$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 11.5 Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
572 reviews
Will be back next year!

The perfect get-away in the month of November! Make sure you take the free tour into the city. See full review

  • Max the Sarge
  • Nov 19, 2014
My 6 year old cried when we left!!!!

For the past few years we've been doing "mickey" cruises as my daughter calls them (they are... See full review

  • LBZ731
  • Nov 19, 2014
Peace and tranquility or excitement and adventure in Puerto Vallarta

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta is a luxurious resort with a tropical oasis as its backdrop.  The moment guests step into the main lobby, it's clear that this is an opulent hotel with grandiose furnishings and style. Families, couples and singles alike enjoy the top-of-the line services and amenities.  Family-friendly daytime entertainment, evening shows, a full-service spa, a fitness center, supervised play activities at the children's club plus a host of recreational activities are available.  The hotel also has two family swimming pools, one children's pool with a water slide, and one sports pool. There are also several fine-dining restaurants at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta that serve international fare.  

Reasons to stay
  • Breathtaking views of Bahia de Banderas
  • Supervised play activities for children aged five to twelve
  • A diverse range of services, amenities and activities available
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta rooms

This palatial hotel features 316 spacious guest rooms – 179 junior suites, 109 family suites, 13 master suites, 12 grand master suites and three presidential suites – all with a wide range of amenities.  Guests stay in rooms that are bright, warm and welcoming with furnishings and decor in deep orange, beige, brown, white and yellow tones.  The style and decor of each room and suite embodies the rich cultural heritage found in Puerto Vallarta, but is also modern, elegant and comfortable. Rooms come with private balconies, a king-sized bed or two double beds, a living room with a sofa, a mini bar, two televisions, air conditioning, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and a fully equipped bathroom.


The most indulgent accommodation at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta can be found in one of the Penthouse Presidential Suites.  A private terrace with awe-inspiring views of the sea is just the beginning. These suites feature two bedrooms, two large beds, two single beds, a lounge, three televisions with DVD players, a home cinema, two bathrooms and a hydro massage bathtub.

Things to do nearby
  • Malecon (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Town (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (6.2 mi/10 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Ocean Front Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 60 square meters (646 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Ocean Front Grand Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 80 square meters (861 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
One Bedroom Premium Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / ocean view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as poolside view/ 2 fully equipped bathrooms/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / poolside view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Premium Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as oceanside view/ 2 fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet accses and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Los Arcos
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu.Sit down dinner is served every night at our specialty restaurant "Los Arcos" is a steak and seafood grill serving dinner only. You can select differents menus or choice GALA " A LA CARTE", and you can make you own menu.Reservations required and dress code applies.
Capri
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups. Serving a la carte Italian cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
Don Quijote
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups.Serving a la carte Spanish cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
El Patio
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu. Private functions can be organizaed according to group size & choice in Restaurant in Restaurant "El Patio", with the following menus: "Continental", "The New World", "Vallarta","First Aid" or "A LA CARTE". Casual open-air restaurant offering buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Covention Center have 5 rooms and you can get differents Setup---- Banquet, Classroom, conference, "U" Shaped table, theater, cocktail : La jolla 1: Max. 400 people La jolla 1: Max. 400 people Mismaloya 1: Max. 104 people Mismaloya 2: Max. 134 people Mismaloya 3: Max. 134 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (572)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 572
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Totsy
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 26, 2013

Barcelo

The location is beautiful but the beach is poor. The pools made up for the lack of good sand on the beach. But the worst part was that we arrived on Saturday and by early Monday morning we were sick. In fact, about half of the resort was ill with diarrhea and vomiting.I ate hardly anything for 3 days as I couldn't keep anything down. I was very careful the first night as to what I ate, especially no tap water or seafood. Some of us ate the same thing, some got sick and some didn't . Something has to be done about this problem. It is going to be a very long time before I return to Mexico. The food on the buffet got to be repetitive and the specialty restaurants weren't all that great. We anticipated going on this trip for a long time and it was a great disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Famar's Restaurant in Bucerias. We have stayed in Bucerias many times with relatives in the past and have eaten at this restaurant and have never gotten sick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cali traveler
Business
SF california
Sep 24, 2013

Second time there and last

This was the second but it will be last time there, the safe went bad twice and I couldnt get me things out when I needed them the sofa in the room had a bad smell and last day when checking out they wanted me to bring the towels to front desk otherwise I needed to pay an extra fee, fee that I ended paying since I was late for my flight and I was not going to go back to my room and get the towels and they didnt have anyone to go to the room , sooo yes the hotel this time was a BIG DISAPOINTMENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Mexico Traveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 6, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and would NOT go back. We both got food poisoining from the food and spent 2 days completely out of commission. Definitely not the way I want to spend a vacation. On top of getting food poisioning, I was not impressed with the cleanliness I saw from the hotel (example: a bar tender rinsing out a glass with water that was used by the person two seats down from me, and then serving my next drink in it). The front desk staff was no only rude, but also completely unhelpful, I tried to ask about one of the hotel activities going on and they sent me to the pool desk, who pointed me to the other desk who pointed me back to the front desk. At that point, I just said forget it. The rooms are beautiful, but we did have some ants in our bathroom and both got bit by bugs during the night. Long story short, don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappily newlywed
Business
La Crosse, WI
Jan 17, 2010

So Sick...

We came to the Barcelo for our honeymoon and the trip was great at first. We had a wonderful time and were very relaxed. However, I ended up getting food poisoning from the food at the Hotel (The breakfast buffet.) I had to spend the night in a Mexican hospital and the hotel was absolutely no help. They would not accept responsibility for what happened and offered no monetary compensation for hospital bills or time spent away from the hotel. We are now pursuing a lawyer to help us get our money back as our honeymoon was a complete disaster due to the hotel's lack or caring. I spoke with the manager before we left and he tried to accuse me of leaving the hotel without their permission and that is the only way I could have gotten the food poisoning. The hotel has security that you have to check in with each time you leave and come back (There is a security gate) and they can even prove we NEVER left the hotel until the ambulance had to come pick me up. Do NOT go to this hotel. It may be beautiful, fun and exciting at first, but the risk is too great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, OR
Apr 13, 2010

A Beautiful Palace of [*]

To start out we were very excited, the grounds and the rooms were gorgeous, but then after two days of eating and drinking (not the water!) at the resort my husband got very sick. He was throwing up for two days! We saw people throwing up around the pool, the buffet line, and everyone we talked with had at least one person in their party get sick during their trip! A day later I got sick and we stopped eating and drinking anything at the resort! We went to Wal-Mart and ate sandwiches for the last four days of our trip! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawnmshell
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 28, 2014

3rd Barcelo Stay

We've stayed at the Cabo and Punta Cana resorts (Punta Cana was the best# and they were fantastic! This one was the worst :# The staff isn't very friendly, it's not as nice as other resorts and there's no ac at this resort except for the buffet restaurant and your room. To keep your room cool you need to leave a card in the slot by the door or else it all shuts off when you leave your room, including you refrigerator!! Hot beer = no bueno!! There is NO night life at this resort! Karaoke one night was done by 10 and there were no other bars to go to. They have shows but once its 10 pm, it shuts down. Unless the Cantina randomly stays open. Puerto Vallarta is a BEAUTIFUL city, but definitly try a different resort. This is definiely the forgotten resort. Also, this booking site doesn't tell you that the resort is Zone 5 when you get a car to take you, so we had to fork over $15 a piece to the driver before he would take us to the hotel. He had print outs and everything. When I asked that this obviously looked like this happened all the time, I was told to contact this booking site. Excursions: We paid a guy on the beach $15 a piece to take us snorkeling at Los Arcos, which was really neat. We also did the Predator Zip Line which was a ton of fun as well. Lond story short, don't waste your time with this hotel. You pay good money to be entertained and have a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Predator Zip line was so much fun, and so was the snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family man29
Business
Denver CO
Sep 5, 2014

Go some where else

The front desk people are rude no one says good morning it's like they are mad all the time, keep in mind that there are different levels of all inclusive you have to pay extra for WiFi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RyMac
Business
SLC, UT
Oct 22, 2012

Great location, below average food

We booked this place after staying at the Valentine Imperial Maya in Cancun last year, which we loved. The difference in food, service and ambiance could not have been more stark. We were also disappointed at the noise level from kids running around and screaming. Don't stay here if you don't have kids or aren't tolerant of the noise. They have a kids playground right by the pool. They sell day passes to the resort and it seems like the locals like to bring their kids there on the weekends. The food at the buffet and and the snack bar was very disappointing, and well below par for an all-inclusive in my opinion. We disliked it so much we went in to town to eat just to get a break from it. You shouldn't have to do that when you're paying for an all-inclusive. Also, they only let us eat at the restaurants three times during our weeklong stay. When we went to make reservations on Sunday for the week ahead they told us all of the restaurants were full! At this point I got upset and demanded that they get us in to the restaurants, which they finally did. Turns out it probably wasn't worth the fight. The food was infinitely better than the buffet, but still lacked any type of wow factor. The food in town was better. Also, as far as the drinks go, we don't drink alcohol so we ordered all of our drinks virgin. Regardless, they weren't very good. They didn't seem to be mixed well and seemed too syrupy. On the plus side, the location this hotel sits in is amazing. Much more scenic than Cancun or even other parts of Vallarta. It's surrounded by hills with lush jungle vegetation. The beach is beautiful, but the sand is coarse and not pleasant to walk on. There is a great snorkeling spot minutes from the hotel by boat, and we booked a trip with our friends for $25 per person. Well worth it and very convenient. Also, you can go ziplining where they filmed the predator movie in the hills behind the hotel. Couldn't be more convenient. Plus there is a waterfall at the zipline spot that you can slide down. The guys that took us snorkeling hooked us up on the zipline for $50 per person. Money well spent. Bottom line, if you aren't much of a food person and don't mind kids, or are bringing kids yourself, you'll probably like this place. The rooms are actually pretty nice and the bed was great. If, however, you want to eat well and relax without noise, don't stay here. We'll be going to Cancun next time we head to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your excursions through the guys on the beach. It's much cheaper than going through the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel221
Business
Orange County, California
Jul 3, 2013

Disappointed

We stayed at this resort from 6/25 thru 7/2/2013. We like big size room, it was nice and comfort. Location was far from the city and quiet which we preferred and gave them a plus. However, we have few disappointed during our stay. First, resort provided in-room bath towels and beach towels are not for 4 stars resort. They were fade out in color and worn out around perimeter. I would never use those towels at home. Second, I discovered many death bugs and roaches in our room and in the stair ways. Third, there are no hotel private beach. It was shared with local people therefore many dogs and other animals are welcome on the beach and of course you will accidentally run into their solid waste. The worst thing happened to us on the night before check out is our room get flooded because raining, we get to packed up and moved to other room at 01:00 AM, did not even to offer us a couple hours late to check out. We will never come back to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexico in january
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 5, 2014

Warm getaway

Stayed for a destination wedding. The suite was very, very nice, but we hardly spent any time in the room, as that is not why we went to Mexico. The grounds were pretty, but some of the pools were too cold. The room towers were so tall and surrounded the grounds so that they often blocked the sun and we would have to move to a different spot. We all got terrible bug bites that were huge and itched like crazy-strange as we never saw any bugs. There is hardly any beach-the tide comes in so far in the morning that the waves crash against the resort, so there is no beach In the mornings. The beach is often quite rocky. The volleyball net broke and no one was interested in fixing it and that is one of our large family's favorite activities. The buffet has a lot of variety, but a lot of it is bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top