Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
View map of Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
196 reviews
Home away from Home

So welcoming sweet smiles reception warm at first i felt lost untilvi walked into hotel as if they... See full review

  • Miguel T.
  • Jul 23, 2015
Nice place to get out

Nice place, but it seems like they have construction all the time. See full review

  • Kdcdough
  • Jan 23, 2015
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Property features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Nearby attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve O Mexico
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 17, 2013

Overall Good Experience - Great for first time visitors

The hotel was right on the beach, so that was THE major benefit of the hotel. The Romantic Zone in PV is pretty compact and that made thelocation "at the end of the town" OK. We had a jr suite with "ocean view", but since it was on the second floor, you could only see the ocean from part of the balcony (the blue chairs restaurant was in front of our room so we were slightly obstructed). We still enjoyed the room - it was one of the updated rooms - I guess all are not. It is a bit noisy with the construction on the adjacent property (which I understand has been going on for over 4 years), but nothing that was too inconvenient. The AC worked fine and if the noise did get too loud, we closed the patio door, turned on the AC and the TV and all was good. Above all, the staff is excellent, Erica's happy attitude and Alex's friendly smile were great and our check in host (sorry - forgot his name) was very friendly and accomidating. - we felt very welcome. Our room was cleaned very nicely every day. Overall a very good experience. Not the cheepest place in town, but they get it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boofagin
Business
Pfugerville Texas
Mar 20, 2013

Location, staff, and price

The reasons why you would stay at Blue Chairs are location, staff, and price. My partner and I had a fantastic time at Blue Chairs and would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zanate

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wheeldon77
Business
San Diego
Mar 24, 2013

Fun Spot

over all it is a great bang for your buck. the location is the best in PV for a gay get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

lots of fun in the Hotel and on the beach.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uoftexgreg95
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 4, 2013

Not the lap of luxury, but a fun place to stay

This was the first time I had vacationed alone so I wanted to pick a gay hotel to meet like minded people. I thought the staff was nice but at times a little over bearing. When informing me of my total tab for the beach and bar areas one day, one of the front desk people informed me that I "drank alot". I informed him that his staff "drank alot too" and it was on MY tab. Other than that, the staff was nice and friendly. The beach area was fun and I met a ton of fun people. The bar and grill staff at both the beach bar and upstairs bar are super nice. The room are big, but a bit dated. I wouldn't call them comfortable but there okay. The furniture is pretty rickety in the rooms but the wifi worked which was important to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 12, 2013

The best friendly staff!!!!!!!

This is my second time stay at blue chairs, and the rooms and amenities they don't change at all, they need new beds, the towels are very old and the decor really poor. But the reason I'm stay there is the staff!! Starting from Alberto at reservations, Francisco at the front desk, and every waiter!! Kenny,Miguel, Luis,etc etc!!!!! Amazing! The service is behind! they make me field part of their family I already miss them! The pick up service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La palapa restaurant, a few steps from blue chair hotel great walk from the beach. Excellent service and as a Mexican, the food was amassing!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 10, 2010

Great Location for the Gay Traveller

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr K
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 14, 2011

Great location

The drawing card is the location---practically on the beach. With the patio door open you can hear the sound of the ocean waves and feel the breeze blowing gently. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable. It takes a while for the water to heat up in the shower but once it gets hot its ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant(s) is tasty. Overall, a decent value. I would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles California
Jan 25, 2010

Great location bad service

When I arrived I was given a room that had no phone,a refrigerator that made a loud noise when it turned on, the room smelled of bug spray,the room was located in the back and very noisy. I had a whole in my bathroom wall big enough to put your head through that you can look outside. No instructions on how to use your phone or any services the hotel had to offer. I had requested a room change and that room was much better. They do not supply hair dryers nore irons. If you ask the front desk any questions on where any bars are or any gay activities there clueless. Their also straight, so is alot of the staff that works there. I would think that a gay property would hire gay people to work the front desk because they would be able to relate to the client. On the bright side, it's location is great and they do have remodeled rooms and they are very nice. Overall I give this hotel a C- or three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, and entertainment are a short distance away. Also, write on a piece of paper or save in your phone, numbers of your credit cards/debit cards in case it gets lost or stolen. It is very difficult to get any help if you do not have these numbers on you.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duro Explorer
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 27, 2010

Worry Free Vacation

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The service staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't be able to write enough things about them. When I return to PV, I would stay at a different place only because I like to try out different things. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in being right on the beach and at the center of early evening gay life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 7, 2010

Fun time, great people, good location

From the moment we arrived the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. We made many friends with the staff while we were there. The location is great. The only issue was the room. While I do understand they were in the process of trying to upgrade, there is still a long way to go. And just one other thing that rubbed me the wrong way was that they wanted to charge you for the cheap coffee and sugar that you find next to the mini-drip coffee maker in your room. Come on guys! From what I know now, I could have gotten a lot more for the same price at nice places in the same area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top