morning hours.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetu
Business
Atlanta Ga
Feb 20, 2011

Fantastic location

We really enjoyed our beach front balcony for morning coffee and evening cocktails. Our room was on the 5th floor below the club and would hear loud music and chairs scraping across the floor until about 11:30pm. But it was a lot of fun otherwise. The room had a coffee maker but they did not have any coffee for us after the first day. we went to the local market and bought coffee for the coffee maker. The staff was great and very hospitable. They gave us beach towels every day and we spent the whole day on the beach laying out and swimming. The waiters on the beach were great and served us drinks and food quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top