$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 11.5 Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
557 reviews
The best vacation

Everything was great i hardly sugest everyone to try this hotel and the staff was really nice me... See full review

  • Chefsanchez
  • Jul 14, 2014
Excelent vacation

very good hotel , very good location staff very helpful rooms very confortables See full review

  • tigrillo
  • Jun 23, 2014
Peace and tranquility or excitement and adventure in Puerto Vallarta

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta is a luxurious resort with a tropical oasis as its backdrop.  The moment guests step into the main lobby, it's clear that this is an opulent hotel with grandiose furnishings and style. Families, couples and singles alike enjoy the top-of-the line services and amenities.  Family-friendly daytime entertainment, evening shows, a full-service spa, a fitness center, supervised play activities at the children's club plus a host of recreational activities are available.  The hotel also has two family swimming pools, one children's pool with a water slide, and one sports pool. There are also several fine-dining restaurants at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta that serve international fare.  

Reasons to stay
  • Breathtaking views of Bahia de Banderas
  • Supervised play activities for children aged five to twelve
  • A diverse range of services, amenities and activities available
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta rooms

This palatial hotel features 316 spacious guest rooms – 179 junior suites, 109 family suites, 13 master suites, 12 grand master suites and three presidential suites – all with a wide range of amenities.  Guests stay in rooms that are bright, warm and welcoming with furnishings and decor in deep orange, beige, brown, white and yellow tones.  The style and decor of each room and suite embodies the rich cultural heritage found in Puerto Vallarta, but is also modern, elegant and comfortable. Rooms come with private balconies, a king-sized bed or two double beds, a living room with a sofa, a mini bar, two televisions, air conditioning, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and a fully equipped bathroom.


The most indulgent accommodation at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta can be found in one of the Penthouse Presidential Suites.  A private terrace with awe-inspiring views of the sea is just the beginning. These suites feature two bedrooms, two large beds, two single beds, a lounge, three televisions with DVD players, a home cinema, two bathrooms and a hydro massage bathtub.

Things to do nearby
  • Malecon (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Town (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (6.2 mi/10 km)

Hotel Map

20.5323 -105.2906
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta International Airport
Area description
15 minutes from downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Ocean Front Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 60 square meters (646 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Ocean Front Grand Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 80 square meters (861 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
One Bedroom Premium Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / ocean view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as poolside view/ 2 fully equipped bathrooms/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / poolside view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Premium Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as oceanside view/ 2 fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet accses and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Covention Center have 5 rooms and you can get differents Setup---- Banquet, Classroom, conference, "U" Shaped table, theater, cocktail : La jolla 1: Max. 400 people La jolla 1: Max. 400 people Mismaloya 1: Max. 104 people Mismaloya 2: Max. 134 people Mismaloya 3: Max. 134 people

Dining

Los Arcos
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu.Sit down dinner is served every night at our specialty restaurant "Los Arcos" is a steak and seafood grill serving dinner only. You can select differents menus or choice GALA " A LA CARTE", and you can make you own menu.Reservations required and dress code applies.
Capri
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups. Serving a la carte Italian cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
Don Quijote
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups.Serving a la carte Spanish cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
El Patio
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu. Private functions can be organizaed according to group size & choice in Restaurant in Restaurant "El Patio", with the following menus: "Continental", "The New World", "Vallarta","First Aid" or "A LA CARTE". Casual open-air restaurant offering buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (557)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 557
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry New Yorker
NY, NY
Apr 4, 2010

Never going back again...

We just returned from our week stay at Barcelo, and cant be happier to be back home. The vacation was a nightmare, because the hotel was awfully inadequate. On the first night of our trip, we ate at the "Spanish restaurant." This was followed by the entire family being sick the next morning! Nausea, vomiting, for hours and hours the entire day. We notified the hotel staff but they didnt so much as blink. We bought Pepto Bismol in the hotel deli but they didnt even carry Ginger Ale, and hence I had to go to the run-down Mini Mart in town to buy some, while sick..... Finally, we called a local doctor, who took our temperatures and automatically sent us to the hospital. She charged $70 per person cash right away. My two kids and I stayed at the hospital for the remainder of the day, the entire night and the next day. The staff barely spoke English and couldnt even explain what was wrong with us. For those measly 20 hours, we were charged 8,000.... dollars, not pesos. When we returned, the front desk staff didnt seem fazed by the fact that we spent the night in a hospital. they didnt take any responsibility WHATSOVER. We talked to some people who all said that at least someone in their party was sick. We found out that more than half the guests were sick! Maybe it was food poisoning, maybe the terrible Mexican water, but it was probably the unsanitary conditions. THE KITCHEN STAFF DID NOT WEAR GLOVES THE DISHES AND SILVERWARE WERE FILTHY we had to change glasses and plates at least three times during the duration of every meal... the conditions were absolutely disgusting and are by no means conditions for a vacation... I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Save yourself the money. and the nausea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
STEPHANIE.
HOUSTON, TX
Jul 11, 2012

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

NEEDS TO BE REMODELED AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! I HAVE BEEN TO PUERTO VALLARTA SIX TIMES AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I RECOMEND THE RIU PALAC, OR RIU VALLARTA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
STEPHANIE.
HOUSTON, TX
Jul 12, 2012

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!

As soon as we arrived it was a horrible experience the lobby was crowded and extremly hot, the people working at the front desk was extremly rude, especially the women who is in charge of running it. The Hotel is very old and in need of a remodel. Not only were they rude but they required so much documentation and paper work to even check in. The staff expects tips, and if they aren't given any they do not treat you well. THE TIPS ARE SOPPOSE TO BE INCLUDED! The main restuarant where you have breakfast,lunch and dinner is outside where it is hot and full of flys and you have birds flying around. The elevator is small, old, and hot, not to mention people get stuck in it! the hall ways and elevator do not have AC! When your at the pool it is impossible to get any service and you have to wave down the service people to get any help, this is due to the fact that they are under staffed! I have been to Puerto Vallarta a total of 6 time and this has been the only time where I wasn't satisfied! I WILL NEVER BOOK WITH THIS HOTEL AGAIN OR ANY BARCELO HOTEL. There were two occasions where the guys who refill your mini bar knocked only one time and as im going to open the door they had already come in?!?! I recommend any of the three RIU hotels in Puerto Vallarta/ Nuevo Vallarta, that is true customer service, unlike this Hotel. The beach is NOT like you see in the pictures it is cut off, for people who have tours service it is very small amount of beach that actually belongs to the hotel. The pictures are very missleading and give off a different impression! Do not book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kansas Group
Kansas
Jun 19, 2013

One thing after another

I don't like to complain very often and thats the truth.. But when we arrived it was a mess.. First off we had to switch rooms 4 times.. Mainly due to the room safe not working. Something that you need in Mexico.. They say there are three resuraunts. However the Steak and Seafood was shut down leaving only two.. Just a note. The food was not the best. However you could survive on it. I would recommend going into town and eating at Cheeky Monkey or Bubba Gump..Two nights we had to wait for 30 minutes because our room keys would not work. The battery in the door was going bad. But they didn't fix it until it happened twice. Staff at the front desk were horrible.. Towels were hard to get at the pool and we had to wait sometimes for towels for the room... Also they don't have a dive shop to get snorkle equipment. It was closed.. They said they were looking to a new vendor to take it over.. I will say the staff other than the front desh were very nice.. The pool bar does close at 5pm and sometimes 6pm.. Then getting drinks was tough.. The rooms were very clean and the views were awesome of the beach.. Big Note.. Find Chaba if you want to book fishing,zip lines or snorkle trips.. You will find him on the beach. Just ask for him.. He was awesome and made the trip fun.. We have been to Mexico many times. It always seems like there are a few issues.. This place just had more than normal..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find Chaba on the beach for your day trips..

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 2, 2010

Wanted to leave as soon as we checked in

We read reviews the day before we left warning us about how most hotel guests were becoming very sick. We decided to take our chances. We checked in at 4pm. Hotel was nice, but small. Rooms were the best part of the hotel. We were in a 2 bedroom suite, which was perfect when traveling with teens. The rooms were big, the beds very comfortable, the view very nice. However, as soon as we started talking with other guests, we heard first hand about how everyone was getting very sick and the hotel couldn't figure out why. We toured the property (small), went to the beach (smelly, too small to walk on, river ran into the ocean at the property, locals fishing on the river, wild dogs running around, harrassed by merchants selling stuff - no way to get away from them). If you like to walk the beach, DO NOT stay here. It seemed more like a 2 1/2 or 3 star resort than a 4 star. The food was only average at best. The hotel floors were sticky, a dirty diaper was laying open by the poolside. People were walking around with welts all over their legs from the little bugs that are everywhere there. (Bring bug spray if you decide to go.) We were worried about getting sick so decided we needed to switch resorts. We stayed one night while we found somewhere else to stay. The hotel manager understood, acknowledged the resort was having an issue with sickness, and refunded our remaining nights. Unfortunately, even though we were at the resort less than 24 hrs and we were very careful, my whole family still got sick. We have traveled many places and have never gotten sick before. We know what to avoid and how to be careful. We were quite sick - extreme body aches, fever, chills, headache, vomitting, diarrhea - lasting 24-30 hrs and then an uneasy stomach the rest of the trip. We were traveling with another family, and in total, 6 of the 7 of us got sick. DO NOT STAY at the BARCELO until they get this figured out!!! We took our chances after reading reviews like the one I'm writing now, and we regretted it. My advice is to stay somewhere else. (p.s. we switched to the RIU Palace Pacifico -- beautiful resort, exceptional service, highly recommend it)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Abysmal Customer Service

Would you go to a hotel which refuses to take any responsibilities for your stay and experience?This all-inclusive hotel provides free food as part of your stay, so my brother and I only ate at the hotel. On the third day, we ate breakfast in the morning and then a late lunch at the snack bar. Soon after the late lunch, my brother was twisting himself in knots and throwing up the food he has just eaten. He spent a few hours in the bathroom with diahhrea and throwing up food. He threw up so much that the sink overflowed. We called the front desk and were told the manager would call us back. After waiting a half hour, there was still no call back. We called them again and the employee told us he would translate to the manager. After hearing about the issue, the manager said we needed to pay $100 to see a doctor. Wait! We paid $2000 for our trip and flew a thousand miles, ate only at this all-inclusive hotel and we still have to pay extra to see a doctor when the issue is obvious? Seriously? Yes, seriously.The manager said he would call us the next day, and never did. After suffering through the night (I also had diarrhea, but did not throw up), we went down to the front desk to speak to them in person. The manager refused to take any responsibility, saying that they test their food and water and it could not have been the hotel.I went on a tour with 6 other people from the hotel the next day. Of the seven of us, 5 had been sick with food poisoning during the trip. The other two were worried they would get it soon too. Two of the five that were sick had kids that were still sick and were unable to go on the tour. They were trying to get the tour operator to change the time for their kids, but the tour was resisting. Not sure how that worked out.We talked to, and also had other people ask us about being sick. It seemed like a majority of the guests at the hotel had been sick. People at the pool, buffet, restaurant and elevators all talked about how they had been sick and wanted to know if others had been as well. Everyone also talked about how the hotel was not taking responsibility. Barcelo is lucky that they are in Mexico and not the US, because someone would have called the Health Department on them.I waited a long time for this trip and this "4 star all-inclusive" hotel was definitely not what we expected. Be warned![...] We also called Barcelo Corporate and got the runaround there as well. Just completely disgusted with the experience and customer service. Our local Hampton Inn has a 100% satisfaction guarantee. These guys can't even do 10%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Unique ATV Tours has a tour called Mayto Beach. This will be a full-day experience for the adventurous person. You will get to drive an ATV for a few hours, go swimming in a nice quiet beach, eat at a little restaurant with great food and then head back. Have fun!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belleville, IL
Aug 9, 2008

Poor service and food

While the property itself at Barcelo was well maintained, service was very poor. The food choices were limited to a buffet which was not appetizing. You could only eat at the 2 better sit-down restaurants 2 times in a 7-night stay. The first room we had was noisy, the refrigerator did not work and it smelled of mildew. The room we moved to was very nice and very clean. Service poolside was almost non-existent until you tipped a waiter, if you could find one. Tables in the buffet were seldom setup correctly and even a manager failed to understand that silverware, etc. was lacking. We had to return to the front desk 4 times because our electronic keys kept going dead and locking us out of our room. We would not return to this hotel nor recommend it to friends or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VacationsALOT!!!
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 8, 2009

READ before you book at BAECELO!!

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times! The food is decent and the service staff are friendly and efficient! But the hotel is very LOUD. This last trip (5/31 - 6/7 2009) we were awakened every morning at 6:30 a.m.!!! They spray the pool area every morning with what sounds like a LOUDER leaf blower. We were told we could pay extra $$ and be moved up to a higher floor. no guarantee we wouldn't hear the spraying. When we asked to move to the other tower - we were told that tower 2 was under construction. Obviously a lie. Because of the "swine flu" & other issues, the resort was not very full. After the 3rd day, the hotel was packed with local guest for a convention. Tower 2 was magically now open. Oh, unless you like to "party" until 1:00a.m - that's when they enforce the "noise ban" - do not plan to go to sleep before 1:00a.m. - and wake up at 6:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Chico's Adventures - for scuba etc. is located at this hotel.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vergas, MN
Apr 11, 2010

3 out of 4 people get sick

my wife, son and I all got a stomach virus that was rampant in the resort. about 75% of people we ralked to had been sick. It lasted for a couple days and then most people would feel fine with the exception of no appetite. We went into town and talked to some locals that told us this was the third time in the last 6 months that Barcelo has had this problem. Other than that the resort was beautiful and well maintained. Hopefully they get the virus issue under control before people call it [*]-celo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

do not eat at the hotel. It was of common belief that the stomach virus was being spread through the food

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Apr 14, 2010

Stay Away

Everyone at the hotel was sickened by the food; they are having a viral outbreak, that has lasted at least several weeks, but have not done anything about it and are not warning travelers. You are virtually assured of getting sick from eating food at this hotel. I would stay as far away as possible. Our entire party was rendered violently ill by what is likely a foodbourne norovirus that has been raging at this hotel for weeks. The food is otherwise not good. The hotel otherwise has good rooms, good service and nice grounds. It has a pretty, but small and crowded beach. The facilities are otherwise average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search