Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

2 stars
Malecon y Almendro # 4, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
191 reviews
THE PERFECT GETAWAY

Awesome place to stay in Mexico for a gay resort, very friendly staff and great bar/food service on... See full review

  • Drew and Jim
  • Jul 1, 2014
Extremely pleased!

I had read some prior reviews about Blue chairs and I of course agree the place's location is its... See full review

  • travelstud
  • Mar 28, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian beckons with ocean-view patios from every room and a casual ambiance suited for couples and singles. The 43-room property also holds the distinction as the only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beach access. Contemporary style keeps spaces fresh and up-to-date, while a spa offering facials, massages and wraps, a rooftop bar and a beachside restaurant round out the vacation experience.
Highlights
  • The only gay hotel in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access
  • All rooms have patios and partial or full ocean views
  • Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner by the beach
  • Spa offering facials, massages and wraps
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms
Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian evokes modern Mexican style in 43 rooms. Sticking to a palette of turquoise and camel, spaces feel open and airy thanks to arched windows and balconies that look out to the ocean. Accents such as mod table lamps, dotted pillows and white Baroque mirrors throw just the right amount of style into the rooms. Master suites have the added luxuries of a separate living room and kitchenette. In each layout, guests enjoy an LCD cable-equipped TV, Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and private balcony.
Features
When guests at Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay & Lesbian seek down time, they book appointments at Blue Chairs Spa. Unwind with signature treatments such as the four chairs massage, reiki and the sea salt scrub. The spa also pampers with unique services that utilize chocolate, clay and seaweed to detoxify and cleanse the body.
Dining
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea Gay & Lesbian serves regional fare bursting with fresh seafood, meat and vegetables all day. The chef also incorporates local spices for extra excitement. A stunning beachside setting creates the perfect scene for outdoor dining. A rooftop pool with lounge chairs invites visitors to soak up the sun and Bay of Banderas vistas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Vallarta (walking distance)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.9 mi/9.4 km)

Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Partial Ocean View w/Kitchenette
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Junior Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Master Suite
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean View
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.
Ocean Front
Room with king or 2 double beds include private bath, color TV, air conditioning, telephone and private balcony. Decorated Mexican rustic style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.5976 -105.2391
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz international airport 20 minutes.
Area description
Located on the south side Vallarta in the area known as Zona Romantica where all the gay bars, restaurants and business are we are in the front of the ocean and the hotel beach in the famous blue chairs gay beach.

Dining

Beach Restaurant
The beach restaurant opens from 8:00AM to 6:00 PM offering Mexican breakfast and delicious lunch, you can also order anything to your room.
Sunset Restaurant
The sunset restaurant opens from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM you can enjoy snacks and meals watching the sunset or also having dinner while you watch the nightly shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafael sainz
Las Vegas NV
Sep 12, 2013

The best friendly staff!!!!!!!

This is my second time stay at blue chairs, and the rooms and amenities they don't change at all, they need new beds, the towels are very old and the decor really poor. But the reason I'm stay there is the staff!! Starting from Alberto at reservations, Francisco at the front desk, and every waiter!! Kenny,Miguel, Luis,etc etc!!!!! Amazing! The service is behind! they make me field part of their family I already miss them! The pick up service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La palapa restaurant, a few steps from blue chair hotel great walk from the beach. Excellent service and as a Mexican, the food was amassing!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuckyJD79
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

First time in PV.

My expectations were low after reading a lot of the reviews. As a thirty something traveling solo, I found everything to be adequate and the staff extremely friendly. I billed three food/bar transactions to my room and I was charged properly. They didn't hesitate to give me the 10% discount on room charges that was advertised as part of my package. The requirement to wear a wristband is understandable given some of the security issues they mentioned (items being stolen by visitors). It was a little funky that I couldn't show my friends my room without paying a visitor fee. There is also a fee for having someone over for the night. This seems to be a common practice at the surrounding hotels. The experience was pleasant, but after learning the area, I'd consider staying somewhere else. You don't need to be on the beach, and as a local bar owner mentioned, they seem to be riding on their reputation for being the first gay resort on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the newly opened "Si Senor" restaurant on the beach. The food was delicious and thanks to the exchange rate the prices were very low. Our server Eduardo was amazing!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Feb 17, 2011

Great with a couple of minor problems.

Great hotel overall... Pros: Hot water- Yes, they really had hot water and not just warm water. Bed- The bed was soft!!! View- Partial view was actually a really good view. A/C- The A/C was great! CONS: They will not bring you bath towels...You can ask till the cows come home and you will not get a towel. Toliet paper: conserve your supply..Once you use the roll in the room, just go to the store and buy a roll. I asked over and over and no paper was ever brought to my room. I was told the housekeeper will bring it up later. Water pressure: Not the greatest, but I think this is a problem in all the hotels in PV, Mexico. Wireless internet only works in the Lobby!!!!!! This was a major thing for me. They didn't lie as they do have the wireless internet, but just not in the rooms. I will stay in this hotel in the future. I was very pleased with the room, and what the hotel had to offer. I feel that these few problems are minor when I look at the big picture of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steven and Lee
Burbank, CA
Mar 23, 2014

Awesome location, clean room and friendly staff

Blue Chairs was the perfect place to stay. Right on the beach with Excelent staff to make your beach day perfect. I would not recomended the roof top bar unless you like go-go dancers begging for money. There are plenty of nice bars in withing walking distance where you don't get husseled. Overall, the Blue Chairs was convenient, clean and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favorite hang outs were Los Noches which has a great rooftop area, and Garbo's which has live music

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Aug 23, 2008

Not what it Used to Be!

There are plenty on/near the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Restuarant on Top of the Hill overlooking the city! (Palmero de Guillero?) Great food, and view and good service!

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
victor the great
antioch,ca
May 5, 2009

fun at the beach

right by the beach,I got a nice suntan,they need a good pool,the pool is too short looks like a big bath tub,and was not easy to use it since they were always ready with tables around for the show in the afternoon,even do we enjoy the show's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

NIce safe and delicious food in viejo vallarta,nice clubs,friendly people we have a blast in vallarta we planing to do it again

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shawnny
NYC
Nov 25, 2009

"constructions"

there were banging noises early in the morning..no consideration for the guests and if you're on the top floors the music can be too loud at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wheeldon77
San Diego
Mar 24, 2013

Fun Spot

over all it is a great bang for your buck. the location is the best in PV for a gay get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

lots of fun in the Hotel and on the beach.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Nov 21, 2010

Hospitable Staff

It is not easy to say anything negative about this place because the staff more than compensate for any deficiencies. They are cordial, attentive, accommodating, jovial and most importantly, helpful. The hotel underwent some renovation, but still needs some tweaking. We had an ocean front room with a nice terrace. We were a bit taken aback discovering that the latches securing the folding doors were non functional. One could easily hop over from the next terrace into ours and blow into the doors and they will swing wide open!!! Maintenace were unable to solve the problem for the entire 6 days we were there. The room is very clean and the housekeeping service was good There are always clean towels and coffee for a morning picker upper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The roof top bar provides nightly entertainment. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood and the hotel cafe is great for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Blue Chairs Resort by The Sea Gay and Lesbian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Oct 26, 2010

Blue Chairs Resort Oct 2010

Hotel was close to beach, Staff was friendly. Only Draw back elevator was out of service and they put us on the 5th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top