$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 11.5 Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
891 reviews
Excelent vacation

very good hotel , very good location staff very helpful rooms very confortables See full review

  • tigrillo
  • Jun 23, 2014
Fantastic family getaway!

i put 5 stars, because of personal feeling about my stay in this hotel. Don't get me wrong, i don't... See full review

  • Irenka70
  • Jun 19, 2014
Peace and tranquility or excitement and adventure in Puerto Vallarta

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta is a luxurious resort with a tropical oasis as its backdrop.  The moment guests step into the main lobby, it's clear that this is an opulent hotel with grandiose furnishings and style. Families, couples and singles alike enjoy the top-of-the line services and amenities.  Family-friendly daytime entertainment, evening shows, a full-service spa, a fitness center, supervised play activities at the children's club plus a host of recreational activities are available.  The hotel also has two family swimming pools, one children's pool with a water slide, and one sports pool. There are also several fine-dining restaurants at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta that serve international fare.  

Reasons to stay
  • Breathtaking views of Bahia de Banderas
  • Supervised play activities for children aged five to twelve
  • A diverse range of services, amenities and activities available
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta rooms

This palatial hotel features 316 spacious guest rooms – 179 junior suites, 109 family suites, 13 master suites, 12 grand master suites and three presidential suites – all with a wide range of amenities.  Guests stay in rooms that are bright, warm and welcoming with furnishings and decor in deep orange, beige, brown, white and yellow tones.  The style and decor of each room and suite embodies the rich cultural heritage found in Puerto Vallarta, but is also modern, elegant and comfortable. Rooms come with private balconies, a king-sized bed or two double beds, a living room with a sofa, a mini bar, two televisions, air conditioning, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and a fully equipped bathroom.


The most indulgent accommodation at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta can be found in one of the Penthouse Presidential Suites.  A private terrace with awe-inspiring views of the sea is just the beginning. These suites feature two bedrooms, two large beds, two single beds, a lounge, three televisions with DVD players, a home cinema, two bathrooms and a hydro massage bathtub.

Things to do nearby
  • Malecon (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Town (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (6.2 mi/10 km)

Hotel Map

20.5323 -105.2906
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta International Airport
Area description
15 minutes from downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Ocean Front Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 60 square meters (646 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Ocean Front Grand Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 80 square meters (861 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
One Bedroom Premium Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / ocean view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as poolside view/ 2 fully equipped bathrooms/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / poolside view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Premium Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as oceanside view/ 2 fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet accses and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Los Arcos
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu.Sit down dinner is served every night at our specialty restaurant "Los Arcos" is a steak and seafood grill serving dinner only. You can select differents menus or choice GALA " A LA CARTE", and you can make you own menu.Reservations required and dress code applies.
Capri
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups. Serving a la carte Italian cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
Don Quijote
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups.Serving a la carte Spanish cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
El Patio
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu. Private functions can be organizaed according to group size & choice in Restaurant in Restaurant "El Patio", with the following menus: "Continental", "The New World", "Vallarta","First Aid" or "A LA CARTE". Casual open-air restaurant offering buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Covention Center have 5 rooms and you can get differents Setup---- Banquet, Classroom, conference, "U" Shaped table, theater, cocktail : La jolla 1: Max. 400 people La jolla 1: Max. 400 people Mismaloya 1: Max. 104 people Mismaloya 2: Max. 134 people Mismaloya 3: Max. 134 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (891)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
891 out of 891
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Aurora, IL
Dec 28, 2010

Who invited the Bedbugs?

We were on a family vacation with siblings, parents, cousins, etc.. 16 in all. 14 of us notice multiple bug bites on our legs and torso from bedbugs. Some of us reacted to the bites with large red spots at each bite location. There were also numerous people at the pool with the same bites. Though the hotel changed our bedding and sent an exterminator to the room, they would not acknowledge that there was a problem. Other than than, the food was okay, drinks were good, area was nice, entertainment was okay. Nothing really stood out as above average. I will not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont miss the zoo.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Dec 29, 2010

Not for me

The pool and just relaxing by it was nice. The weather was beautiful. The free drinks were nice for about a day then I was not really interested in drinking anymore. The hotel room was clean and nice. The shampoo smelled like man, so ladies bring your own. I was not really a fan of the food, but I am picky. I stayed 4 days and 3 would have been about right. Four days of doing the same thing and eating the same food I did not like was a little too much. We did not go into town as it looked really unappealing on the cab ride in. Also did not go to the zoo, but several people we talked to came back with bites all over them from the baby tigers. We went on a boat ride with a guy on the beach. I was disappointed that we did not see any whales since they were supposed to be in the area. You would like it if you are not a picky eater and do not mind being stuck on a resort. Aside from the food and the shampoo the amenities were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockford, Illinois
Dec 28, 2010

had a problem with bed bugs and mold

I believe the rooms were not the cleanest. Had mold in my bathroom and bed bugs. Buffets are an efficient way to handle crowds but they do breed germs. The individual resturants were good. Evening entertainment - if you see it once that is enough because the style of dancing is the same every evening even though they change the theme and costumes. They need to change their dance routines and style. For the most part staff was very attentive. Would I go back here - no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is located a distance from town.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Springerbuzz
New Mexico
Sep 3, 2009

Excellent room not happy with much else

The room was out standing, very clean the staff friendly, I like to use the gym when away from home, so I called the hotel prior to booking asking if they had Jacussi, steam room, and gym, which they said they did. The day I arrived the Jacussi was only as warm as the outside temp, "not working" the steam room was so hot a human being could not go into it, the locker room shower had no shampoo no soap gel or no conditioner in the dispensers hanging on the wall, there was no toilet paper in the locker room bath room, I contacted the reception about this to which they replied it would be seen to ASAP, I ended contacting the reception 3 times but nothing was done. I even requested help from the guy who tries to sell you additional vacations he looked indifferent, nothing was ever done. The hotel boasts of 5 resturants when in reality it has a buffet, and in the bar it has a table with a few hot plates for the quests use thruout the day. often you would see the food containers empty, it has 3 al a cart resturants which open in the evening I did get to eat in the Spanish resturant great food, then they closed down for no reason the Spanish and seafood resturant leaving only the Italian resturant, buffet and bar for all the quests!!! I would certainly not recommend this place, the people should have cared more for the maintenance of the things quests care about but after asking 4 times with no respones well you draw your own conclusion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
baron_daktula
Ashburn, VA
Aug 5, 2010

OK Hotel - great location

The location is great as there are many places that you can visit around the property. Quaint little towns (Boca) are just a short bus ride away and so are some great zip line tours. The Zoo is fabulous and is a short walk from the hotle. Hotel staff is awful - seem to shirk work and especially the bar tenders at the Cantina are miserable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to the downtown area

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF Sunlover
San Francisco, California
Apr 11, 2014

Mixed Bag

The hotel has a friendly and hard-working staff, and the pools are very nicely kept (clean and well-heated). Those are the highlights. For the rest of it: the food is mediocre at best; there is no real beach (a small stretch of very coarse sand -- no sandcastles here!) and the water is not well-suited for swimming, especially for children (there is a large drop-off just a few feet into the water and then it's deep enough that an adult doesn't touch the bottom). The resort is also pretty far from town -- easily accessible by bus (inexpensive) or taxi -- so it's an excursion. I've heard that the resort has been purchased and will be changing ownership. Hopefully they'll make some needed changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura County, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Disappointed with Service and Ammenities

First of all, I want to state that I have never written a review for a hotel before ever, but I felt so strongly about needing to share our experience that I had to write one. We went to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary and are a young couple that that like to do activities as well as relax. We quickly learned that this is a relaxing type of resort only and were bored within two days. We ended up getting a refund for our remaining five nights and went and stayed at Dreams Resort and Spa for the remainder of our stay in P.V. I would suggest Dreams highly over Barcelo. So don't get me wrong, there are some nice features about the Barcelo. The rooms are extremely spacious and beautiful so if you are happy relaxing in your room this place is for you. We didn't like that we could only eat at the nice restaurants 3 times within our seven day stay, so we got sick of the buffet really quick. Also men are not allowed to wear shorts in the restaurants which is a bummer since its so hot. We were not allowed into the restaurant since my husband was wearing shorts and ended up at the buffet...again. The pool is pretty, but there are tons of kids and people smoking everywhere. I ordered one drink by the pool and it took 50 minutes for her to bring it to me. The staff is very unfriendly and you feel like you are putting them out by ordering a drink on your so called all inclusive vacation. The beach is very rocky and extremely small. It is not a private beach either. Its really not even worth going to. We tried to go snokeling since it is supposed to be included in our all inclusive package, but only the snorkel and goggles are included...fins are $5 per hour. We tried to snorkel without fins but only lasted about 10 minutes because the waves are so strong that it didn't seem safe without fins. We decided that since the beach is so bad at the resort maybe we would do a beach excursion but it was going to be $85 per person and we really felt that we shouldn't have to pay that much just to go to a nice beach. Dreams had an amazing private beach so we were very happy with our hotel change. One plus with this resort is the amazing zoo that is about a 15 minute walk from the resort. I got to hold a baby panther, feed tons of exotic animals, and get away from the resort for a few hours. The zoo is really the only attraction that is walking distance. This resort is at least 20 minutes from town so we felt very isolated and trapped. We kept joking that we felt like we were on a cruise. Even the croud seems like "cruisers". Overall, if you just want to lay by the pool, hang out in your room, and eat at a buffet this resort would be fine, but if you are looking for more than that out of your vacation, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Zoo is a must see!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
VANCOUVER BC
Jul 24, 2009

BARCELO MISMALOYA

WE WERE VERY DISSATISFIED WITH THE HOTEL SERVICE. THE FOOD WAS SUB-STANDARD FOR AN ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT THAT CLAIMS TO BE A FIVE STAR HOTEL. ONLY ONE RESTAURANT WAS OPEN SO FOOD CHOICE WAS LIMITED. OF THE FIVE COCKTAILS WE ORDERED, NONE WERE DRINKABLE. THE BEACH WAS FAIR, HOWEVER, ADJACENT TO THE HOTEL PROPERTY WERE A NUMBER OF MEXICAN OUTDOOR RESTAURANTS ON THE BEACH,THAT CAME CLOSE TO INFRINGING ON THE HOTEL'S PRIVATE BEACH. WE COULD NOT IMAGINE STAYING IN THE HOTEL FOR NINE DAYS AND CHECKED OUT AFTER THE FIRST NIGHT, BEING PROMISED BY ORBITZ AND THE HOTEL MANAGER THAT WE WOULD BE REFUNDED FOR THE REMAINMING EIGHT NIGHTS. THAT IS YET TO BE CONFIRMED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TwoforMexico
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 3, 2013

disappointed

We did not get sick unlike most guests. Expect bug bites on the beach [ although it's so tiny there is no reason to go there]. Expect bites in your room and maybe termites living in your dresser like we had. Elevator issues, service missteps, lame poolside activities if any, hot coffee but no hot food, beautiful landscape, full facilities, friendly staff, bird droppings decorate everywhere and seem to be protected from removal. We requested no special service so cannot comment. We did meet prople who love this place. Read the reviews, they all seem accurate, but expect sub-standard cleaning and slightly below average food and service with typical disappointments that are common at many resorts. There are things to like about this place,but for us tne negatives outweigh the positives

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Sweatshirts available here for sitting at the swim-up bar

Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
puerto vallarta, mexico
Mar 30, 2010

Would I come back?

I was very disappointed with the beach. We've stayed at other Barcelo facilities that were outstanding. This facility did not meet my expectations, whether the beach, the drinks, the uncleanliness, the lack of restaurants and/or food selection. The room was beautiful, the view was beautiful, but some of the bad outweighed the good in the "Barcelo standards"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Our kids did the canopy tour (zip line) that was outstanding, especially for the price. Another fun, free excursion is the tequila tour up the road

Back to menu Return to top